XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

[Q] Phone keeps saying "Preparing SIM card"

15th May 2014, 03:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I installed the latest RUU from HTC (4.13.651.4) Phone is S-OFF.

Immediately, upon first boot, the phone keeps saying "Preparing SIM card..." There is nothing that seems to stop it. I have reflashed the firmware, ran the RUU several times, ##72786# reset, but the phone keeps going in this endless loop of "Preparing SIM card", which drains the battery and even turns off the cellular radio at random times.

Sprint support has no clue and I am basically left with no options at this point.

What can be done -- do I need a new phone??
Last edited by RChris173; 16th May 2014 at 10:41 PM.
15th May 2014, 04:00 AM   |  #2  
Sinistertensai's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 6,327
 
1,838 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RChris173

I installed the latest RUU from HTC (4.13.651.4) and have TWRP and SuperSU v. 1.94 running. Phone is S-OFF.

Immediately, the phone.apk app keeps asking for superuser privileges to chmod 666 a sys file of some kind. I tried doing fix permissions from within TWRP, granting/denying the request, reflashing the RUU, but nothing seems to work.

I don't know why all of a sudden it decided to do this. It drains the battery really fast, too and interferes with the normal operation of the device.

grant permissions or use another superuser app, this has been a bug in superSU for quite a while.
15th May 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinistertensai

grant permissions or use another superuser app, this has been a bug in superSU for quite a while.

As I said in my original post, I tried granting it permissions and it still does it even though it has permission.

Also, it did not do this before. It just started doing it overnight one time and drained the phone until it died. I thought that reflashing the RUU would fix it, but apparently not...
15th May 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #4  
Sinistertensai's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 6,327
 
1,838 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RChris173

As I said in my original post, I tried granting it permissions and it still does it even though it has permission.

Also, it did not do this before. It just started doing it overnight one time and drained the phone until it died. I thought that reflashing the RUU would fix it, but apparently not...

try another superuser then. and odd it's repeatedly asking. you running any mods, tweaks, xposed?
15th May 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinistertensai

try another superuser then. and odd it's repeatedly asking. you running any mods, tweaks, xposed?

There are no modifications. I simply flash the RUU 4.13.651.4. Flash TWRP. Problem occurs. In fact, I don't even have to have SuperSU installed. I know it is trying to do something because it keeps cycling through saying "Reading SIM card..." and there is an icon on the top left that has a picture of a SIM card with an exclamation point on it.
Last edited by RChris173; 15th May 2014 at 04:16 AM.
15th May 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #6  
ElMadre's Avatar
Senior Member
Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 116
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Do a data reset from dialer ##72786# and when it loads (you may have to wait a few seconds) select reset from upper right corner. You may need to switch to CDMA Only to get it to work--I did. This solved the problem for me. I was having almost identical SIM card problems after running the RUU.
17th May 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #7  
RayTrue04's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford, CT
Thanks Meter: 457
 
1,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RChris173

I installed the latest RUU from HTC (4.13.651.4) Phone is S-OFF.

Immediately, upon first boot, the phone keeps saying "Preparing SIM card..." There is nothing that seems to stop it. I have reflashed the firmware, ran the RUU several times, ##72786# reset, but the phone keeps going in this endless loop of "Preparing SIM card", which drains the battery and even turns off the cellular radio at random times.

Sprint support has no clue and I am basically left with no options at this point.

What can be done -- do I need a new phone??

Preparing sim card is a normal process and always happens at boot. It's part of 4.3 update and it's also present on the HTC One. It just basically preparing your data services. But if it's continuously doing it throughout the day and not just boot up something is not right. Usually the fix would be to reprovision using ##72786# and let it do a hands free activation but you already stated that didn't work so I'm stumped.

Edit: Maybe it's your coverage that's draining your battery. Did you ask the Sprint rep if there was work being done in your area?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by RayTrue04; 17th May 2014 at 08:22 AM.
17th May 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayTrue04

Preparing sim card is a normal process and always happens at boot. It's part of 4.3 update and it's also present on the HTC One. It just basically preparing your data services. But if it's continuously doing it throughout the day and not just boot up something is not right. Usually the fix would be to reprovision using ##72786# and let it do a hands free activation but you already stated that didn't work so I'm stumped.

Edit: Maybe it's your coverage that's draining your battery. Did you ask the Sprint rep if there was work being done in your area?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Free mobile app

It was doing it in multiple places (work, gym, home) and they are not all in the same area. Takes about ~15-20 minutes to get to each place from another.

I'm assuming that the process of it constantly saying "Preparing SIM Card" is draining the battery because I don't know what else would drain it. It gets a good signal, at least from the indicator of the signal bars.

This morning, the phone did not show that it had the cellular radio off. I'll leave it unplugged today and see if it drains and see if I observe the Preparing SIM Card loop.
17th May 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
It's doing it again
17th May 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #10  
Evolution_Freak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Stroudsburg
Thanks Meter: 375
 
689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RChris173

It's doing it again

Here is the 3.17 official RUU:


http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-ev...e-sprint/news/

Sent from my EVO LTE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes