Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

S4 Randomly Shuts Off After Screen Locks??????

5th May 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #1  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Winfield
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
So I've been having this issue ever since I upgraded to kitkat. I'll be messing with my phone normally for all day and then once in awhile when I lock it and and go to pull it back out or unlock it, the phone is turn off. I know it shuts off because I have to hold the power button and all of a sudden the Samsung Galaxy S4 screen pops up like it usually does from boot up. This is really frustrating and I don't know why it keeps doing this. It's not usally a daily thing but I'll happen once every 3 to 4 days and sometimes happens twice a day. Has anyone else had this issue or know any suggestions how to fix it??????? Any help would be greatly appreciated! !!! My s4 is the Mk2 version btw.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 06:45 AM   |  #2  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
867 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
You're on KitKat but you're on MK2?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #3  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Winfield
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
My S4 baseband version is the Mk2.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #4  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,385
 
3,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RECKLESS PAIN

My S4 baseband version is the Mk2.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

You're baseband version only represents the modem you're on. When people say they're "on MK2" or "on MDK" they mean the bootloader version. What method did you use to upgrade to 4.4? Are you on the leak, NC2 or the official update NC5?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th May 2014, 05:45 AM   |  #5  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Winfield
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

You're baseband version only represents the modem you're on. When people say they're "on MK2" or "on MDK" they mean the bootloader version. What method did you use to upgrade to 4.4? Are you on the leak, NC2 or the official update NC5?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Anyway I can fix.this issue? Still need help!!!((

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
7th May 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #6  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,385
 
3,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RECKLESS PAIN

Anyway I can fix.this issue? Still need help!!!((

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Were you rooted or anything, or completely stock when you took the OTA? If you were completely stock, then the baseband should've updated to NC5 as well, so something went wrong with your update. Can you screenshot your about phone screen?
I wonder, if the modem didn't update with your OTA, then something might've went wrong with the boot.img/kernel as well, which is the most common culprit with this type of issue.

I'm going to say try a factory reset first and if the issue persists then you will need to use Odin to flash a fresh NC5 tar image.
7th May 2014, 01:47 PM   |  #7  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Winfield
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

Were you rooted or anything, or completely stock when you took the OTA? If you were completely stock, then the baseband should've updated to NC5 as well, so something went wrong with your update. Can you screenshot your about phone screen?
I wonder, if the modem didn't update with your OTA, then something might've went wrong with the boot.img/kernel as well, which is the most common culprit with this type of issue.

I'm going to say try a factory reset first and if the issue persists then you will need to use Odin to flash a fresh NC5 tar image.

Well I didn't realize on either updated it my baseband version changed from MK2 to NC5. So yeah it did change along with the OTA update. But see I DID have my phone rooted like 2 weeks before the OTA and decided I didn't want root on my S4 so I uninstalled, eveything. From SuperSU. To busybox. So when I took the update no I was not at the time rooted. But I'm thinking some old root filed are still on my phone causing it to do this random power off thing. So I don't know really what to do yet besides factory reset:C

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Last edited by RECKLESS PAIN; 7th May 2014 at 01:50 PM.
6th May 2014, 07:56 PM   |  #8  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Winfield
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Official OTA Update

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
7th May 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #9  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 1,663
 
3,482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Yea I'm with Josh in that I don't care about the data on my phone so when things like this pop up I can just either factory reset or use Odin. You can at least save all your important stuff to your PC or external sd first. Hard to say what's causing it really... If you were able to flash a new kernel I'd suggest that but that's not an option right now... Unless surge or someone can extract the 4.4 stock kernel to use with Odin.... Most likely Odin the full kit kat image though should definitely help worse case

Sent from my jflte using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank