MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] S Beam Broke Video

OP VolcanicSkunk

12th May 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #1  
VolcanicSkunk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 233
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
My wife has a Sprint S4 that is totally stock, no root or anything, never has been. We took a video yesterday (stored on sd card) and we went to send it via S Beam to her mother today who has a stock, non-rooted S3 (Sprint too). They both had low battery; my wife's was around 3% and her mom's was around 10%. When I tried to make the transfer, it appeared successful, but the video on her mom's phone wouldn't work. I assumed there was too little battery to complete the transfer, so I figured we'd just email it from home. Now the video won't work on my wife's phone, or my computer. The file shows as being 0kb even though it shows a duration of one minute and fifty two seconds.

Is this a known issue, and is there any way to recover the file?
12th May 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #2  
deron37129's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Murfreesboro, TN
Thanks Meter: 35
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
It may just be the format was compatible since the 2 devices were of different generation test by saving the the video externally then copying it tonthe other devicel

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:11 PM ----------

As long as niether phine died during transfer the problem wouldn't be with sbeam

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Free mobile app
12th May 2014, 06:46 AM   |  #3  
VolcanicSkunk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 233
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deron37129

It may just be the format was compatible since the 2 devices were of different generation test by saving the the video externally then copying it tonthe other devicel

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:11 PM ----------

As long as niether phine died during transfer the problem wouldn't be with sbeam

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Free mobile app

I tried copying the file to my desktop and playing the file with VLC, which was unable to play it. The format on both phones shouldn't matter. Android (and Samsung) didn't stop supporting .mp4 files between versions of Android. The only thing I can come up with is that because the file was so large (228MB recorded in 1080p) that S Beam wasn't able to transfer it and subsequently corrupted the video.
13th May 2014, 07:13 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolcanicSkunk

I tried copying the file to my desktop and playing the file with VLC, which was unable to play it. The format on both phones shouldn't matter. Android (and Samsung) didn't stop supporting .mp4 files between versions of Android. The only thing I can come up with is that because the file was so large (228MB recorded in 1080p) that S Beam wasn't able to transfer it and subsequently corrupted the video.

S beam has no size limit because all it is is using WiFi direct to establish a connection and transferring it. S beam should not affect any files because all it does is send it should affect the original file. The problem might have been with the sdcard, was it a cheap sdcard? What's the capacity of the sdcard?

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to luigi311 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 12:38 PM   |  #5  
VolcanicSkunk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 233
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
It's a SanDisk 8GB Class 10.

Sent from my HTC One M8
13th May 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolcanicSkunk

It's a SanDisk 8GB Class 10.

Sent from my HTC One M8

Dam then idk lol. Does it say 0 kb on the phone to or just on the computer after transferring

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
13th May 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #7  
VolcanicSkunk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 233
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigi311

Dam then idk lol. Does it say 0 kb on the phone to or just on the computer after transferring

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk

Strangely, in the gallery app the details show that it's 228MB, but the My Files app shows 0MB in the details. So confusing.

Sent from my HTC One M8
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes