Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,899 Members 49,976 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S4 Randomly Shuts Off After Screen Locks??????

Tip us?
 
RECKLESS PAIN
Old
#1  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winfield
Default S4 Randomly Shuts Off After Screen Locks??????

So I've been having this issue ever since I upgraded to kitkat. I'll be messing with my phone normally for all day and then once in awhile when I lock it and and go to pull it back out or unlock it, the phone is turn off. I know it shuts off because I have to hold the power button and all of a sudden the Samsung Galaxy S4 screen pops up like it usually does from boot up. This is really frustrating and I don't know why it keeps doing this. It's not usally a daily thing but I'll happen once every 3 to 4 days and sometimes happens twice a day. Has anyone else had this issue or know any suggestions how to fix it??????? Any help would be greatly appreciated! !!! My s4 is the Mk2 version btw.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
thesoldier
Old
#2  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 758
Join Date: Nov 2012
You're on KitKat but you're on MK2?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
RECKLESS PAIN
Old
#3  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winfield
My S4 baseband version is the Mk2.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
joshm.1219
Old
#4  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1179
Posts: 2,780
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by RECKLESS PAIN View Post
My S4 baseband version is the Mk2.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
You're baseband version only represents the modem you're on. When people say they're "on MK2" or "on MDK" they mean the bootloader version. What method did you use to upgrade to 4.4? Are you on the leak, NC2 or the official update NC5?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2848/11738368925_6e7dbef510_o.png
  • CARRIER: Verizon
  • PHONE: Samsung S4
  • CASE: Otterbox Defender modded to fit Anker 7800mah battery
  • BOOTLOADER: MDK, loki bypass
  • RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7.x
  • KERNEL: Ktoonsez with Project Icarus profile and Hydra script
  • ROM: Eclipse TW 4.4
  • LAUNCHER & MODS: Google Now launcher with XGEL settings, GravityBox, Heads Up notifications, & Android L navbar
 
RECKLESS PAIN
Old
#5  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winfield
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219 View Post
You're baseband version only represents the modem you're on. When people say they're "on MK2" or "on MDK" they mean the bootloader version. What method did you use to upgrade to 4.4? Are you on the leak, NC2 or the official update NC5?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Anyway I can fix.this issue? Still need help!!!((

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
joshm.1219
Old
#6  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1179
Posts: 2,780
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by RECKLESS PAIN View Post
Anyway I can fix.this issue? Still need help!!!((

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Were you rooted or anything, or completely stock when you took the OTA? If you were completely stock, then the baseband should've updated to NC5 as well, so something went wrong with your update. Can you screenshot your about phone screen?
I wonder, if the modem didn't update with your OTA, then something might've went wrong with the boot.img/kernel as well, which is the most common culprit with this type of issue.

I'm going to say try a factory reset first and if the issue persists then you will need to use Odin to flash a fresh NC5 tar image.
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2848/11738368925_6e7dbef510_o.png
  • CARRIER: Verizon
  • PHONE: Samsung S4
  • CASE: Otterbox Defender modded to fit Anker 7800mah battery
  • BOOTLOADER: MDK, loki bypass
  • RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7.x
  • KERNEL: Ktoonsez with Project Icarus profile and Hydra script
  • ROM: Eclipse TW 4.4
  • LAUNCHER & MODS: Google Now launcher with XGEL settings, GravityBox, Heads Up notifications, & Android L navbar
 
RECKLESS PAIN
Old
(Last edited by RECKLESS PAIN; 7th May 2014 at 01:50 PM.)
#7  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winfield
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219 View Post
Were you rooted or anything, or completely stock when you took the OTA? If you were completely stock, then the baseband should've updated to NC5 as well, so something went wrong with your update. Can you screenshot your about phone screen?
I wonder, if the modem didn't update with your OTA, then something might've went wrong with the boot.img/kernel as well, which is the most common culprit with this type of issue.

I'm going to say try a factory reset first and if the issue persists then you will need to use Odin to flash a fresh NC5 tar image.
Well I didn't realize on either updated it my baseband version changed from MK2 to NC5. So yeah it did change along with the OTA update. But see I DID have my phone rooted like 2 weeks before the OTA and decided I didn't want root on my S4 so I uninstalled, eveything. From SuperSU. To busybox. So when I took the update no I was not at the time rooted. But I'm thinking some old root filed are still on my phone causing it to do this random power off thing. So I don't know really what to do yet besides factory reset:C

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
RECKLESS PAIN
Old
#8  
RECKLESS PAIN's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winfield
Official OTA Update

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
Mistertac
Old
#9  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1269
Posts: 2,941
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Yea I'm with Josh in that I don't care about the data on my phone so when things like this pop up I can just either factory reset or use Odin. You can at least save all your important stuff to your PC or external sd first. Hard to say what's causing it really... If you were able to flash a new kernel I'd suggest that but that's not an option right now... Unless surge or someone can extract the 4.4 stock kernel to use with Odin.... Most likely Odin the full kit kat image though should definitely help worse case

Sent from my jflte using Tapatalk
Thread Tools
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TWRP Now Available for the LG G Watch and Samsung Gear Live

Over the past week or so, we’ve talkedquite a bit about the first … more

Slate Calendar Helps You Organize Your Life

Without calendars in some form or another, most of our lives would be utter chaos. Unless you are … more

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more

LG G Watch Tool is a Toolkit all Owners Need

The LG G Watch is one of the first two devices hitting the market rocking the highly anticipated … more