Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] GPS No Lock. Fix?

2nd June 2014, 06:04 AM   |  #1  
geokilla's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 278
 
2,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I am not at home right now, and won't be for the next few days as I am out of town. However yesterday I noticed that the GPS does not lock anymore. I already restored the EFS backup I had from before but to no avail. Is there a way to get GPS working again? Some threads say to flash stock. Others told me it's impossible to fix it. I desperately need it as I am not familiar with the area and it's very inconvenient to not have working GPS. You never know when you might need it.
2nd June 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

I am not at home right now, and won't be for the next few days as I am out of town. However yesterday I noticed that the GPS does not lock anymore. I already restored the EFS backup I had from before but to no avail. Is there a way to get GPS working again? Some threads say to flash stock. Others told me it's impossible to fix it. I desperately need it as I am not familiar with the area and it's very inconvenient to not have working GPS. You never know when you might need it.

Flash stock based rom first, get a gps lock, then restore your backup. What rom are you using btw?
2nd June 2014, 11:11 PM   |  #3  
geokilla's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 278
 
2,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunch21

Flash stock based rom first, get a gps lock, then restore your backup. What rom are you using btw?

Carbon ROM created by me and @mathsz.

What do you mean by restore the backup? The EFS backup I made was made in Carbon ROM.
3rd June 2014, 10:14 AM   |  #4  
toybxb's Avatar
Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
I just realized that i have the same problem (Carbon too)...i saw in the e970 topics that some guys had the same problem, they fixed with FREEGEE, option RESTORE EFS, i had restore but havent tried it yeat, because im at the office building...i think this will work
3rd June 2014, 05:11 PM   |  #5  
toybxb's Avatar
Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
It didnt work
4th June 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #6  
toybxb's Avatar
Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Hello ! I have solved the gps fix ! I had to install/flash the original rom...now i have the gps working.

Enviado do meu LG-E975 através de Tapatalk
5th June 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #7  
geokilla's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 278
 
2,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toybxb

Hello ! I have solved the gps fix ! I had to install/flash the original rom...now i have the gps working.

You just KDZ back to stock JB? Or flashed one of the CWM ones out there?
5th June 2014, 09:44 AM   |  #8  
toybxb's Avatar
Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

You just KDZ back to stock JB? Or flashed one of the CWM ones out there?

I did whit the LG software KDZ update...lost root and bootloader unlock. i think i will stay whit original rom but with root...
5th June 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

Carbon ROM created by me and @mathsz.

What do you mean by restore the backup? The EFS backup I made was made in Carbon ROM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by toybxb

I did whit the LG software KDZ update...lost root and bootloader unlock. i think i will stay whit original rom but with root...

It'd be easier if you could find a stock based rom for your model (E971?) rather than using KDZ. Get GPS lock, then restore your ROM if you want. Though in your case i think it's safer to use stock rom for a while since GPS issue is known bug for gee/b based ROMs.
6th June 2014, 02:40 PM   |  #10  
toybxb's Avatar
Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunch21

It'd be easier if you could find a stock based rom for your model (E971?) rather than using KDZ. Get GPS lock, then restore your ROM if you want. Though in your case i think it's safer to use stock rom for a while since GPS issue is known bug for gee/b based ROMs.

Mine is e975
I was using Carbon Rom since january...and never got any problem with gps, but now...had to return to stock.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank