5,815,061 Members 37,752 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] GPS tracking awful - P6 wrong decision?

Tip us?
 
masteroe12
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 154
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Essen
Default [Q] GPS tracking awful - P6 wrong decision?

generally i'm using Endomondo Pro for tracking my sports activity (jogging), but with the P6 it seems nearly impossible to get good and correct tracking


I tried it now several times with several different ROMS and Tools , but the tracked GPS data is really awful...

With my last two smartphones (HTC HD2 , RAZR XT910) the tracking was much much better ...


Does anybody uses this phone also for GPS tracking with better experience (or does this phone have an ****ty GPS ) ??

When yes please tell me which ROM and which Tools..

thanks in advance ! m
Oneplus One - CM11S
S3 Mini - CM11
 
ant_pg
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by masteroe12 View Post
generally i'm using Endomondo Pro for tracking my sports activity (jogging), but with the P6 it seems nearly impossible to get good and correct tracking


I tried it now several times with several different ROMS and Tools , but the tracked GPS data is really awful...

With my last two smartphones (HTC HD2 , RAZR XT910) the tracking was much much better ...


Does anybody uses this phone also for GPS tracking with better experience (or does this phone have an ****ty GPS ) ??

When yes please tell me which ROM and which Tools..

thanks in advance ! m
Sorry to tell you this, but i've had the same problems since I bought the phone in August... Tried a lot of ROMs and GPS tools with no luck. Apparently some people's P6 has a perfectly working GPS, but some of us didn't have that luck. No idea where the problem comes from, I wish I knew.
 
heross
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 657
Join Date: Oct 2007
Here a track from my p6. Saved with locus pro and firmware b507. I think it is perfect.



Sent from my P6-U06 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1401878522518.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	2779937  
 
zordo
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 85
Join Date: Dec 2012
Yes tracking works fine sometimes. The problem is that sometimes you wont get a lock in a one hour run. I have several 0km ~30min bike rides saved with sports tracker along with a larger stack of incomplete tracks. Samsung galaxy s and had no problems what so ever for a couple of years - and i didnt even fix the ****ty antenna on it.
Factory reset helps for a while, so i think its a software related issue. Gps just wont wake up when the app needs it.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
heross
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 657
Join Date: Oct 2007
Ahh, GPS wont wake up and no icon in statusbar? This issue have any people. I think this is a hardware problem. On my P6 GPS is all time viable when i need it.

Here one tip, but it only help it is a software problem:

-copy attached apk to \system\priv-app\
-set rights to 644
-reboot
-set "location mode" to "High Accuracy"
Attached Files
File Type: apk NetworkLocation_Baidu.apk - [Click for QR Code] (176.2 KB, 11 views)
 
Mfsto
Old
(Last edited by Mfsto; 5th June 2014 at 06:33 PM.) Reason: I forgot to attach the file
#6  
Mfsto's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
I use this gps.conf file from the LG flex and it works just fine...replace this gps.conf with the one in system/etc/ ... If you can't replace the file, use RootExplorer with root permission
Attached Files
File Type: rar gps.rar - [Click for QR Code] (1.4 KB, 21 views)
 
sisqoboy
Old
#7  
sisqoboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 159
Join Date: Apr 2012
Well, I used to have problems with GPS all the time. Since I've sent the phone back to the repair centre it works much way better...

Sent from my HUAWEI P6-U06 using xda app-developers app
 
masteroe12
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 154
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Essen
I am using the ROM -> [ROM][4.4.4][ Unofficially Omni ROM | Ascend P6 from SUDRU_Petru

now GPS is nearly perfect !!! Guys it seems to be a software issue...

no gps.conf edit or any other edit. It just works !!!
Oneplus One - CM11S
S3 Mini - CM11
 
XDAvatar
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 246
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by masteroe12 View Post
I am using the ROM -> [ROM][4.4.4][ Unofficially Omni ROM | Ascend P6 from SUDRU_Petru

now GPS is nearly perfect !!! Guys it seems to be a software issue...

no gps.conf edit or any other edit. It just works !!!
Yes. It's a software issue. No matter what RM you have, the problem is there.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more