Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,145 Members 42,240 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cannot Root. Need help!

Tip us?
 
HD2FORNICK
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 246
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Cannot Root. Need help!

I installed the KK ROM wit the TOT method and then rooted the phone and installed the CWM recovery as an apk. Now when I go into SU, it says I am not rooted. I tried 2 methods to root but unsuccessful. It boots into CWM recovery and then nothing. Do I need to reinstall the OS with the TOT method again? Any ideas?
 
jdk2
Old
#2  
jdk2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 369
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2FORNICK View Post
I installed the KK ROM wit the TOT method and then rooted the phone and installed the CWM recovery as an apk. Now when I go into SU, it says I am not rooted. I tried 2 methods to root but unsuccessful. It boots into CWM recovery and then nothing. Do I need to reinstall the OS with the TOT method again? Any ideas?
This method works perfectly: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...68&postcount=1
After root, use this to get the correct recovery: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...05&postcount=1
Once the phone boots into the UI, use Freegee to install the latest recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to jdk2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
HD2FORNICK
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 246
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdk2 View Post
This method works perfectly: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...68&postcount=1
After root, use this to get the correct recovery: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...05&postcount=1
Once the phone boots into the UI, use Freegee to install the latest recovery.
Tries and doesn't work. It goes back to my CWM recovery and does nothing. Thanks.
 
luisoman2000
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 714
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2FORNICK View Post
Tries and doesn't work. It goes back to my CWM recovery and does nothing. Thanks.
flash the hacked twrp. that gets me out of cwm bootloop.
Pantech Burst
Rooted and Gizmolord 3.0 (sold!)


Xperia Ion
Running Aoba_PureBlack_Ultimate Privacy(sold! Really miss it though)

Lg Optimus G(AT&T) (Sold 2 of em so far, expecting my 3rd)
Running EG8 Rom

Samsung Galaxy S
(loaner from a friend-retured)

BLU Dash 4.0 (JB 4.2 version)
Holding me off till i get my G pro. Loaned it to my bro while he fixes his S3

Lg optimus g Pro(finally!!)
Running Radeonmaya's Kitkat
 
mk3
Old
#5  
mk3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 180
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: GMT -8
Same problem here phone was rooted and then installed CWM and for some reason lost root. Its not a CWM bootloop.

When the root step requires "Apply Update from ADB" I cannot because CWM doesn't have that option.
"Abracadabra Holmes"
-Cal Naughton, Jr.
 
HD2FORNICK
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 246
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk3 View Post
Same problem here phone was rooted and then installed CWM and for some reason lost root. Its not a CWM bootloop.

When the root step requires "Apply Update from ADB" I cannot because CWM doesn't have that option.
I got bad news bro. I had to re TOT the phone and start from scratch. There is a CWM 6.0.4.4 floating around causing this issue. The phone loses root but it constantly boots into CWM when trying to root.
The Following User Says Thank You to HD2FORNICK For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes