Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 48,114 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

System updates is not available.

Tip us?
 
AKShotgun
Old
#1  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Default System updates is not available.

When going to do the KitKat update after freshly sbf'ing to stock I am greeted with a prompt(when I go to settings>about phone>system update) that says the following; "System updates is not available without a Motorola service account". It asks me if I want to set up an account and when I try it just has a spinning circle that never goes away. I am on 9.30.1. I have tried a factory reset multiple times with no success. Any ideas on a fix?
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
thewraith420
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 166
Join Date: Sep 2011
Perhaps someone will pull the official update from their cache and you could apply in the same manner as the soak test leak

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
 
AKShotgun
Old
#3  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420 View Post
Perhaps someone will pull the official update from their cache and you could apply in the same manner as the soak test leak

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
Someone else has the same exact problem at the moment. I'm thinking its a problem with motorolas servers

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
dcviper
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun View Post
Someone else has the same exact problem at the moment. I'm thinking its a problem with motorolas servers

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I do! I even had the phone into the Verizon store today and they played with it for about an hour (near as I can tell, they didn't do anything I hadn't already tried). The consensus was that I needed a new phone, so they are going to overnight a new phone out to me.
 
AKShotgun
Old
#5  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcviper View Post
I do! I even had the phone into the Verizon store today and they played with it for about an hour (near as I can tell, they didn't do anything I hadn't already tried). The consensus was that I needed a new phone, so they are going to overnight a new phone out to me.
Really?!?! That's a little excessive. I really think its just a problem on Motorola's end if everyone is suddenly getting this problem.

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
dcviper
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun View Post
Really?!?! That's a little excessive. I really think its just a problem on Motorola's end if everyone is suddenly getting this problem.
No arguments here, but if I get a refurbished phone out of the deal, why not?
 
thewraith420
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 166
Join Date: Sep 2011
Look over in the development section. Someone has posted the update.zip if your somewhat technically inclined it's not too bad to install

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk
 
AKShotgun
Old
#8  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Mine now said there is an update available so I hit download and nothing happened. Nothing downloaded. I want my KK

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
AKShotgun
Old
#9  
AKShotgun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Okay I have bad news. I just got off the phone with a tech support agent at Motorola. They asked for my IMEI, I gave it to them and they told me they could tell i was rooted(which is funny because I'M ACTUALLY NOT ) and that the Motorola servers don't push updates to rooted phones. makes me question a lot because when i was actually rooted i got the update, but now that i'm not i don't? This is a mess. I just want my update.
Current Devices

Moto Razr M (Stock 4.4.2)Main Phone
Moto Droid X2 (CM10 4.1.2)
Samsung Facinate(CM10.1 4.2.2)
2013 Nexus 7 (Stock Android L preview)
Chromecast
 
razor411
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKShotgun View Post
Okay I have bad news. I just got off the phone with a tech support agent at Motorola. They asked for my IMEI, I gave it to them and they told me they could tell i was rooted(which is funny because I'M ACTUALLY NOT ) and that the Motorola servers don't push updates to rooted phones. makes me question a lot because when i was actually rooted i got the update, but now that i'm not i don't? This is a mess. I just want my update.
Well after that post I just unrooted my phone and voila...the "Update not available" Message ist gone and now I get an "your phone is up to date..." message.....God damnit
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...