New AOSP Branch Details Potential Build System Upgrades?

While there are frequent unexplained changes and pushes to Google’s AOSP … more

Root Xperia Z3 Compact Tablet Without Losing DRM Keys

XDA Junior MemberCubicU07compiled this guide to root your Xperia Z3 Compact Tablet … more

Android Update Adoption Explained

This article explains how Android differs from iOS on update adoption and how it can affect … more

Xiaomi’s Maps Cause Internet Drama

At the launch of Xiaomi’s latest Mi4 phone in Delhi, Xiaomi CEO Hugo Barra presented a map of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

LTE and existing MOTO G

OP abhifx

13th May 2014, 07:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag mohali
Thanks Meter: 556
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Now that Moto G LTE is announced, could it be that our chipset support LTE and is disabled and by flashing right radio patches we might also get LTE? Nexus 4 could do it too this way.
13th May 2014, 08:10 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhifx

Now that Moto G LTE is announced, could it be that our chipset support LTE and is disabled and by flashing right radio patches we might also get LTE? Nexus 4 could do it too this way.

need to answer too
13th May 2014, 09:58 AM   |  #3  
Dizzyrul3z's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oberschlesien
Thanks Meter: 22
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Maybe there is a chance because Moto G has the same hidden menu *#*#4636#*#* like nexus 4 and there are the same options about LTE.
13th May 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #4  
lobotwister's Avatar
Member
Flag canoas
Thanks Meter: 9
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Question LTE
hello, there is the option of LTE, but when I select it does not fix ...
13th May 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhifx

Now that Moto G LTE is announced, could it be that our chipset support LTE and is disabled and by flashing right radio patches we might also get LTE? Nexus 4 could do it too this way.

I wish people would stop quoting the nexus 4 as if it's some kind of successful miracle.

Yeah it had LTE 4g but it was bloody useless to 99% of people as it was only band 4.

Like the nexus 4 ours is probably missing the modem and antennas.

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
14th May 2014, 12:12 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag mohali
Thanks Meter: 556
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dethrat

I wish people would stop quoting the nexus 4 as if it's some kind of successful miracle.

Yeah it had LTE 4g but it was bloody useless to 99% of people as it was only band 4.

Like the nexus 4 ours is probably missing the modem and antennas.

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

Of course no. but for people who got it working got additional benefit at no cost. So i thought its an interesting idea. (that's the XDA spirit )
Also it seems the chipset does support LTE out of the box.

Of course its a complete fail for me cause 4G in India is TD-LTE.

Edit: It seems the chipset supports TD-LTE too. Cant wait to get Moto G with LTE launch
Last edited by abhifx; 14th May 2014 at 12:18 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to abhifx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes