Post Reply

rooted successfully via towelroot!!!

OP lkebrnrd

15th June 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
This is my first time posting so I figured sharing my successful attempt to root using towelroot would be a good starting point..

I realize someone may have already beat me to it but I wanted to let ppl know you should be able to root using the awesome new app towelroot. Things to consider though.. I was on 4.3 ML1.. This was very exciting for me as my PC will not recognize my siii so the fact I was able to do this straight from the device itself is just great news.. Didn't think I could root without a PC.. Well, until now.. This is SO AWESOME! now to install some xposed mods . Happy rooting v
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lkebrnrd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Bethpage, NY
Thanks Meter: 9
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thumbs up Vrucnc1 root!
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkebrnrd

This is my first time posting so I figured sharing my successful attempt to root using towelroot would be a good starting point..

I realize someone may have already beat me to it but I wanted to let ppl know you should be able to root using the awesome new app towelroot. Things to consider though.. I was on 4.3 ML1.. This was very exciting for me as my PC will not recognize my siii so the fact I was able to do this straight from the device itself is just great news.. Didn't think I could root without a PC.. Well, until now.. This is SO AWESOME! now to install some xposed mods . Happy rooting v

I can confirm TOWELROOT works for VRUCNC1 also! Finally rerooted again. No computer needed either! Go to towelroot.com.
The Following User Says Thank You to pacet911 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
[QUOTE=pacet911;53429674]I can confirm TOWELROOT works for VRUCNC1 also! Finally rerooted again. No computer needed either! Go to towelroot.com. [/QUOTE

Heck yeah man! Its good to know we have an app that can do it from devices again! Glad to hear your success as well.. Right on
The Following User Says Thank You to lkebrnrd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
confirmed... sch-i535 32gb, 4.3 vrucnc1.... verizon s3.. super easy to install although it does give you a warning to not install it... you gotta allow third party, but then ANOTHER thing pops saying they don't advise it... something i haven't seen before.. anyways i forced it to install.. ran it... 15 seconds after you hit the button it reboots... bam... rooted..

easiest root i've ever done.... used to having to odin... also, i used a third party root check to verify that it wasn't just teasing me... if i weren't unemployed and broke i'd definitely donate...
The Following User Says Thank You to dhart1980 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2014, 07:30 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacet911

I can confirm TOWELROOT works for CNC1 also! Finally rerooted again. No computer needed either! Go to towelroot.com.

I'm not at all a noob but totally noob question right now. Can we unlock the bootloader again now after doing towelroot on 4.3, or are we still stuck?
16th June 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #6  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Illinois
Thanks Meter: 568
 
1,023 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by YevOmega

I'm not at all a noob but totally noob question right now. Can we unlock the bootloader again now after doing towelroot on 4.3, or are we still stuck?

Bootloader still locked. This is root only. Bootloader will not get unlocked without a leak from Samsung.
16th June 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark68

Bootloader still locked. This is root only. Bootloader will not get unlocked without a leak from Samsung.

Ah darn. So then towelroot is useless for us.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
16th June 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #8  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Illinois
Thanks Meter: 568
 
1,023 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by YevOmega

Ah darn. So then towelroot is useless for us.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Not useless. Can root, remove bloat, use ad blocker, tether, some people are using xposed, etc. Just may not be able to run any custom ROMs yet. Safestrap may work to run custom ROMs, but I have not seen an NC1 kernel module. So you would not have WiFi running safestrap on NC1.
The Following User Says Thank You to landshark68 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I've done this successfully however tethering is not working. Can anyone confirm? What do I need to do to get tethering working?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using XDA Free mobile app
22nd June 2014, 02:06 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Anyone try it on NE1?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank