FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have two fire TVs which I updated to the new firmware yesterday. One of the units cannot see my 5Ghz network after update.
I did factory reset and no change. Then I pushed the previous firmware and the problem solved. Updating again breaks the 5Ghz network. I think there is a new radio on the updated firmware that making the problem.

the strange thing is my other updated unit connects fine to the 5Ghz router.
Last edited by mnlv; 28th June 2014 at 06:26 PM.
29th June 2014, 01:46 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
wifi radio 5ghz
latest firmware and root , just checked my 5ghz is going just fine.
24th February 2015, 05:56 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdg100

latest firmware and root , just checked my 5ghz is going just fine.

hardware root?
24th February 2015, 11:19 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krawhitham

hardware root?

yes , rooted original ftv ,
but this is a very old thread so i am not sure of the question i am answering , since my response was june of 2014 .
29th June 2014, 02:13 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnlv

I have two fire TVs which I updated to the new firmware yesterday. One of the units cannot see my 5Ghz network after update.
I did factory reset and no change. Then I pushed the previous firmware and the problem solved. Updating again breaks the 5Ghz network. I think there is a new radio on the updated firmware that making the problem.

the strange thing is my other updated unit connects fine to the 5Ghz router.

We have to be a little careful because it would not be the first time a manufacturer makes a minor hardware release within a product line. It could explain the rollout. Not saying that's what happened but it might be interesting to install a sys info app and compare the drivers for the wifi.
29th June 2014, 07:39 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
what app do u suggest for me to try?
I was playing with different options today. I was able to connect to 5GHz on the new firmware when I changed the channel on my router from 44 to 149. I don't have any interference on 44 and my other FTV is working with both channels on the new firmware. Is it possible I have a defective wifi hardware?

I bought both of my FTVs from staples one in store and the other online. so may be they are not from the same batch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kairnage

We have to be a little careful because it would not be the first time a manufacturer makes a minor hardware release within a product line. It could explain the rollout. Not saying that's what happened but it might be interesting to install a sys info app and compare the drivers for the wifi.

29th June 2014, 05:24 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnlv

what app do u suggest for me to try?
I was playing with different options today. I was able to connect to 5GHz on the new firmware when I changed the channel on my router from 44 to 149. I don't have any interference on 44 and my other FTV is working with both channels on the new firmware. Is it possible I have a defective wifi hardware?

I bought both of my FTVs from staples one in store and the other online. so may be they are not from the same batch.

Yeah not seeing and problems connecting are two different things. Since it can see and connect I doubt there is any difference.. As far as the channel change working it could be interference. Do you have a 5.8ghz phone? They won't show on a wifi analyzer but but can interfere while your wifi still shows strong signal.

A simple test would be swap places between the two FTV and see if the problem follows the unit or is because of the location.
The Following User Says Thank You to kairnage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2015, 02:54 PM |#8  
hank3fan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
I just got my fire TV yesterday and have heard about 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz.

I'm a noob btw. Why would I want to use 5 GHz
23rd February 2015, 03:01 PM |#9  
psycon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=2.4ghz+vs+5ghz
The Following User Says Thank You to psycon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2015, 04:48 PM |#10  
hank3fan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Yeah. I'm aware of google, but this is supposed to be a community where members help one another out.

In the time it took you to create your played out link, you could have offered some real assistance.

I'm not mad though. I just hope your mother has your lunch ready by noon neck beard.
Last edited by hank3fan; 23rd February 2015 at 04:51 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes