Google to Acquire XDA, Dev Rewards & Policy Changes

We are delighted to announce that starting on April 20th, a finalized deal with … more

Hi Locker to Help You With Lockscreen Headache

The lockscreen is a part of the OS that we see hundreds of times every day, whether … more

Must Have App Review: Spider Squisher Pro Extreme

Here on XDA TV we have a series we like to call Must Have Apps. These are apps that we … more

OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Root Question

28th June 2014, 06:13 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
I had my phone rooted with towel root and the only thing I did was fix the hot spot provisioning so I can use Foxfi. I did a factory reset last night, and the weird thing is, I still have root and Foxfi still works. I figured that when I did the factory reset, I would have to reroot and fix the hot spot again.

I guess, I am wondering why that happened? It's good actually, saved me a half hour of work. But was that because I used the factory reset in the settings rather than through a reboot?

Please educate me. LOL
28th June 2014, 10:56 PM |#2  
Magic2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001400ex

I had my phone rooted with towel root and the only thing I did was fix the hot spot provisioning so I can use Foxfi. I did a factory reset last night, and the weird thing is, I still have root and Foxfi still works. I figured that when I did the factory reset, I would have to reroot and fix the hot spot again.

I guess, I am wondering why that happened? It's good actually, saved me a half hour of work. But was that because I used the factory reset in the settings rather than through a reboot?

Please educate me. LOL

After you root, the phone stays rooted, simples as that.
To unroot you have to flash stock rom I guess, till then, the phone will continue rooted.
If you want to send to warranty, you have to unroot and go stock.
28th June 2014, 11:02 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic2010

After you root, the phone stays rooted, simples as that.
To unroot you have to flash stock rom I guess, till then, the phone will continue rooted.
If you want to send to warranty, you have to unroot and go stock.

Yeah I guess. Lol I haven't rooted a phone since the OG droid. I thought that one you had to re root, but it's been a few years.
29th June 2014, 12:00 AM |#4  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 390
 
1,405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001400ex

I had my phone rooted with towel root and the only thing I did was fix the hot spot provisioning so I can use Foxfi. I did a factory reset last night, and the weird thing is, I still have root and Foxfi still works. I figured that when I did the factory reset, I would have to reroot and fix the hot spot again.

I guess, I am wondering why that happened? It's good actually, saved me a half hour of work. But was that because I used the factory reset in the settings rather than through a reboot?

Please educate me. LOL

I dont believe a factory reset will unroot the phone. It will remove the superuser app, but the exploit will still be there. To completely unroot, you need to flash you variants tot/kdz file using the LG flash tool. That will delete and replace all files in every partition and show that your phone is unrooted. It will be exactly as it was when you opened the box.
29th June 2014, 02:38 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_lefisch

I dont believe a factory reset will unroot the phone. It will remove the superuser app, but the exploit will still be there. To completely unroot, you need to flash you variants tot/kdz file using the LG flash tool. That will delete and replace all files in every partition and show that your phone is unrooted. It will be exactly as it was when you opened the box.

Yeah I don't have SU right now, just need root for foxfi. And I've read about the process to return to stock, I thought that was necessary for the other root methods.
29th June 2014, 04:49 AM |#6  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 390
 
1,405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001400ex

Yeah I don't have SU right now, just need root for foxfi. And I've read about the process to return to stock, I thought that was necessary for the other root methods.

you should be able to download supersu from the play store and root for apps should be restored without having to return to stock.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes