Do You Check for App Updates Regularly?

Do you let app updates happen automatically or do you regularly check for them? We’re … more

Find The Best Apps With Google’s Picks & Other Tricks

The Google Play Store, weighing in with more than 1.4 million apps at last … more

Dynamic Pop for Note 4 (N910T & 910W8)

With the release of the Canadian Lollipop ROM for the Note 4, T-Mobile users can also enjoy the … more

Sunday Debate: Better to Buy Older or Newer Hardware?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on New vs. Old. Come with your opinions and feel … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Can Cortana be installed on Surface Pro 2?

4th May 2014, 06:25 AM |#1  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I couldn't find anything on the net, which discussed installing Cortana on a Surface Pro 2. Has anyone looked into this?
4th May 2014, 12:25 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
1,619 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Its part of windows phone 8 only so no
6th May 2014, 10:24 PM |#3  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Its part of windows phone 8 only so no

Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.
6th May 2014, 10:27 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
1,619 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith

Thanks, but I'm already aware of that. My question was whether anyone was planning to make Cortana work on the Surface Pro 2.

Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)
9th May 2014, 04:06 PM |#5  
incisivekeith's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Well nobody can but microsoft.

Windows 8 does not run windows phone 8 applications and no doubt cortana is way more tightly integrated than being a simple app. Only microsoft have the source code. There is no way for us to make cortana work on windows 8 (and that would therefore include pro 2 considering that is just a windows 8 ultrabook thrown in a tablet shell)

Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?
9th May 2014, 07:43 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
1,619 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by incisivekeith

Does that mean that no dev on XDA is interested in hacking Cortana to make it work on surface tablets?

It is physically impossible for us to do so, it isn't a case of whether anyone is interested or not, we simply cannot do it.

And why the fixation with the surface? Any hack to get cortana would be a global windows 8 thing not surface specific (hell, you'd have to go out of your way to make it surface specific)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes