FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I've tried installing Hyperdrive multiple times on my S4 and I'm having issues. I bought the S4 used stock on the MK2 version. I rooted MK2 and then followed surges directions to upgrade to NC5 and retain my root. I currently am rooted running stock NC5 with Safestrap 3.72, and every time that I've created a ROM slot and attempted to install hyperdrive onto the phone, the aroma installer works great, I make sure that the ROM slot is active, and then I reboot. It boots up into the stock rom every time and the rom acts all glitchy and lags horribly. Also, if I plug a USB cable into the phone from the computer at that point, the phone just boot loops. I have followed the directions specifically for installing Hyperdrive to the letter multiple times, with no success. I end up going through surge's directions again to get to stock NC5 and then start all over again. Anyone have any clues what I'm doing wrong?
10th June 2014, 10:03 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 345
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz3256

So I've tried installing Hyperdrive multiple times on my S4 and I'm having issues. I bought the S4 used stock on the MK2 version. I rooted MK2 and then followed surges directions to upgrade to NC5 and retain my root. I currently am rooted running stock NC5 with Safestrap 3.72, and every time that I've created a ROM slot and attempted to install hyperdrive onto the phone, the aroma installer works great, I make sure that the ROM slot is active, and then I reboot. It boots up into the stock rom every time and the rom acts all glitchy and lags horribly. Also, if I plug a USB cable into the phone from the computer at that point, the phone just boot loops. I have followed the directions specifically for installing Hyperdrive to the letter multiple times, with no success. I end up going through surge's directions again to get to stock NC5 and then start all over again. Anyone have any clues what I'm doing wrong?

You can't create Rom slots with 3.72. Can ONLY flash to the stock slot.

Sent from my NCC-1701
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 10:54 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 844
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz3256

So I've tried installing Hyperdrive multiple times on my S4 and I'm having issues. I bought the S4 used stock on the MK2 version. I rooted MK2 and then followed surges directions to upgrade to NC5 and retain my root. I currently am rooted running stock NC5 with Safestrap 3.72, and every time that I've created a ROM slot and attempted to install hyperdrive onto the phone, the aroma installer works great, I make sure that the ROM slot is active, and then I reboot. It boots up into the stock rom every time and the rom acts all glitchy and lags horribly. Also, if I plug a USB cable into the phone from the computer at that point, the phone just boot loops. I have followed the directions specifically for installing Hyperdrive to the letter multiple times, with no success. I end up going through surge's directions again to get to stock NC5 and then start all over again. Anyone have any clues what I'm doing wrong?

you need to research info more....

clearly stated tht 3.72 safestrap does not support rom slots or installs to rom slots. This safestrap was released for att versions and has some limitations running on verizon phones
10th June 2014, 01:39 PM |#4  
muzz3256's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
So then I need to uninstall SafeStrap 3.72 and reinstall 3.71 correct? I was thinking that was the problem, but the Hyperdrive thread is a long thread and I didn't read it all.
10th June 2014, 04:06 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 345
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz3256

So then I need to uninstall SafeStrap 3.72 and reinstall 3.71 correct? I was thinking that was the problem, but the Hyperdrive thread is a long thread and I didn't read it all.

No. 3.71 isn't compatible with 4.4. You have to use 3.72 for KitKat Roms.

Sent from my NCC-1701
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 04:43 PM |#6  
muzz3256's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
So then how do I go about installing the latest hyperdrive that says it needs me to be on nc5?
10th June 2014, 04:51 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 345
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz3256

So then how do I go about installing the latest hyperdrive that says it needs me to be on nc5?

Assuming you already have root, the only way is to the stock slot of Safestrap 3.72.

Sent from my NCC-1701
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 04:58 PM |#8  
muzz3256's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Awesome! Will do!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium HD app
11th June 2014, 08:46 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
edit
11th June 2014, 09:26 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
RLS 16.1 CWM Mod
Hi All, I am trying to upgrade from Hyperdrive RLS 9 to 16.1 on my S4. I am on MDK and using CWM as my recovery. I can see the RLS 16.1 ZIP file in my file manager and I can see it through CWM when I am running normally. The ZIP is loaded on the SD card on the phone.

The issue is when I boot into recovery and go into the clockwork folder to find the ZIP it doesn't show up. Not sure why CWM isn't seeing the ZIP files.

Any thoughts? Thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes