Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] clockwork recovery

OP ownagemaximus

18th January 2011, 01:20 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I need help getting clockwork recovery to work on my epic WITHOUT a computer. Don't tell me to install the drivers because I've tried that and it never works also plugged it into the back of the computer usb drives and it never works. I need to find a way for it to work so I can run the truely epic rom on my device. Is it possible to just rename the rom update.zip on the root of my sd card and flash the rom that way? And can I return to stock rom by doing the same method?
18th January 2011, 01:36 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag G'boro, NC!
Thanks Meter: 13
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownagemaximus

I need help getting clockwork recovery to work on my epic WITHOUT a computer. Don't tell me to install the drivers because I've tried that and it never works also plugged it into the back of the computer usb drives and it never works. I need to find a way for it to work so I can run the truely epic rom on my device. Is it possible to just rename the rom update.zip on the root of my sd card and flash the rom that way? And can I return to stock rom by doing the same method?

There is a program/app called z4root that I have read about. I'm not sure how the program works, but I think it may be what you are looking for.
18th January 2011, 01:39 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I have rooted the phone with that. I'm trying to get the phone into clockwork recovery so I can flash roms
Last edited by ownagemaximus; 18th January 2011 at 01:42 AM.
18th January 2011, 01:45 AM   |  #4  
Restola's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Try every USB port and try different USB cables.

It sounds silly (and it is) but it seems only certain combinations will work and its not always the default "back USB port and stock cable".

Also once your computer recognizes your phone is plugged in correctly, start odin BEFORE you plug your phone in. My odin doesn't recognize my phone if it's already plugged in.
18th January 2011, 01:52 AM   |  #5  
irule9000's Avatar
Senior Member
Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 56
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Of course the easiest way is to just download rom manager from the market. You should be able to install from there. Unforuntely that may not work because i have had issues with that but its worth a try . If that doesnt work try clicking on this linkhttp://www.koushikdutta.com/2010/02/clockwork-recovery-image.html and downloading it for the epic 4g. Rename with astro to update.zip. This is temporary method and you will have to re update every time you want to use clockwork mod. I have never used this before, u may have signature issues. I hope one of these works
18th January 2011, 01:53 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I've tried every usb port and every cable in my house and its not recognizing. I know I have the corect drivers...and I'm gonna stay away from odin I bricked my last epic with that.
18th January 2011, 02:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Tried you method. Didn't work. Went into rom manager and went into clockwork recovery reboot and went to the standard epic 4g recovery screen.
18th January 2011, 03:05 AM   |  #8  
MysteryEmotionz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Massachussets
Thanks Meter: 1,935
 
5,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
There is only one way to get cwm on your phone and that's with a pc. There is no other alternatives sorry.

Fyi: there's a update zip for dk28 that can be flashed threw the stock recovery. I've noticed my phone connects easier with dk28 then it does with di18
Sent From Da Hood.
18th January 2011, 06:07 PM   |  #9  
Whosdaman's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod / Recognized Developer / Contributor
Flag Gainesville, Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,426
 
5,650 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Please post questions in Q&A section.
18th January 2011, 06:30 PM   |  #10  
leatherneck6017's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 180
 
575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
With having the problems you seem to have and if you TRULY bricked your epic using odin (doubtful), then maybe this type of thing is not for you bud. Stick with stock.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes