Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,012 Members 54,187 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is there no way to make CC work through a proxy server?

Tip us?

Talmar Grosskotz
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default Is there no way to make CC work through a proxy server?

Hi folks,

Our school features HD-beamers in every classroom, so chromecasts would be ideal for the teachers to present their stuff on a large screen.

That said our school is connected to the internet via a proxy-server, which offers content-protection.
I cannot touch the proxy-servers configuration so i would really need a way to make chromecast work through a proxy.
I managed to use my android-phone with the proxy via sandroproxy.

I am not a programmer and do not know about the problems in detail but from a general perspective it shouldn't be too difficult for the chromecast to direct all internet-connections through a certain server and port is it?

Would be glad if someone came up with a solution.

Jörg Bilert

bhiga
Old
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 753

DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talmar Grosskotz View Post
Our school features HD-beamers in every classroom, so chromecasts would be ideal for the teachers to present their stuff on a large screen.

That said our school is connected to the internet via a proxy-server, which offers content-protection.
I cannot touch the proxy-servers configuration so i would really need a way to make chromecast work through a proxy.
I managed to use my android-phone with the proxy via sandroproxy.

I am not a programmer and do not know about the problems in detail but from a general perspective it shouldn't be too difficult for the chromecast to direct all internet-connections through a certain server and port is it?
Chromecast is difficult because there is very little you can configure, and unlike your phone you can't sideload - or load apps in general.