How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

When using GPS and charging in car, phone won't charge?

OP snebojsa

13th June 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #1  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 99
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
When I use GPS and want to charge from car charger, phone drops battery percentage, little slower then without a charger, but still dropping. So I thought that the charger is not strong enough, and bought another one with 3.1A, little better but still dropping. Then I try with home charger and no dropping, the GPS is working and battery is charging!
Is that normal, that the car charger can not charge the battery when the phone is in heavy use? The home charger have only 1A, and car 3.1A.
13th June 2014, 09:26 AM   |  #2  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Try NOT using an original HTC cable but instead a generic cable.

I recently purchased an external battery pack to charge my phone while on the move, I thought it would be best to use an original HTC cable but found it was charging to slow, when I checked in settings- power it stated at the top that it wasn't Charging as AC.

I suggest you go to your car and plug in your phone

Then go to: settings - power, check if your phone is charging as AC, if not you'll need to try with another cable ( check screenshot)
13th June 2014, 10:53 AM   |  #3  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 99
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I don't use original cable anyway, have other cable in car. Check it and it say AC.



Adapter is this one:



Last edited by snebojsa; 13th June 2014 at 10:57 AM.
13th June 2014, 11:50 AM   |  #4  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
That's really strange mate, I don't have this issue, is there any possibility of trying a different car charger & or cable?, maybe a friend's just to eliminate it as a possibility.
13th June 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #5  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 99
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I tried today different things, original htc charger and cable, different charger and cable, and all of that in different car...
The best was with original htc charger and non-original cable. Phone start charging and i think that was that, BUT...
After approximately half an hour, start discharging again, and i think that i accidentally move the cable, but the red charging led was glowing. When checked in power settings, there say "discharging". I disconnect the charger and connect again, start charging but after a minute it stop. Some overheating, maybe?
14th June 2014, 02:42 PM   |  #6  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
It sounds like that could be the problem (over heating) maybe you should try a different kernel and undervolt a little to see if it will help.
14th June 2014, 02:55 PM   |  #7  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 99
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Ok, I can try, I'm currently on Lyapota's 023 kernel and Viper X 4.1.1, everything else working very well.
14th June 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #8  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I use #017 pre aroma and it runs very cool
14th June 2014, 03:10 PM   |  #9  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 99
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Yes, lot's of people says that this version is the best, I would try it.
So, you try to use gps and the phone charging ok with Lyapota 017? Which rom you use?
14th June 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #10  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I have not had any problem using GPS and charging, I use the lates t MaximusHD.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes