Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,194 Members 51,614 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ROMs Removes Modem - Cannot Restore Modem

Tip us?
 
nimrod.sixty9
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default ROMs Removes Modem - Cannot Restore Modem

Ill admit that Im not the best at this, but Im not too new to rooting, roming, or flashing (so now you know I might be the reason). Out of all, I've never done anything like the Sprint Note 2 where flashing a ROM removes all phone info, IE. IMEI, Baseband Unknown.

I tried restoring EFS and Modem (which I backed up beforehand); manually installed modems; all to no avail. Basically I have to recover by starting from scratch using http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2591898.

What am I missing?
 
nimrod.sixty9
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Anyone? I really hate the stock.
 
tx_dbs_tx
Old
#3  
tx_dbs_tx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 548
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Personally I prefer using this stock MC2 unrooted ROM with flash count reset. Found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2086769

This will put you back at pre MK4 state as well as flash the modem. bootloader, etc. From there you can re root, flash Phil's recovery 6.07.9 and flash a custom ROM of your choice. This is how I would do this and IS how I do this from time to time. I never use the stock unrooted MK4 due to the KNOX crap.
The Following User Says Thank You to tx_dbs_tx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nimrod.sixty9
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tx_dbs_tx View Post
Personally I prefer using this stock MC2 unrooted ROM with flash count reset. Found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2086769

This will put you back at pre MK4 state as well as flash the modem. bootloader, etc. From there you can re root, flash Phil's recovery 6.07.9 and flash a custom ROM of your choice. This is how I would do this and IS how I do this from time to time. I never use the stock unrooted MK4 due to the KNOX crap.
So the process in which I done this would cause such affect? The MK4 I used did restore everything; recovery, modem, etc.

I used Odin to load TWRP 2.7 recovery (let it root), booted to recovery again and installed Dr Katan's MultiTool to remove Knox, and then updated SuperSU. This is where I stand now and it's operating fine, just hate the crap Sung put in there.

Is TWRP no good for L900? is Phil's Recovery the defacto or just your experience? Just curious if Im doing something wrong or?

My goal is to have vanilla as I can have it with the exception of WiFi tether and a radio that doesn't suck.
 
Skripka
Old
#5  
Skripka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 631
Posts: 1,421
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: On the top Loading Rail
Quote:
Originally Posted by nimrod.sixty9 View Post
So the process in which I done this would cause such affect? The MK4 I used did restore everything; recovery, modem, etc.

I used Odin to load TWRP 2.7 recovery (let it root), booted to recovery again and installed Dr Katan's MultiTool to remove Knox, and then updated SuperSU. This is where I stand now and it's operating fine, just hate the crap Sung put in there.

Is TWRP no good for L900? is Phil's Recovery the defacto or just your experience? Just curious if Im doing something wrong or?

My goal is to have vanilla as I can have it with the exception of WiFi tether and a radio that doesn't suck.
Read the L900 TRWP thread for the last 6 months...and you will see issue after issue...and 6 months later it is still not fixed according to users. Funny thing, is this only effects L900 Note 2 users. AFAIK no other Note2s or other devices are effected.

Either use a 2.6.* TWRP build to flash 4.1 ROMs, or use PhilZ for AOSP ROMs.
 
tx_dbs_tx
Old
(Last edited by tx_dbs_tx; 4th May 2014 at 06:01 AM.)
#6  
tx_dbs_tx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 548
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
I just wanted to point out that since you are back on the stock MK4 ROM you will not be able to use the built-in WiFi hotspot unless you subscribe and pay for it. You can't flash the MK4 hotspot hack on your current stock odexed ROM. You will need to flash a stock rooted deodexed ROM that has hotspot hacked already or you will have to flash the mk4 hotspot hack for a deodexed stock ROM.

I'm saying this because you did point out in your previous post that you wanted to be able to use the hotspot feature. There may be another tether app that will work without root but I'm not aware of any.
 
sp1d3rx
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Info 2 see my post in this forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimrod.sixty9 View Post
Ill admit that Im not the best at this, but Im not too new to rooting, roming, or flashing (so now you know I might be the reason). Out of all, I've never done anything like the Sprint Note 2 where flashing a ROM removes all phone info, IE. IMEI, Baseband Unknown.

I tried restoring EFS and Modem (which I backed up beforehand); manually installed modems; all to no avail. Basically I have to recover by starting from scratch using http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2591898.

What am I missing?
I made a post about my experience loading a custom rom. I hope it is of some help to you. I believe I also started with MD4. What I think they did starting with MD4 (possibly a bit earlier) is they have a partition for the carrier/radio, and that gets wiped out when you load other roms, so you lose your radio. If you go back to LJ4 and then load the other roms, you might have more luck.
Thread Tools
Display Modes