Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] TWRP backup

OP bruteoutlawz

17th May 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hi

So i just installed TWRP and did a backup to my external sd card. Then rooted it with no issues. I have now copied the twrp backup to my pc, is it ok to delete the backup from my external sd card?

Thanks
17th May 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #2  
moonbutt74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 364
 
777 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Tutorial twrp backup
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruteoutlawz

Hi

So i just installed TWRP and did a backup to my external sd card. Then rooted it with no issues. I have now copied the twrp backup to my pc, is it ok to delete the backup from my external sd card?

Thanks

hey,
if you copy the twrp directory from the top then i suppose
but honestly, keep your backup where it is, it just seems wiser
bye
17th May 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Oceanside, Ca
Thanks Meter: 32
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I keep all my backups on my PC (I have multiple going back several weeks/months) . The choice is up to you where to keep your backups. There is a possibility that you might format your SD card by mistake. So keeping multiple copies is not a bad idea. I personally keep nothing on my SD card. It is there as a "go between" the PC and the Tablet if I do not have my cable with me.

So your call; PC, Tablet internal storage, SD Card, or any combination of those.
The Following User Says Thank You to Brian D For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian D

I keep all my backups on my PC (I have multiple going back several weeks/months) . The choice is up to you where to keep your backups. There is a possibility that you might format your SD card by mistake. So keeping multiple copies is not a bad idea. I personally keep nothing on my SD card. It is there as a "go between" the PC and the Tablet if I do not have my cable with me.

So your call; PC, Tablet internal storage, SD Card, or any combination of those.

Thanks pal, just wanted to make sure before i deleted it off my external sd.
18th May 2014, 01:15 AM   |  #5  
moonbutt74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 364
 
777 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian D

I keep all my backups on my PC (I have multiple going back several weeks/months) . The choice is up to you where to keep your backups. There is a possibility that you might format your SD card by mistake. So keeping multiple copies is not a bad idea. I personally keep nothing on my SD card. It is there as a "go between" the PC and the Tablet if I do not have my cable with me.

So your call; PC, Tablet internal storage, SD Card, or any combination of those.

good call, i forgot about that, thanks
18th May 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Oceanside, Ca
Thanks Meter: 32
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Here is one more thing I do. Before attempting anything new that might cause problems with the tablet, I will put the most current backup in the download folder of internal memory. Then, if anything goes wrong and for some reason I can't access the SD card or cannot connect to the PC via the USB port, then I can go to TWRP and restore the tablet from internal memory. It is just a failsafe procedure. And, I will always backup before adding any new apps. If the apps work then I will back up again so I have a restore with the new apps added.

One can never have too many backups.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes