Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,086 Members 54,263 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HELP]Stock Settings apk Not Installing

Tip us?
 
prandroid05
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chennai
Unhappy [HELP]Stock Settings apk Not Installing

Hello all. I recently used the modded settings apk made by Balliboxer for our Grand Duos. Later, when I tried to replace it with a stock settings.apk, the settings app dissapeared from my phone and even when I click the settings icon in the notification bar it doesn't open.
Now, I used root explorer and moved to system/app and found SecSettings.apk there. But when I changed permissions to rw-r--r-- and clicked install after mounting R/W, it says "APP NOT INSTALLED". Pls help.
 
zelendel
Old
#2  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10829
Posts: 14,194
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by prandroid05 View Post
Hello all. I recently used the modded settings apk made by Balliboxer for our Grand Duos. Later, when I tried to replace it with a stock settings.apk, the settings app dissapeared from my phone and even when I click the settings icon in the notification bar it doesn't open.
Now, I used root explorer and moved to system/app and found SecSettings.apk there. But when I changed permissions to rw-r--r-- and clicked install after mounting R/W, it says "APP NOT INSTALLED". Pls help.
You don't install system apps. You move to system, change permissions and reboot.





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
prandroid05
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
You don't install system apps. You move to system, change permissions and reboot.
Ok. So I move it to system/app and change permissions to rw-r--r-- and reboot?
 
zelendel
Old
#4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10829
Posts: 14,194
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by prandroid05 View Post
Ok. So I move it to system/app and change permissions to rw-r--r-- and reboot?
Yes





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
prandroid05
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
Yes
Ok. Thanks
Bu this app which I have isn't the Grand's. It has many other options and keeps force closing. Please can you give me the stock secsettings of the grand duos? I'm on stock 4.2.2 Touchwiz.
 
prandroid05
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chennai
And can someone please give me the stock settings apk. The one I have got isn't the one which came with grand.
 
zelendel
Old
#7  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10829
Posts: 14,194
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by prandroid05 View Post
And can someone please give me the stock settings apk. The one I have got isn't the one which came with grand.
Pull it from a stock ROM zip





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
prandroid05
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
Pull it from a stock ROM zip
Pls can you do it and upload. My internet is not fast enough to download a stock rom.
 
Preshak
Old
#9  
Preshak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 113
Join Date: Dec 2012
The apk that i have send you was taken from my grand duos running 4.2.2
Firmware -------ubmj4

Sent from my GT-I9082 using XDA Free mobile app
 
prandroid05
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackeagle View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Preshak View Post
The apk that i have send you was taken from my grand duos running 4.2.2
Firmware -------ubmj4

Sent from my GT-I9082 using XDA Free mobile app
Thanks a lot all of you'll for your help!
My phone got bricked and now I have flashed a stock firmware and everything is fine. You'll can have this thread closed. Thanks again
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...