Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Post Reply

[Q] Thought all Verizon 4G phones were carrier unlocked.

OP Alexcxvtr

21st June 2014, 07:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Greetings.

It seems I'm facing a weird problem here.
To begin with, I live in Europe and I've just bought a Verizon M8.
After boot, a pop up reads that this sim card is not from Verizon.
Although, my sim card CAN receive calls and messages (there is also the app from my carrier services) I cannot make any calls.
What happens is that when I'm trying to dial a number, +1 appears in front of the phone number and call is dropped.
+1 is the phone code for the US.
Well, I don't want this.
I thought every single Verizon 4G phone was carrier unlocked out-of-the-box.
To be honest, I know it, because there is some kind of legislation forcing Verizon to sell their 4G phones unlocked.

Could anyone please help me?
What should I do?
Flash another firmware? And which one?
Last edited by Alexcxvtr; 21st June 2014 at 08:02 AM.
21st June 2014, 08:13 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
It should be. May need to change the APN settings.
21st June 2014, 08:19 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Thought you just pop the sim card in and voila.
I don't know how to change the APN settings.
And why should I do that if the device comes unlocked?
Do I miss something?
Surely, my sim card is not damaged.
21st June 2014, 08:31 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
In settings click Mobile Data, then click GSM/UMTS Options. IT should let you change the APN.

Which carrier do you have?
21st June 2014, 09:13 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Cosmote (GR)

You think this will work?
21st June 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
http://www.unlockit.co.nz/mobilesett...ngs.php?id=131

Try that, and click where it says Android Manual setup.
21st June 2014, 12:53 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexcxvtr

Greetings.

It seems I'm facing a weird problem here.
To begin with, I live in Europe and I've just bought a Verizon M8.
After boot, a pop up reads that this sim card is not from Verizon.
Although, my sim card CAN receive calls and messages (there is also the app from my carrier services) I cannot make any calls.
What happens is that when I'm trying to dial a number, +1 appears in front of the phone number and call is dropped.
+1 is the phone code for the US.
Well, I don't want this.
I thought every single Verizon 4G phone was carrier unlocked out-of-the-box.
To be honest, I know it, because there is some kind of legislation forcing Verizon to sell their 4G phones unlocked.

Could anyone please help me?
What should I do?
Flash another firmware? And which one?

Have you looked into the "Set Current Country" options in the Assisted Dialing section of the Phone settings? Or perhaps just turn Assisted Dialing off (I think it's on by default).
The Following User Says Thank You to Dodge DeBoulet For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st June 2014, 01:06 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet

Have you looked into the "Set Current Country" options in the Assisted Dialing section of the Phone settings? Or perhaps just turn Assisted Dialing off (I think it's on by default).

YESSSSS!!!

Oh, man, thank you so much!
That's it!
Assisted Dialing was enabled and caused the problem.
You are the man!

Now, I will try to find a way to make LTE work.
(I know it doesn't work on other US carriers, but globally it should. I've seen it.)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes