Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Chromcast DNS

OP irish-sid

8th May 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #1  
irish-sid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 181
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Hi. I've read around the web that Chromecast uses it's own DNS regardless of what's on the router.
I can't figure out how to block that.
I have a Vodafone Huawei HG658c
I have the passwords for the Admin settings, and can access static route and all that, but no matter what guides I read I can't figure it out.
I'm also using Unblock-us. I have it working on everything but chromecast.
I'd even go as far as letting a trusted member teamview in to get this working. Or I can provide any screenshots of my router page needed.
8th May 2014, 10:31 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Post your static routes page.
The Following User Says Thank You to DJames1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #3  
irish-sid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 181
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJames1

Post your static routes page.

Attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1stat.PNG
Views:	341
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	2733023  
9th May 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Ok, you should be able to create static routes to disable Google DNS.

Check your router's home page to see what your LAN address range is. (for example something like 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.255, with a mask of 255.255.255.0 would be typical, but yours might be different) You need to pick an address in this range that doesn't exist, e.g., something like 192.168.1.99)

Then enter a static route with:

Destination network address: 8.8.8.0
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.99 (or whatever non-existent LAN address you picked above)

Probably ok to leave on Interface as Auto, or pick LAN or LAN+wireless if you have to choose.

And repeat for 8.8.4.0.

This only blocks Google DNS. Then you still have to insert your unblock-us DNS addresses in the router's DNS fields.
Last edited by DJames1; 9th May 2014 at 12:29 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to DJames1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #5  
irish-sid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 181
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJames1

Ok, you should be able to create static routes to disable Google DNS.

Check your router's home page to see what your LAN address range is. (for example something like 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.255, with a mask of 255.255.255.0 would be typical, but yours might be different) You need to pick an address in this range that doesn't exist, e.g., something like 192.168.1.99)

Then enter a static route with:

Destination network address: 8.8.8.0
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.99 (or whatever non-existent LAN address you picked above)

Probably ok to leave on Interface as Auto, or pick LAN or LAN+wireless if you have to choose.

And repeat for 8.8.4.0.

This only blocks Google DNS. Then you still have to insert your unblock-us DNS addresses in the router's DNS fields.

Ah, so it's an unused address I have to put? I'll give this a go and let you know. Thanks a LOT!!!!!
9th May 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #6  
irish-sid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 181
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Doesn't seemed to have worked. I even tried the other Google dns's too (see pic)

Nothing is on .123 so I put the address as that.
Chromecast is static on .125
I have the unblockus dns address in correctly as all other devices work.
I've rebooted everything too to make sure.
Starts playing fine on laptop or phone, but when casted it comes up with "We're having trouble playing this title........"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dun.png
Views:	176
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	2733195  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes