Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Galaxy S5 just rebooted with an unlocked lock saying "custom" powered by android

OP Khrimzunn

17th June 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #1  
Khrimzunn's Avatar
OP Member
Flag The Burg of Martins
Thanks Meter: 6
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Ok, so I was just chilling with my new S5 and all of a sudden this thing rebooted. I didn't think much about it, but the thing is that when it rebooted insted of the bootup saying "samsung galaxy S5 Powered by Android" it said "Samsung Galaxy S5 (unlocked lock icon) custom Powered by Android".

Now I rebooted it again and the same thing happened. Now I did not root my phone or unlock or anything. All I did was enable developer mode because I like the show touches option and switch over to ART from Dalvik.

This is the SM-G900A.

ADDENDUM: I just got this phone four days ago. Switched from JB iPhone 4S
Last edited by Khrimzunn; 17th June 2014 at 06:29 AM. Reason: more details
17th June 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Totally normal, it's because you enabled ART. Just re enable dalvik to remove the custom boot icon. I suppose samsung chose to do this because ART isn't officially supported.
The Following User Says Thank You to Glas4d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:34 AM   |  #3  
Khrimzunn's Avatar
OP Member
Flag The Burg of Martins
Thanks Meter: 6
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glas4d

Totally normal, it's because you enabled ART. Just re enable dalvik to remove the custom boot icon. I suppose samsung chose to do this because ART isn't officially supported.

I rebooted my phone twice after enabling ART and it didn't show up. First time it was updating things, second time I just wanted to reboot it to see how long it really takes to boot up. This just randomly rebooted itself. Battery is low, yeah, but I'm confused at why it decided to reboot itself just now.

Also any work on a root for the 900A?
17th June 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khrimzunn

I rebooted my phone twice after enabling ART and it didn't show up. First time it was updating things, second time I just wanted to reboot it to see how long it really takes to boot up. This just randomly rebooted itself. Battery is low, yeah, but I'm confused at why it decided to reboot itself just now.

Also any work on a root for the 900A?

There is a root available by geohot that was released a few days ago. Do some research before diving into the realm of android. If your new to the platform I wouldn't want you to brick your new device. I personally love rooting but tripping my knox warranty bit scares me (however geohot's root is said to NOT trip the warranty bit).

Your random restart is a bit perplexing though. It was likely due to the fact that art is experimental and it was in the process of rebuilding a bunch of system files. It can take a few hours or even days for your phone to fully settle into a new runtime environment.
The Following User Says Thank You to Glas4d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #5  
Khrimzunn's Avatar
OP Member
Flag The Burg of Martins
Thanks Meter: 6
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Ok, well I guess that works. To be honest this isn't the first android I owned. I had a kurio 7s and was attempting to port ubuntu touch to it. Got nowhere and then I fell on it so it broke. I didn't see any roots, but thenagain I don't even know where to look and what to trust. anyway, towelroot worked for me. I'm tempted to install Cyanogen on it, my issue is that I LIKE the extra galaxy features. So I guess I'll have to wait.

Thanks for the responses though.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes