FORUMS

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Has anyone changed theirs yet? If so, what to? It's set at 640 and I think everything is too large, almost comically so.
29th June 2014, 06:10 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabret00the

Has anyone changed theirs yet? If so, what to? It's set at 640 and I think everything is too large, almost comically so.

u can change density from build.prop. Find the line ro_lcd_density=640. change the value according to your convenience. well, i hav tried this in many AOSP roms.
29th June 2014, 11:49 AM |#3  
sabret00the's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 496
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arunoday

u can change density from build.prop. Find the line ro_lcd_density=640. change the value according to your convenience. well, i hav tried this in many AOSP roms.

I was hoping a few people had tried and could recommend a density.
29th June 2014, 01:47 PM |#4  
liamR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
From my experience LG's system doesn't like global density changing (especially with kitkat). The best solution is to use Xposed framework and App Settings module (v1.9<) to change selected apps.
29th June 2014, 05:24 PM |#5  
MasK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabret00the

Has anyone changed theirs yet? If so, what to? It's set at 640 and I think everything is too large, almost comically so.

I used the app "textdroider_dpi" to change my G2's dpi from 480 to 400.
I was comfortable with this value and it's -17% change. Thus, I changed my G3's dpi from 640 to 530. Works great for me.

Now the amazing thing about G3 is that the dialer and cam works with this dpi change too. No need to use Xposed app settings to specify stock dpi on these apps
The Following User Says Thank You to MasK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 09:33 PM |#6  
sabret00the's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 496
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasK

I used the app "textdroider_dpi" to change my G2's dpi from 480 to 400.
I was comfortable with this value and it's -17% change. Thus, I changed my G3's dpi from 640 to 530. Works great for me.

Now the amazing thing about G3 is that the dialer and cam works with this dpi change too. No need to use Xposed app settings to specify stock dpi on these apps

530 is really nice, feels like what it's supposed to be. Fonts seem a little off though.
30th June 2014, 03:02 AM |#7  
MasK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabret00the

530 is really nice, feels like what it's supposed to be. Fonts seem a little off though.

The font size can be changed in the settings to preference. Also, if you're using a 3rd-party launcher like Nova, you can change the grid and icon size to compensate
30th June 2014, 09:15 AM |#8  
sabret00the's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 496
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasK

The font size can be changed in the settings to preference. Also, if you're using a 3rd-party launcher like Nova, you can change the grid and icon size to compensate

True, but I think there's probably a sweet spot for me around 590 as 530 makes the phone feel like a phablet.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes