Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,554 Members 36,454 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

AT&T band 700 lte works on C6903 in the U.S

Tip us?
 
pandaw1900
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
Default AT&T band 700 lte works on C6903 in the U.S

Hi guys, I bought a c6903 last year because didn't want to wait for the late release in the U.S. Before purchased it, I did some researches that confirmed it would only work under band 1200 for At&t in Los Angeles. Band 700 isn't supported at all. Since I'm living in LA, there are only a few places have band 1200. Most of time, my z1 is running under HSPA+.

Previously, there were someone flashed the C6606 FTF file to have their c6603 (Z) working under 2600 in Canada. I guess it would work for Z1 as well (Some CPU both C6903 and C6906) and searched on xda. Only saw some people talked about it, but no one tried it.

Therefore, I gave a try this afternoon and it works. My Z1 is running under LTE at home now. According to the Speedtest, LTE is 4 times faster than H+. lol

HOW:

1. Download same version of C6906's FTF as your cellphone from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2469191
In my case, my C6603 is 14.3.A.0.757, so download C6906 14.3.A.0.757 Generic CA 1276-7484_R4C.

2. Flash it with flashtool and bandbase only.

3. Reboot. You will find your LTE is working if have the lte signal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3G.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	118.0 KB
ID:	2751202   Click image for larger version

Name:	4G.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	2751203   Click image for larger version

Name:	Speedtest 3G.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	162.6 KB
ID:	2751204   Click image for larger version

Name:	Speedtest 4G.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	166.5 KB
ID:	2751205   Click image for larger version

Name:	c6903.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	127.8 KB
ID:	2751207  

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pandaw1900 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Linux4ever85
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 68
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaw1900 View Post
Hi guys, I bought a c6903 last year because didn't want to wait for the late release in the U.S. Before purchased it, I did some researches that confirmed it would only work under band 1200 for At&t in Los Angeles. Band 700 isn't supported at all. Since I'm living in LA, there are only a few places have band 1200. Most of time, my z1 is running under HSPA+.

Previously, there were someone flashed the C6606 FTF file to have their c6603 (Z) working under 2600 in Canada. I guess it would work for Z1 as well (Some CPU both C6903 and C6906) and searched on xda. Only saw some people talked about it, but no one tried it.

Therefore, I gave a try this afternoon and it works. My Z1 is running under LTE at home now. According to the Speedtest, LTE is 4 times faster than H+. lol

HOW:

1. Download same version of C6906's FTF as your cellphone from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2469191
In my case, my C6603 is 14.3.A.0.757, so download C6906 14.3.A.0.757 Generic CA 1276-7484_R4C.

2. Flash it with flashtool and bandbase only.

3. Reboot. You will find your LTE is working if have the lte signal.
I wonder if the C6903 and C6906 has the same bandbase hardware where it is the software that is blocking the type of Band. C6903 has the band for LTE for Tmobile. Wonder if you flash the bandbase of C6903 to C6906 will that unlock LTE on the C6906 for T-mobile phone. Anyone has C6906 and that is on T-Mobile to test?
 
CollinFX45
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 204
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux4ever85 View Post
I wonder if the C6903 and C6906 has the same bandbase hardware where it is the software that is blocking the type of Band. C6903 has the band for LTE for Tmobile. Wonder if you flash the bandbase of C6903 to C6906 will that unlock LTE on the C6906 for T-mobile phone. Anyone has C6906 and that is on T-Mobile to test?
Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't C6906 already support the T-Mobile LTE bands? The only difference I see is that the C6906 supports 700mhz LTE out of the box, while the C6903 doesn't.

Mine should arrive in the next couple days and I will try to confirm.

-Collin-
 
0000alex0000
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 181
Join Date: Nov 2010
but just as what i thought, even if lte works on c6903, it has horrible lte signal
 
jimmy2323
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2011
I just tested this and it doesn't work, which isn't surprising. I'm pretty sure it's been covered in another thread that two variants have different chipsets.
 
jakepi
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Same result

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy2323 View Post
I just tested this and it doesn't work, which isn't surprising. I'm pretty sure it's been covered in another thread that two variants have different chipsets.
Same. Xperia C6903, updated JUST the baseband with the file specified and I still only receive HSPA+. I know I have solid LTE coverage in this area from ATT since LTE shows up on my wife's iPhone 5C and did show up when I had a MotoX. Oh well I guess, it was worth a try.

One thing to note, I have the same firmware version as stated above and I have Android 4.4.2, yet my choices under network are not "4G,3G, Etc". Mine is listed as "LTE (preferred)/WCDMA/GSM".
 
crzygrmn
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 316
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Check the box it came with

Sent from my C6906 using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1404317719677.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	2828932  
 
jakepi
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzygrmn View Post
Check the box it came with

Sent from my C6906 using XDA Free mobile app
I was just wondering if there was a software way of doing this to see if the baseband update made and difference.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more