Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,054 Members 46,327 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Utime/Charmpin G7 Rom update

Tip us?
 
mamakaze
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default Utime/Charmpin G7 Rom update

Hello,

I've bought an Utime G7 mobile (Android version 4.2.1, kernel version 3.4.5, build number: s33a_95045a_m11_v002_ch_20140307) from the ebay, but I forgot to tell them, that I'd like the hungarian language. How can I add this to my system? Or I've downloaded a hungarian rom from the needrom.com (it contains img files, mbr, ect...), and I'd like to know, how to install it (the last time I've done something like this, I've worked with android 2.0, 3 years ago on my tablet, maybe a lot of things changed )
 
Perseus71
Old
#2  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,879
Posts: 6,374
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
After taking a look at that website, since these are complete firmwares, they can be pushed over ADB after putting the phone is bootloader/download/fastboot mode. Once done, you'd have to issue a set of commands to flash the firmware. Here's a nice tutorial [Tutorial] How to flash a new boot.img via Fastboot Although its for a different device, underlying ADB commands are still the same.

Having said that, here's a nice discussion thread.
[Q] Enabling other languages? Post 3 would be of importance to you. Its for a different device but the steps listed are just the same for you.
 
mamakaze
Old
(Last edited by mamakaze; 14th June 2014 at 03:47 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2009
I think, I'm stupid or something. I don't understand a word about theese tutorials, and I don't understand why do I need theese things (adb, fastboot, ect..) to update my rom (I've rooted my phone)... Isn't that enough to install rom manager v5.5.3.7...open it, choose "reboot into recovery", and after the reboot, choose "apply update from sd card", and select the system.img (I've unpacked from a zip what contains boot.img, EBR1, EBR2, lk.bin, logo.bin, MBR, preloader.bin, recovery.img, secro.img, system.img)?
Or just create a bootable sd card?
 
Perseus71
Old
#4  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,879
Posts: 6,374
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
I understand that this all can be a bit overwhelming. My colleague @demkantor has two very nice tutorials, [Guide] How To Setup And Use Fastboot and [Guide] How To Create Recovery Flashable .zips / update.zips that should help.If need be, feel free to post on that thread and he'd be more than happy to help you.
 
mamakaze
Old
(Last edited by mamakaze; 17th June 2014 at 12:08 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2009
this is the third time I asked for help on the internet, and after that I had to solve my own problem....
SP Flash tool was the right answer!
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes