Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,161 Members 52,470 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Optimus G E975 (Kit Kat 4.4.2 ) Sling Rom 2.1 -- Install Instructions UPDATED

Tip us?
 
Brontok
Old
(Last edited by Brontok; 9th June 2014 at 09:25 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Zenica

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Optimus G E975 (Kit Kat 4.4.2 ) Sling Rom 2.1 -- Install Instructions UPDATED

Just to be sure, before doing any of these steps BACKUP your current rom, connect your phone to a pc, open your phone`s internal storage, create a new folder and name it "0", without qoutes ( that`s a zero, not a letter 0 ), put all your files to that folder.

I am not responsible if anything goes wrong. You`re doing this at your own risk.

So, to get to the point, many users have reported a soft/hard brick. I recommend you trying this method, even thought the previous method worked for me every single time. That same method is quoted in the first comment, so if you want you can still try it. Install Jelly Bean E97510h from this link ( using KDZ updater )https://mega.co.nz/#!0gtWRABR!WSbEST...Y3UKMh3m4i7i14 Make sure you have an unlocked bootloader ( download app called "freegee" from the play store and unlock your bootloader using "mako" method ) and a recovery ( I recommend using CWM ):

After that install Paulicat, just to be safe https://drive.google.com/folderview?...kk&usp=sharing
( install it the same way as any other rom - wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, dalvik cache, format system, install zip. wipe data/factory reset)

1. download Sling Rom 2.1
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B6Xk.../preview?pli=1
http://pan.baidu.com/s/1ntsiloX
https://storage.rcs-rds.ro/links/6be...b-a2c492a63cdc

2. Download patch https://www.dropbox.com/s/7a3urpzvw4...lgviet.com.zip

3. Super su http://download.chainfire.eu/420/Sup...erSU-v1.99.zip

4. Put all three files on your sd card

5. Enter recovery >> Wipe data/factory reset >> Wipe cache >> Wipe dalvik cache >> go to mounts and storage and click "format system"

6. Install Sling Rom, then Patch and finally Super Su

7. Go back, once more wipe data/factory reset >> wipe cache >> and wipe dalvik cache

Reboot your phone and enjoy kit kat.. you dont need to flash 10H modem because I`ve already included it in the patch, and you dont need to unlock your bootloader. I`ve tested this method and it works 100%, if you cant get it to work than you`re doing something wrong.


If u have installed kit kat rom and have a weak signal then go to recovery, wipe cache and dalvik cache, install 10h modem >>>>https://www.dropbox.com/s/rzpnlwu1lo...-10h_modem.zip


Thanks @sunyakram for the rom links.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to Brontok For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ahmed Xperia p
Old
#2  
Ahmed Xperia p's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 297
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Islamabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brontok View Post
Hi guys.. I just want to write down a few things about the install process.. As u may have already seen many users have installed kit kat and ended up with a soft brick..

All the credit for the kit kat rom goes to @hoangnova...

1.So, first thing`s first, I would recommend downloading this exact version of Jelly Bean (due to the fact that many users have reported loss of network after flashing kit kat over other jelly bean versions)
E97510H_00 (https://mega.co.nz/#!0gtWRABR!WSbEST...Y3UKMh3m4i7i14) and installing it through KDZ Updater (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2010624)

2. After that install freegee (https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....shell.freegee) and unlock your phone`s bootloader by tapping CWM or TWRP and choosing "mako unlock method" >> "classic" can also do the job, but in my opinion "mako" is the safer option

3. After installing and unlocking JB download kit kat rom from this link http://www.filedropper.com/vdt-v20superlitelgg, put it on your sd card aka internal storage

--- also download UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.99.zip (http://download.chainfire.eu/420/Sup...erSU-v1.99.zip) and put it on your internal storage

4. Once more go to freegee app, wait for it to download supported device list, click on the "settings" button on your phone and select "reboot recovery"

5. From the recovery make sure to wipe cache and dalvik cache.. DO NOT format anything else.. after that click on "install zip", "chose zip from sd card" > navigate to your rom file and install it.. DO NOT go anywhere.. once more click on install zip and make sure to install UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.99.zip

6. Now once again wipe cache and dalvik cache, but this time you also must do a factory reset.. click on "wipe data/factory reset". this will not delete your pictures, songs etc

7. You can click on "reboot system now". Upon reboot setup your phone, once again download freegee, install it, unlock your bootloader using the same option as before..


If you follow these steps carefully you will not have any problems. If u already have a "secure boot error" just download the KDZ file from the first post and flash it through KDZ updater. At the end of flashing phone will try to reboot, if it gets stuck at LG logo press and hold the power button until it shuts down completely.. now press and hold the volume down button + the power button.. a warning should pop up saying that you will lose all your data if you continue, press the power button to confirm.. you should be good to go.

If you have any other question feel free to ask here or send me a pm.

And lastly, if I`ve missed something do let me know

Sorry for bad english :P
Thanks alot @Brontok for these useful instructions i ve followed all these instructions and kit kat is working like a charm .
The Following User Says Thank You to Ahmed Xperia p For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Brontok
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Zenica

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahmed Xperia p View Post
Thanks alot @Brontok for these useful instructions i ve followed all these instructions and kit kat is working like a charm .
you`re most welcome ahmed.. I`m glad I could help you.
The Following User Says Thank You to Brontok For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Basil_21
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahmed Xperia p View Post
Thanks alot @Brontok for these useful instructions i ve followed all these instructions and kit kat is working like a charm .
Does it work on a E970?
 
kt-Froggy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 599
Posts: 1,302
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: YVR
Quote:
Originally Posted by furkandeger View Post
BTW, I've been able to flash KDZs bigger than 1GB successfully using this method: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2625044
Yeah, that's exactly the method with the offline workaround that I am using, and it's giving me the low battery error...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasan4791 View Post
Try flashing v10D kdz of india... It wrks... I use that kdz always nd i do ota for newer versions...
I know there are several KDZs available less that 1GB in size that would work. However, call me stupid, but I don't want to flash a KDZ for E975 on the F180. I just want to revert it to a stock ROM appropriate for this device.

Tried an old V20L, and it also didn't work with the KDZ Updater. That's it, at this point I am giving up and waiting until I get home to crack the phone open and recharge the battery. Thanks to everyone for replies!
Optimus G F180S, VDT V23 (KK 4.4.2)
Galaxy S5, rooted stock 4.4.2
Venue 8, rooted stock 4.4.2

To whom it may concern: STOP nagging about pressing the freakin' Thanks button!!! It is rude, stupid, and annoying as hell. I am not an idiot who needs a huge in-my-face reminder to press it, and I will press it when I feel thankful, not because you asked for it!
 
furkandeger
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 298
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: İstanbul
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt-Froggy View Post
Yeah, that's exactly the method with the offline workaround that I am using, and it's giving me the low battery error...


I know there are several KDZs available less that 1GB in size that would work. However, call me stupid, but I don't want to flash a KDZ for E975 on the F180. I just want to revert it to a stock ROM appropriate for this device.

Tried an old V20L, and it also didn't work with the KDZ Updater. That's it, at this point I am giving up and waiting until I get home to crack the phone open and recharge the battery. Thanks to everyone for replies!
I bet you start the procedure with the phone in download mode, yes? If so turn on the phone and then start the procedure while the phone is on.

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
Device: LG Optimus G E975 (International)
Rom: Epsilon Project v3
Kernel: Epsilon
______________________________________________

Device: HTC ChaCha A810E
Rom: Stock 2.3.5
Kernel: Stock

______________________________________________
 
kt-Froggy
Old
(Last edited by kt-Froggy; 30th May 2014 at 06:25 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 599
Posts: 1,302
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: YVR
Quote:
Originally Posted by furkandeger View Post
I bet you start the procedure with the phone in download mode, yes? If so turn on the phone and then start the procedure while the phone is on.
Yes, running it with the phone in Download mode. Turning on is a no-go. My phone is technically can't be "turned on" -- it's stuck at the secure boot error, and is not recognized by any software in this state, so I can't proceed with the update, no matter what...

Anyway, I will be back home tomorrow, and will be able to remove and charge the battery.

Update: Hallelujah!!! Back in business! Found F180S V20D KDZ (filesize 1.17GB) which actually worked with the KDZ updater, even with a dead battery. The phone is alive again. Happily charging now, will continue with further upgrades tomorrow. Whew...
Optimus G F180S, VDT V23 (KK 4.4.2)
Galaxy S5, rooted stock 4.4.2
Venue 8, rooted stock 4.4.2

To whom it may concern: STOP nagging about pressing the freakin' Thanks button!!! It is rude, stupid, and annoying as hell. I am not an idiot who needs a huge in-my-face reminder to press it, and I will press it when I feel thankful, not because you asked for it!
 
itsdacj
Old
#8  
itsdacj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 150
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northants
I can't restore from kdz...I already restored from kdz a couple months ago cause I bricked my phone and now when i power on the phone the Google logo comes up..not LG and I can't kdz anymore:/ would it work coming from a stock based Rom such as savvyrom? Or epsilon v3?

Sent from my LG-E975 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
MY DEVICES
  • LG Optimus G - CM11 4.4.4 - Solid Kernel (For now, always switching ROM).
  • iPad Mini (Non Retina) - 16GB - White - iOS 8 Beta 5.
 
Brontok
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Zenica

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsdacj View Post
I can't restore from kdz...I already restored from kdz a couple months ago cause I bricked my phone and now when i power on the phone the Google logo comes up..not LG and I can't kdz anymore:/ would it work coming from a stock based Rom such as savvyrom? Or epsilon v3?

Sent from my LG-E975 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
have you tried turning off the phone and pressing volume up + the power button in order to enter recovery ?

I would recommend using the provided kdz file, simply because i dont know the base of those stock based roms. and mainly because stock doesnt have any removed files, unlike those two
 
Ahmed Xperia p
Old
#10  
Ahmed Xperia p's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 297
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Islamabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsdacj View Post
I can't restore from kdz...I already restored from kdz a couple months ago cause I bricked my phone and now when i power on the phone the Google logo comes up..not LG and I can't kdz anymore:/ would it work coming from a stock based Rom such as savvyrom? Or epsilon v3?

Sent from my LG-E975 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
i was on artmod and flashed this without flashing kdz . It should work in your case too
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes