Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Accidentally tried to update a rooted G2..

OP BrandonShea

29th June 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hey guys, I screwed up bad. Im trading my G2 for an M8 tomorow, So I reverted back to my 'stock' restore on TWRP. Not really thinking about it I tried to update to 4.4 directly from the update centre. Now im stuck in a boot loop going into TWRP and it wont let me into the firmware. Can I still follow the thread that tells you how to go back to stock? Im in panic mode right now so im sorry if this has been asked before. Im just writing this so I can maybe get responses while I try and fix it myself.

thanks,
Brandon

EDIT: this back to stock thread is very intimidating. If someone could tell me an easier way (if there is one of course) to get back to stock it'd be appreciated.
29th June 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #2  
poochewer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SYDNEY
Thanks Meter: 102
 
441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonShea

Hey guys, I screwed up bad. Im trading my G2 for an M8 tomorow, So I reverted back to my 'stock' restore on TWRP. Not really thinking about it I tried to update to 4.4 directly from the update centre. Now im stuck in a boot loop going into TWRP and it wont let me into the firmware. Can I still follow the thread that tells you how to go back to stock? Im in panic mode right now so im sorry if this has been asked before. Im just writing this so I can maybe get responses while I try and fix it myself.

thanks,
Brandon

EDIT: this back to stock thread is very intimidating. If someone could tell me an easier way (if there is one of course) to get back to stock it'd be appreciated.

If u have a nandroid of your previous setup,simply go into twrp and restore.then do a phone reset and hand it to the phone buyer
The Following User Says Thank You to poochewer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by poochewer

If u have a nandroid of your previous setup,simply go into twrp and restore.then do a phone reset and hand it to the phone buyer

it 100% wiped all the restores for some reason. It's absolutely empty and im at 26gb free space now.

EDIT: it seems Ocean Host is down at the moment, which isnt helping .T_T
29th June 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
IS there anyway I can just flash a 4.4 D803 telus stock Rom on my phone? If someone has one laying around id appreciate it )))))
29th June 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #5  
Kernel Sanders's Avatar
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 920
 
2,090 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonShea

IS there anyway I can just flash a 4.4 D803 telus stock Rom on my phone? If someone has one laying around id appreciate it )))))

100% wiped as in you wiped the internal storage as well.

Try to adb sideload a rom to atleast get it to boot something? You'll still have to go back to stock tho..

And if someone sends you a stock rom, that won't help you I wouldn't think. You'd still have twrp if you were to flash that. I'm assuming you want it back to 100% stock, right?
The Following User Says Thank You to Kernel Sanders For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 04:53 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by btm fdr

100% wiped as in you wiped the internal storage as well.

Try to adb sideload a rom to atleast get it to boot something? You'll still have to go back to stock tho..

And if someone sends you a stock rom, that won't help you I wouldn't think. You'd still have twrp if you were to flash that. I'm assuming you want it back to 100% stock, right?

No i dont mind having TWRP. I just want 4.4 'stock' D803 rom. As in all the features of 4.4. He knows it is rooted, thats no problem

EDIT: I booted into download mode and rebooted from there. It now goes back into the stock image I had flashed. 4.2.2 LG Skin. he wants 4.4 though is the main issue.

EDIT 2: http://csmgdl.lgmobile.com/dn/downlo...803R20D_00.kdz can I just flash that into recovery?
Last edited by BrandonShea; 29th June 2014 at 04:58 AM.
2nd July 2014, 09:08 AM   |  #7  
poochewer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SYDNEY
Thanks Meter: 102
 
441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonShea

it 100% wiped all the restores for some reason. It's absolutely empty and im at 26gb free space now.

EDIT: it seems Ocean Host is down at the moment, which isnt helping .T_T

It's always a good idea backup to otg on a usb stick. That way if that happens again u can use twrp restore from otg cable
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
help pls i need dis
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes