Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

OP seh6183

30th June 2014, 07:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
1,723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
30th June 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183

I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.

Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
Last edited by aooga; 30th June 2014 at 09:26 AM.
1st July 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
1,723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.

Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
1st July 2014, 06:22 PM   |  #4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183

Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?

Try system/CSC/features.xml EDIT: This might not be what you're looking for, but it's something. Sorry I guess I was wrong in saying that it can be enabled by a csc edit.

Change it to this:


Then reboot and you should get this I security.
Last edited by aooga; 1st July 2014 at 06:28 PM.
1st July 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
1,723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
1st July 2014, 06:55 PM   |  #6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183

I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.

It might not be toggled by a csc edit then. Why do you want it in the first place?
1st July 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #7  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 621
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-01-11-37-48.png
Views:	68
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	2827569  
Last edited by fffft; 11th November 2014 at 07:06 PM.
1st July 2014, 08:43 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
1,723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

I'm thinking that the part in bold could be your snag.

Seriously though, some carriers are enabling this and some are not. A serious flaw as universal availability of the feature would make it infinitely more effective.

You can enable it yourself by availing yourself to a custom ROM or by editing the properties XML. Once enabled, the menu shows up under Settings > General > Security

.

Damn what setting in the XML did you adjust? I was able to enable find my mobile and sim change notify but not the reactivation.

And lol yea maybe I should try this on an actual s5 and not my iPhone
1st July 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #9  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 621
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
..
Last edited by fffft; 11th November 2014 at 07:06 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes