Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Not getting Ota for 4.4.2 and kies doesn't work (battery issue)

OP 4ringsa6

11th June 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
This is my mom's phone and she is getting less than 2.5 hrs screen on time on the note3.

I'm with T-Mobile and currently the phone is on 4.3. The Android os is keeping her phone awake and now the battery life is worse than before. Now it's less than 2hrs SOT

So I thought I'd update it and it just says "software update is temporarily unavailabe. Try again later"

OK, no problem since I'm not using it with Verizon I figured I wouldn't get the update but it was worth a shot (since update is pushed thru Verizon and not samsung)

I tried to use kies 2.6 and it says use kies 3.0. With 3.0 it says device is not supported.

The phone is not recognizing it being plugged in as a USB there is no USB option in the notification bar that allows it to be toggled between mass storage and camera.

I'm using the v8 v9 USB from my nexus 4 and used my galaxy 4 USB (don't have the note 3 one) (just ordered one) could it be because I'm not using the new 3.0 USB?

Everything is stock not rooted

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
Last edited by 4ringsa6; 11th June 2014 at 07:09 PM.
12th June 2014, 06:40 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Anyone?

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
13th June 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #3  
mike7728's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Xenia
Thanks Meter: 26
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
try going in to settings, about phone, build number, tap build number repeatedly til u see developer options unlocked, go back to settings into dev options, and turn on usb debugging, plug your usb back into your computer to see if other drivers download to get kies workin.
13th June 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #4  
mirrin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike7728

try going in to settings, about phone, build number, tap build number repeatedly til u see developer options unlocked, go back to settings into dev options, and turn on usb debugging, plug your usb back into your computer to see if other drivers download to get kies workin.

is it a t-mobile note 3 or verizon either way factory reset it i would personally root and rom it even if she has no use for root you can set it to deny all and you can load any number of wonderful roms
13th June 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirrin

is it a t-mobile note 3 or verizon either way factory reset it i would personally root and rom it even if she has no use for root you can set it to deny all and you can load any number of wonderful roms

It is a verizon n3 on T-Mobile.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
13th June 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #6  
mirrin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4ringsa6

It is a verizon n3 on T-Mobile.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk

What did you have to do for that just put tmo SIM in and you are good to go?

My quandary is t mobile note 3 have unlocked bootloader Verizon has a locked down bootloader t mobile also has a wider feature set and better rom support. Tmo network just sucks though.

What I would do is factory reset the phone root it install safestrap and one of the custom roms and I would not bother trying to odin nc4 onto it.

If your dead set on a stock experience you're going to have to download a stock nc4 image and use odin to upgrade I advise against this as it runs the risk of tripping Knox rooting and rom is a smaller risk but still a risk. But the other disadvantage is nc4 is not rootable.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes