GMD GestureControl Gets Lollipop Support

GMD GestureControl is an app that allows you to control your (rooted) devices with multitouch … more

Xiaomi Finally Releases Kernel Sources

If you are familiar with Xiaomi, you might have heard that they are not the most compliant when … more

SwipeBack for Xposed Updated with Lollipop Compatibility

When the Xposed Framework was announced for Android Lollipop, most modules … more

One M9 Firmware Guide & Collection

While it is still under construction, XDA Recognized Contributor herwegan‘s thread will … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to enable unknown source ?

2nd May 2014, 06:19 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Hi,

I just loaded Showbox to my FTV, and the app needs to be updated, but I don't know how to enable unknown sources on this box.

Can this be done with the ADB command line.

or Can I copy the one from my android phone and use it, How can I backup my android apps to my pc?
2nd May 2014, 01:49 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Unfortunately, enabling unknown sources is not currently an option for us. Once its rooted, we should get that ability.
2nd May 2014, 05:28 PM |#3  
stanggman75's Avatar
Member
Flag KANSAS CITY, MO
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbifido

Hi,

I just loaded Showbox to my FTV, and the app needs to be updated, but I don't know how to enable unknown sources on this box.

Can this be done with the ADB command line.

or Can I copy the one from my android phone and use it, How can I backup my android apps to my pc?

I upgraded the one on my phone, deleted the one on FTV and sideloaded the new updated apk. This worked but I had to re-ad all my favorites to my library.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stanggman75 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 01:00 AM |#4  
endwhysee.bk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dania beach
Thanks Meter: 25
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanggman75

I upgraded the one on my phone, deleted the one on FTV and sideloaded the new updated apk. This worked but I had to re-ad all my favorites to my library.

Nice Idea . .. Shouldve thought of that.Lol.. Thanks.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
17th June 2014, 03:27 AM |#5  
JohnnyPrimus's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Now that root is out this can be done by editing settings.db. Instructions in this post.
17th June 2014, 01:53 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
I'm hardly an expert at adb but if you do the install line " adb install -r filename.apk it will install over the previous app and retain all settings. That's how I update my XBMC.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rsohne For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2015, 10:10 PM |#7  
paulie_gogetit's Avatar
Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 4
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsohne

I'm hardly an expert at adb but if you do the install line " adb install -r filename.apk it will install over the previous app and retain all settings. That's how I update my XBMC.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Perfect !
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes