Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,852 Members 40,138 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

Tip us?
 
seh6183
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,547
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 30th June 2014 at 08:26 AM.)
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 823
Posts: 2,833
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
 
seh6183
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,547
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 1st July 2014 at 05:28 PM.)
#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 823
Posts: 2,833
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
Try system/CSC/features.xml EDIT: This might not be what you're looking for, but it's something. Sorry I guess I was wrong in saying that it can be enabled by a csc edit.

Change it to this:


Then reboot and you should get this I security.
 
seh6183
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,547
Join Date: Mar 2011
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
#6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 823
Posts: 2,833
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
It might not be toggled by a csc edit then. Why do you want it in the first place?
 
fffft
Old
#7  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 622
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.

Sent from my iPhone 4

I'm thinking that the part in bold could be your snag.

Seriously though, some carriers are enabling this and some are not. A serious flaw as universal availability of the feature would make it infinitely more effective.

You can enable it yourself by availing yourself to a custom ROM or by editing the properties XML. Once enabled, the menu shows up under Settings > General > Security

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-01-11-37-48.png
Views:	51
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	2827569  
 
seh6183
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,547
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft View Post
I'm thinking that the part in bold could be your snag.

Seriously though, some carriers are enabling this and some are not. A serious flaw as universal availability of the feature would make it infinitely more effective.

You can enable it yourself by availing yourself to a custom ROM or by editing the properties XML. Once enabled, the menu shows up under Settings > General > Security

.
Damn what setting in the XML did you adjust? I was able to enable find my mobile and sim change notify but not the reactivation.

And lol yea maybe I should try this on an actual s5 and not my iPhone
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
fffft
Old
(Last edited by fffft; 2nd July 2014 at 01:58 AM.)
#9  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 622
Join Date: Jul 2013
That was several dozen edits ago, so you should confirm the details in the development forum. But in short, edit feature.xml as already suggested. I don't recall if it was also essential to change the CSC.

Off the top of my head, there may be an alternate way to set it in /system/etc/permissions too. Or simply upgrade to a TMB compatible custom ROM such as Phoenix that already has reactivation lock enabled.

.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more