Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,368 Members 51,351 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Removing carrier mod?

Tip us?
 
dunn816
Old
#1  
dunn816's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Default Removing carrier mod?

Is there anyway to remove the carrier text from the drop down shade?
Rooted
S-off
Xposed- Sense 6 tool kit
 
andybones
Old
(Last edited by andybones; 26th May 2014 at 09:02 PM.)
#2  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8868
Posts: 9,217
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunn816 View Post
Is there anyway to remove the carrier text from the drop down shade?
Rooted
S-off
Xposed- Sense 6 tool kit
Yes this is possible, I have it removed in my ROM.

It required decompiling the SystemUI.apk and editing the size of the text to a 0 pixel so that it is now gone. There are other ways to go about removing it, but I find this to be easiest.

Feel free to diff. my SystemUI.apk to see where the edit is made.

Or, I suppose if you are not wanting or simply do not know how to do this I can do it for you, simple MOD and I can get it done very fast. I just need you to upload your SystemUI.apk. The best way? Use something such as root explorer from the Playstore and go to your system/priv-app folder and pull the SystemUI.apk and upload to something like Dropbox and reply to this post with the said link.
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.
 
dunn816
Old
#3  
dunn816's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones View Post
Yes this is possible, I have it removed in my ROM.

It required decompiling the SystemUI.apk and editing the size of the text to a 0 pixel so that it is now gone. There are other ways to go about removing it, but I find this to be easiest.

Feel free to diff. my SystemUI.apk to see where the edit is made.

Or, I suppose if you are not wanting or simply do not know how to do this I can do it for you, simple MOD and I can get it done very fast. I just need you to upload your SystemUI.apk. The best way? Use something such as root explorer from the Playstore and go to your system/priv-app folder and pull the SystemUI.apk and upload to something like Dropbox and reply to this post with the said link.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/k46ys6lc87oea2b/SystemUI.apk Thank you so much! once you're done do i install it as a regular apk or just replace the apk in the proper directory.
 
andybones
Old
(Last edited by andybones; 26th May 2014 at 09:54 PM.)
#4  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8868
Posts: 9,217
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunn816 View Post
https://www.dropbox.com/s/k46ys6lc87oea2b/SystemUI.apk Thank you so much! once you're done do i install it as a regular apk or just replace the apk in the proper directory.
Download this link: http://d-h.st/SJR

reboot to your custom recovery, find the .zip you download that I provided and flash it, wipe (only) cache and dalvik cache, then reboot.

If you reboot and it is still there, I'm guessing you are on the stock ROM and you may need to just delete the SystemUI.odex and all will be good, but I don't believe that is necessary it should work upon reboot.
Let me know.


------

For those curious, this is how the MOD was done.
1) Decompiled SystemUI.apk
2) go to res\values\dimens.xml
3) within dimes.xml find:

Code:
Select Code
<dimen name="carrier_label_height">24.0dip</dimen>
change to

Code:
Select Code
<dimen name="carrier_label_height">0.0dip</dimen>
4) recompile
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.
 
dunn816
Old
#5  
dunn816's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: pittsburgh
How do I get back to stock..evrythings blacked out! Hardware keys are gone and I can't even access the drop down menu

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

DEVICE__ HTC ONE M8
ANDROID__ 4.4.2
VIPERONE ROM
 
andybones
Old
#6  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8868
Posts: 9,217
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunn816 View Post
How do I get back to stock..evrythings blacked out! Hardware keys are gone and I can't even access the drop down menu

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
a nandroid backup always fixes things, but I think I know the issue,
Download this new link .zip and reboot back to recovery, flash this new .zip then wipe cache and dalvik cache (only those two, this is important) and reboot.
If issue is still there, it may be because you are on an Odex ROM? and you may need to delete the SystemUI.odex

try flashing this first though and let me know,.



http://d-h.st/fGR
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.
 
dunn816
Old
#7  
dunn816's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: pittsburgh
I have stock everything lol I just weak sauce rooted & s-off yesterday

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

DEVICE__ HTC ONE M8
ANDROID__ 4.4.2
VIPERONE ROM
 
dunn816
Old
#8  
dunn816's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: pittsburgh
So delete system_odex boot into recovery flash zip wipe delvik reboot right?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

DEVICE__ HTC ONE M8
ANDROID__ 4.4.2
VIPERONE ROM
 
dunn816
Old
#9  
dunn816's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Everything is normal. I flashed the new v2 zip and nothing.should I delete odex and reboot?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

DEVICE__ HTC ONE M8
ANDROID__ 4.4.2
VIPERONE ROM
 
andybones
Old
#10  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8868
Posts: 9,217
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunn816 View Post
Everything is normal. I flashed the new v2 zip and nothing.should I delete odex and reboot?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
yea delete only the System/priv-app/SystemUI.odex reboot to recovery, wipe cache and dalvik cache, and let me know plz.

It should be working, I have it in my ROM
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more