Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,068 Members 49,063 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ME301 Troubleshooting for CROMBI

Tip us?
 
hardslog
Old
(Last edited by hardslog; 3rd July 2014 at 09:27 PM.)
#1  
hardslog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1203
Posts: 1,277
Join Date: Nov 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default ME301 Troubleshooting for CROMBI

Hey ME301 users.

I have decided to move this information over to a Q&A thread so we don't bung up CROMBI thread with this. It seems that there is something that is not letting ME301 users install and run the latest 4.4.3 version of CROMBI and of course we are hoping to do something about that.

I will post a few test zips to try and see if they can allow you to boot on to CROMBI.

As the users who are testing this out there are a few things that I ask of you when troubleshooting:


  1. When installing CROMBI, please make sure you do a factory reset wipe in TWRP and also wipe cache and dalvik cache
  2. Please do not choose any options in the installer for running data2sd, rom2sd or f2fs. If you have f2fs on your internal /data I could possibly make up a test for that. I am going to stick to EXT4 for now.
  3. Make sure you choose ME301 in the installer, and choose do not install a kernel
  4. Flash one of the test zips provided below once you finish installing CROMBI and before you reboot your tablet
  5. If it fails to boot, please indicate whether it boot loops at black Asus logo screen or at the bootanimation
  6. If it is bootlooping at the bootanimation, then please send me a logcat as well as a last_kmsg and attach it to this thread. If you do not know how to do this there are many guides on XDA that can explain it much better than I can.

That should be about all for now. Let the testing begin!


EDIT/UPDATE - Tests 1-4 = FAIL, how about test 5?
Attached Files
File Type: zip CROMBI-ME301 pack - TEST 5.zip - [Click for QR Code] (11.02 MB, 17 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hardslog For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DrBeaker
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardslog View Post
Hey ME301 users.

I have decided to move this information over to a Q&A thread so we don't bung up CROMBI thread with this. It seems that there is something that is not letting ME301 users install and run the latest 4.4.3 version of CROMBI and of course we are hoping to do something about that.

I will post a few test zips to try and see if they can allow you to boot on to CROMBI.

As the users who are testing this out there are a few things that I ask of you when troubleshooting:


  1. When installing CROMBI, please make sure you do a factory reset wipe in TWRP and also wipe cache and dalvik cache
  2. Please do not choose any options in the installer for running data2sd, rom2sd or f2fs. If you have f2fs on your internal /data I could possibly make up a test for that. I am going to stick to EXT4 for now.
  3. Make sure you choose ME301 in the installer, and choose do not install a kernel
  4. Flash one of the test zips provided below once you finish installing CROMBI and before you reboot your tablet
  5. If it fails to boot, please indicate whether it boot loops at black Asus logo screen or at the bootanimation
  6. If it is bootlooping at the bootanimation, then please send me a logcat as well as a last_kmsg and attach it to this thread. If you do not know how to do this there are many guides on XDA that can explain it much better than I can.

That should be about all for now. Let the testing begin!

Test 1 & 2 both bootloop at the bootanimation Crombi-KK logo. I cannot pull logcat or last_Kmsg as my command prompt shows device as "offline" and after entering the commands it just reads "waiting for device".
 
hardslog
Old
#3  
hardslog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1203
Posts: 1,277
Join Date: Nov 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBeaker View Post
Test 1 & 2 both bootloop at the bootanimation Crombi-KK logo. I cannot pull logcat or last_Kmsg as my command prompt shows device as "offline" and after entering the commands it just reads "waiting for device".
If you reboot into TWRP, you can go into 'advanced' and then 'file manager' and then go into the 'proc' folder and in there you can find the last_kmsg. If you select it, it will allow you to copy it to your sd card.
 
DrBeaker
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardslog View Post
If you reboot into TWRP, you can go into 'advanced' and then 'file manager' and then go into the 'proc' folder and in there you can find the last_kmsg. If you select it, it will allow you to copy it to your sd card.
I have attached zip that contains test 1 and test 2 results.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Test 1 & 2 Last_Kmsg.zip - [Click for QR Code] (47.6 KB, 3 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DrBeaker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hardslog
Old
#5  
hardslog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1203
Posts: 1,277
Join Date: Nov 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBeaker View Post
I have attached zip that contains test 1 and test 2 results.

Uploaded test 3 and test 4 to the OP
 
DrBeaker
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardslog View Post
Uploaded test 3 and test 4 to the OP
@hardslog thank you for your continued attempts to get this moving.

I have tried 3 and 4 with same results. Boots to Crombi bootanimation and remains there.

Attached is zip of Last_Kmsg for zips 3 and 4.

I hope they are helping.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Test 3&4 last_kmsg.zip - [Click for QR Code] (84.7 KB, 4 views)
 
archspijkenisse
Old
#7  
archspijkenisse's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 88
Join Date: Aug 2009
I can confirm latest version with test 5 works.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to archspijkenisse For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hardslog
Old
#8  
hardslog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1203
Posts: 1,277
Join Date: Nov 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by archspijkenisse View Post
I can confirm latest version with test 5 works.
Good to know that we have it working again. Now I can look into restoring overclocking and all that fun stuff
The Following User Says Thank You to hardslog For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
archspijkenisse
Old
#9  
archspijkenisse's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 88
Join Date: Aug 2009
Great work guys. It's running very smooth.
 
lj50036
Old
#10  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1115
Posts: 1,291
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Muti-Verse

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by archspijkenisse View Post
Great work guys. It's running very smooth.
Team CROMBI is hoping to do even more with the me301 ....

Stay tuned ....

Thx Josh
The Following User Says Thank You to lj50036 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes