Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

From Samsung phones, Question about HTC M8 models

OP venki5star

9th May 2014, 05:18 AM   |  #1  
venki5star's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 18
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Hi guys,
I am been for while on Samsung phones and bought M8 yesterday. Samsung had phones like S4 with different Hardware and Model numbers based on Carrier and Region. The ROMs are different to flash.

Is that the same case for M8? I bought M8 from Australia (Unlocked) and thinking to flash GPE. Will that be problem?

Thanks in advance
9th May 2014, 04:01 PM   |  #2  
venki5star's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 18
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Bump!!!!

Sent from my HTC_0P6B using XDA Free mobile app
9th May 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Zurich (Switzerland)
Thanks Meter: 30
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
As far as I know, yes, but the differences tend to be minor. I can already tell from your signature here that we have a different phone. I also believe that there is much less variety in the hardware than what the model number would suggest (i.e. phones with different model numbers may be identical).

AFAIK, the M8s sold in Asia should be clocked at 2.5 GHz instead of 2.3, although this shouldn't make any noticeable difference.
The Following User Says Thank You to Black Antitoon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 04:51 PM   |  #4  
venki5star's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 18
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Thank you for the reply.

Can I install GPE on device? As far I know it 2.5gHz clocked.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B using XDA Free mobile app
9th May 2014, 05:38 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Zurich (Switzerland)
Thanks Meter: 30
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by venki5star

Thank you for the reply.

Can I install GPE on device? As far I know it 2.5gHz clocked.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B using XDA Free mobile app

I believe you can, as I can't recall hearing any major limitations about the GPE conversion. I am not sure anyway, I have no experience with the GPE. This is likely to be explained on the GPE conversion thread, just look for it. Good luck.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes