Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 51,613 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Thought all Verizon 4G phones were carrier unlocked.

Tip us?
 
Alexcxvtr
Old
(Last edited by Alexcxvtr; 21st June 2014 at 08:02 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 238
Join Date: May 2011
Unhappy [Q] Thought all Verizon 4G phones were carrier unlocked.

Greetings.

It seems I'm facing a weird problem here.
To begin with, I live in Europe and I've just bought a Verizon M8.
After boot, a pop up reads that this sim card is not from Verizon.
Although, my sim card CAN receive calls and messages (there is also the app from my carrier services) I cannot make any calls.
What happens is that when I'm trying to dial a number, +1 appears in front of the phone number and call is dropped.
+1 is the phone code for the US.
Well, I don't want this.
I thought every single Verizon 4G phone was carrier unlocked out-of-the-box.
To be honest, I know it, because there is some kind of legislation forcing Verizon to sell their 4G phones unlocked.

Could anyone please help me?
What should I do?
Flash another firmware? And which one?
Nexus 10 4.4.4
HTC One M8 Gunmetal grey + HTC One M7 Red Edition (ViperOne on both).
...and iPhone 3GS ...for breaking nuts.
 
takeclear
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2012
It should be. May need to change the APN settings.
 
Alexcxvtr
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 238
Join Date: May 2011
Thought you just pop the sim card in and voila.
I don't know how to change the APN settings.
And why should I do that if the device comes unlocked?
Do I miss something?
Surely, my sim card is not damaged.
Nexus 10 4.4.4
HTC One M8 Gunmetal grey + HTC One M7 Red Edition (ViperOne on both).
...and iPhone 3GS ...for breaking nuts.
 
takeclear
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2012
In settings click Mobile Data, then click GSM/UMTS Options. IT should let you change the APN.

Which carrier do you have?
 
Alexcxvtr
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 238
Join Date: May 2011
Cosmote (GR)

You think this will work?
Nexus 10 4.4.4
HTC One M8 Gunmetal grey + HTC One M7 Red Edition (ViperOne on both).
...and iPhone 3GS ...for breaking nuts.
 
takeclear
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2012
http://www.unlockit.co.nz/mobilesett...ngs.php?id=131

Try that, and click where it says Android Manual setup.
 
Dodge DeBoulet
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 103
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexcxvtr View Post
Greetings.

It seems I'm facing a weird problem here.
To begin with, I live in Europe and I've just bought a Verizon M8.
After boot, a pop up reads that this sim card is not from Verizon.
Although, my sim card CAN receive calls and messages (there is also the app from my carrier services) I cannot make any calls.
What happens is that when I'm trying to dial a number, +1 appears in front of the phone number and call is dropped.
+1 is the phone code for the US.
Well, I don't want this.
I thought every single Verizon 4G phone was carrier unlocked out-of-the-box.
To be honest, I know it, because there is some kind of legislation forcing Verizon to sell their 4G phones unlocked.

Could anyone please help me?
What should I do?
Flash another firmware? And which one?
Have you looked into the "Set Current Country" options in the Assisted Dialing section of the Phone settings? Or perhaps just turn Assisted Dialing off (I think it's on by default).
The Following User Says Thank You to Dodge DeBoulet For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Alexcxvtr
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 238
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Have you looked into the "Set Current Country" options in the Assisted Dialing section of the Phone settings? Or perhaps just turn Assisted Dialing off (I think it's on by default).
YESSSSS!!!

Oh, man, thank you so much!
That's it!
Assisted Dialing was enabled and caused the problem.
You are the man!

Now, I will try to find a way to make LTE work.
(I know it doesn't work on other US carriers, but globally it should. I've seen it.)
Nexus 10 4.4.4
HTC One M8 Gunmetal grey + HTC One M7 Red Edition (ViperOne on both).
...and iPhone 3GS ...for breaking nuts.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more