Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,799 Members 47,677 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

Tip us?
 
seh6183
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 30th June 2014 at 08:26 AM.)
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
 
seh6183
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 1st July 2014 at 05:28 PM.)
#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
Try system/CSC/features.xml EDIT: This might not be what you're looking for, but it's something. Sorry I guess I was wrong in saying that it can be enabled by a csc edit.

Change it to this:


Then reboot and you should get this I security.
 
seh6183
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
#6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
It might not be toggled by a csc edit then. Why do you want it in the first place?
 
fffft
Old
#7  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 754
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.

Sent from my iPhone 4

I'm thinking that the part in bold could be your snag.

Seriously though, some carriers are enabling this and some are not. A serious flaw as universal availability of the feature would make it infinitely more effective.

You can enable it yourself by availing yourself to a custom ROM or by editing the properties XML. Once enabled, the menu shows up under Settings > General > Security

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-01-11-37-48.png
Views:	51
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	2827569  
 
seh6183
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft View Post
I'm thinking that the part in bold could be your snag.

Seriously though, some carriers are enabling this and some are not. A serious flaw as universal availability of the feature would make it infinitely more effective.

You can enable it yourself by availing yourself to a custom ROM or by editing the properties XML. Once enabled, the menu shows up under Settings > General > Security

.
Damn what setting in the XML did you adjust? I was able to enable find my mobile and sim change notify but not the reactivation.

And lol yea maybe I should try this on an actual s5 and not my iPhone
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
fffft
Old
(Last edited by fffft; 2nd July 2014 at 01:58 AM.)
#9  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 754
Join Date: Jul 2013
That was several dozen edits ago, so you should confirm the details in the development forum. But in short, edit feature.xml as already suggested. I don't recall if it was also essential to change the CSC.

Off the top of my head, there may be an alternate way to set it in /system/etc/permissions too. Or simply upgrade to a TMB compatible custom ROM such as Phoenix that already has reactivation lock enabled.

.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more