Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,962 Members 50,123 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rooting stock, nandroid, unlock, restore? Will it work?

Tip us?
 
fastest83
Old
#1  
fastest83's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 443
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Rooting stock, nandroid, unlock, restore? Will it work?

Finally I'm (again) rooted on stock, but that GPE rom becomes more and more attractive every single day...
My questions are:
I still have my TA Backup from the VRoot days (more or less day 1), is it still actual or do I have to redo a more recent backup? The TA partition changes with firmware updates?
And then, I'm unlocking, therefore deleting any user data on my internal memory, and subsequently I'm installing the GPE rom from scratch.
Let's say I'll stay like that for a week and then I'll miss the Sony rom, can I simply restore my previous (locked) nandroid backup? Would I get any troubles from that?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
 
blueether
Old
#2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,097
Posts: 2,556
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Te Awamutu, New Zealand

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastest83 View Post
Finally I'm (again) rooted on stock, but that GPE rom becomes more and more attractive every single day...
My questions are:
  1. I still have my TA Backup from the VRoot days (more or less day 1), is it still actual or do I have to redo a more recent backup? The TA partition changes with firmware updates?
  2. And then, I'm unlocking, therefore deleting any user data on my internal memory, and subsequently I'm installing the GPE rom from scratch.
  3. Let's say I'll stay like that for a week and then I'll miss the Sony rom, can I simply restore my previous (locked) nandroid backup? Would I get any troubles from that?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
Numbered you Q's

1, Yes it will still be valid, even though the TA changes with each firmware update.

I take it you relocked the BL at some stage?

2, Yes re-unlocking will do a data wipe again. If you had taken a TA backup with a unlocked BL as well you could use that to unlock again without the data wipe - just make sure to make sure to name them well and dont lose the 'locked' one

3, The nandroid should work fine, but wont relock the BL (from what I understand)
Charles
Alcatel One Touch "easy" -> Nokia 1110i -> Alcatel ame-408 -> Motorola Razr v3 -> Huawei u8100 -> Sony Xperia Z-Ultra

ROM:- Carbon
Kernel:- Pimped Kernel

Thankyou to all those that have donated to me over 2014.
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fastest83
Old
#3  
fastest83's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 443
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether View Post
Numbered you Q's

1, Yes it will still be valid, even though the TA changes with each firmware update.

I take it you relocked the BL at some stage?

2, Yes re-unlocking will do a data wipe again. If you had taken a TA backup with a unlocked BL as well you could use that to unlock again without the data wipe - just make sure to make sure to name them well and dont lose the 'locked' one

3, The nandroid should work fine, but wont relock the BL (from what I understand)
I'll reply with numbers as well

1)Seeing I'm rooted again, I may as well redo the TA backup and keep both, you'll never know...

2)I never unlocked the bootloader, so I don't have a TA Backup with the bootloader unlocked...

3) What I really was asking was if I could (if fed up with the GPE or another rom) restore my old (locked) nandroid even if I was unlocked. I think once unlocked I'll stay that way unless there's a problem, so relocking it's not a concern right now (and will not be anyway because if I have to send it in for warranty wiping would be the first thing to do... ).

Basically, I want to:
- do the TA backup now while rooted and never locked,
- make a nandroid backup
- unlock
- restore my nandroid backup -----> this is what I'm interested in, because I don't want to start from scratch if I don't feel like keeping another ROM.

By the way, redoing the TA backup while unlocked would be great if it'd mean never wiping data again... But correct me if I'm wrong, once you relock (with the TA backup) you'll end up wiping everything anyway, so...

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
 
blueether
Old
#4  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,097
Posts: 2,556
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Te Awamutu, New Zealand

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastest83 View Post
I'll reply with numbers as well

1)Seeing I'm rooted again, I may as well redo the TA backup and keep both, you'll never know...

2)I never unlocked the bootloader, so I don't have a TA Backup with the bootloader unlocked...

3) What I really was asking was if I could (if fed up with the GPE or another rom) restore my old (locked) nandroid even if I was unlocked. I think once unlocked I'll stay that way unless there's a problem, so relocking it's not a concern right now (and will not be anyway because if I have to send it in for warranty wiping would be the first thing to do... ).

Basically, I want to:
- do the TA backup now while rooted and never locked,
- make a nandroid backup
- unlock
- restore my nandroid backup -----> this is what I'm interested in, because I don't want to start from scratch if I don't feel like keeping another ROM.

By the way, redoing the TA backup while unlocked would be great if it'd mean never wiping data again... But correct me if I'm wrong, once you relock (with the TA backup) you'll end up wiping everything anyway, so...

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
Yeah those steps are about it, the nandroid should work just fine even with the new unlocked BL
I dont think that restoring the TA wipes data
Charles
Alcatel One Touch "easy" -> Nokia 1110i -> Alcatel ame-408 -> Motorola Razr v3 -> Huawei u8100 -> Sony Xperia Z-Ultra

ROM:- Carbon
Kernel:- Pimped Kernel

Thankyou to all those that have donated to me over 2014.
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fastest83
Old
#5  
fastest83's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 443
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether View Post
Yeah those steps are about it, the nandroid should work just fine even with the new unlocked BL
I dont think that restoring the TA wipes data
Thanks for the quick replies, but as this is uncharted territory for me, I would like some certainties, while all I find over the net are should and would...

I'm baffled over the fact that nobody ever tried (or ever reported) to do as I'm trying to do...

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
 
LordManhattan
Old
(Last edited by LordManhattan; 24th June 2014 at 05:40 PM.)
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 5,653
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
You should be fine. I've never done a NANDROID on a locked bootloader before, but I have switched between the GPe and Stock ROM like every couple of weeks for several months now, and it restores it just fine. Will a backup made while on a locked bootloader make any difference? I highly doubt that.

Either way, backup your stuff to your computer and the cloud, and expect things to go straight south. Nothing bad will happen of course, but you should always be prepared.

Let's say that you can't restore you NAND. What's the big deal? You can either flash an FTF in Flashtool, or if you want the local build, re-lock the bootloader, un-root and download it from PC Companion.

I understand that you have a lot of stuff on your phone and you want to keep it that way, and that's why you want to be sure that the NAND will work, but you shouldn't keep important things in one place, and definitely not on your phone. Again, back it up and save it on your computer/Dropbox/Drive/etc.

Sent from my C6833_GPe using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to LordManhattan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fastest83
Old
#7  
fastest83's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 443
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordManhattan View Post
You should be fine. I've never done a NANDROID on a locked bootloader before, but I have switched between the GPe and Stock ROM like every couple of weeks for several months now, and it restores it just fine. Will a backup made while on a locked bootloader make any difference? I highly doubt that.

Either way, backup your stuff to your computer and the cloud, and expect things to go straight south. Nothing bad will happen of course, but you should always be prepared.

Let's say that you can't restore you NAND. What's the big deal? You can either flash an FTF in Flashtool, or if you want the local build, re-lock the bootloader, un-root and download it from PC Companion.

I understand that you have a lot of stuff on your phone and you want to keep it that way, and that's why you want to be sure that the NAND will work, but you shouldn't keep important things in one place, and definitely not on your phone. Again, back it up and save it on your computer/Dropbox/Drive/etc.

Sent from my C6833_GPe using Tapatalk
First of all, thanks for the reply.
Secondly, you're right, nobody should keep their stuff in one place, and that's what I do with Drive, Box and Dropbox.
There's nothing that important on my phone, and even if I can't restore the nandroid backup and I remember there's one particular I should have backupped (there's ALWAYS something you forget), if I remember correctly Titanium Backup PRO lets you browse nandroid backups for apps and files and stuff...

That said, how do I proceed? My steps would be:

1)unlock bootloader
2)install dual recovery
3)wipe data from recovery
4)flash GPe rom

Is that right?
Wish me luck!

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
 
LordManhattan
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 5,653
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastest83 View Post
That said, how do I proceed? My steps would be:

1)unlock bootloader
2)install dual recovery
3)wipe data from recovery
4)flash GPe rom

Is that right?
Wish me luck!

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
Yup. That's pretty much it.
 
fastest83
Old
(Last edited by fastest83; 25th June 2014 at 10:05 AM.)
#9  
fastest83's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 443
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordManhattan View Post
Yup. That's pretty much it.
I have NUT's dual recovery installed, and that's what I was planning to install, but I read that's only for stock kernels...
Do I have to go with Doomlord one, once wiped after unlocking the bootloader? Or there's something better?
What I don't understand is if I have to install NUT's dual recovery (cause I'll be on stock before GPe), and then install the zip file with Scrubber's GPe rom (which from what I understand, has the dual recovery included that overwrites the stock dual one?)...
I think I'll flash through Flashtool to be sure...

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
 
LordManhattan
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 5,653
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
The kernel isn't that important when you're about to flash a different ROM. The ROM you'll flash will flash another recovery, so you'll only use the "first" recovery to be able to flash the ROM.

Use Flashtool or QuickIMG to flash the kernel/boot.img if you want a GUI, and do not want to use ADB.

Sent from my C6833_GPe using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to LordManhattan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes