Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,588 Members 45,400 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SCRIPT - 2/7/11] NookColor Auto Config (Windows) 1.0.0, 1.0.1 & 1.1.0

Tip us?
 
xboxexpert
Old
#51  
xboxexpert's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,144
Posts: 955
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nanuet NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Updated download links to reflect change in Youtube fix methods.
 
mistabusta
Old
#52  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxexpert View Post
use this command to fix youtube on 1.0.0 and 1.0.1 it will be implemented in my next revision.

adb shell busybox rm /data/data/com.google.andriod.youtube -r
Thank you again my friend. You have helped turn a great little piece of hardware into an awesome piece of hardware.

Have a Happy Holidays!
The Following User Says Thank You to mistabusta For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bartimeus
Old
#53  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 239
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Springfield
I ran the script to install and enable adb and that worked but then I tried to run this script and it gives an error that says something like "error: device not found". any ideas why that could be? Thanks and merry Christmas.
 
tnpapadakos
Old
#54  
tnpapadakos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,028
Posts: 2,879
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tampa

 
DONATE TO ME
5 stars
* * * * *

Really good work
 
xboxexpert
Old
#55  
xboxexpert's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,144
Posts: 955
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nanuet NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistabusta View Post
Thank you again my friend. You have helped turn a great little piece of hardware into an awesome piece of hardware.

Have a Happy Holidays!
Note: I spelled Android wrong in that command....just fix that and it will work perfectly.
 
leeh41
Old
(Last edited by leeh41; 7th January 2011 at 12:22 AM.)
#56  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 316
Join Date: Aug 2006
I kept getting an error and the NC would keep rebooting to an automatic data wipe if I tried to run the BN store. After 4 re-root processes, I finally found out what the cause was.

Disabling the OTA update seems to cause the authentication error if you try to launch the BN store.

I removed the below from your script, and it no longer causes the data wipe caused by the authentication error.

echo *************************
echo * Disabling OTA Updates *
echo *************************
adb shell mount -o rw,remount -t ext2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
adb shell mv /etc/security/otacerts.zip /etc/security/otacerts.zip_DISABLED_OTA_UPDATES
echo Success
ping -n 2 127.0.0.1 >NUL


I tested with 1.0, updated to 1.01, auto nooter, then auto-config.

EDIT: This post seems to be quoted a few times, but this is not the case. I later discovered that the reason for resets/authorization errors was due to using Titanium to recover data + apps. If you recover data associated with BN Apps, it causes the authorization error.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to leeh41 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xboxexpert
Old
#57  
xboxexpert's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,144
Posts: 955
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nanuet NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeh41 View Post
I kept getting an error and the NC would keep rebooting to an automatic data wipe if I tried to run the BN store. After 4 re-root processes, I finally found out what the cause was.

Disabling the OTA update seems to cause the authentication error if you try to launch the BN store.

I removed the below from your script, and it no longer causes the data wipe caused by the authentication error.

echo *************************
echo * Disabling OTA Updates *
echo *************************
adb shell mount -o rw,remount -t ext2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
adb shell mv /etc/security/otacerts.zip /etc/security/otacerts.zip_DISABLED_OTA_UPDATES
echo Success
ping -n 2 127.0.0.1 >NUL


I tested with 1.0, updated to 1.01, auto nooter, then auto-config.

Were you running this script AFTER your nook was registered and on the B&N Network? Also did you run the script AFTER you had Market working?
 
leeh41
Old
#58  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 316
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxexpert View Post
Were you running this script AFTER your nook was registered and on the B&N Network? Also did you run the script AFTER you had Market working?
Yes and Yes.

Ran Auto Nooter, youtube, gmail, market. download astro & titanium backup to verify. Test B&N Store.

After the authorization failed/clear data messages, I would do a factory reset to start from scratch.

Used your x8 reboot script, then reboot to clear data VOL+ and N. Auto nooter again, etc etc.

repeated the problem a few times.
 
ChaOConnor
Old
#59  
ChaOConnor's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 136
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Billerica, MA
Sorry if I'm being a bit dense, just want to make sure I'm going about this right.

My NC was at 1.0.1... I ran auto-nooter-2.12.25 on it, got everything working (YouTube, Market, etc.).

So with these scripts do I use the 1.0.1 script as that's what version my NC is? Do I still put it in my ADB directory and run "autonook"?

I've installed somethings like Facebook, etc. Do I need to uninstall them first before running this?

Thanks in advance for your help!

- Cha
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Tablet: Nexus 7



One of the Greatest Quotes Ever on this Forum
 
rvictorg
Old
#60  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 183
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaOConnor View Post
Sorry if I'm being a bit dense, just want to make sure I'm going about this right.

My NC was at 1.0.1... I ran auto-nooter-2.12.25 on it, got everything working (YouTube, Market, etc.).

So with these scripts do I use the 1.0.1 script as that's what version my NC is? Do I still put it in my ADB directory and run "autonook"?

I've installed somethings like Facebook, etc. Do I need to uninstall them first before running this?

Thanks in advance for your help!

- Cha
+1, I'm wondering the same thing. I have a stock NC with 1.0.1 and want to know the proper/easiest method to go about getting all this to work. Auto-nooter first, then immediately run this batch script, then get market working??

Also, is there a way to back up all the books and magazines I've already purchased? Or will they be unaffected after rooting and running this script?

Sorry for noob questions and if these have been answered already, appreciate any help
LG-P999
Weapon G2x 2.3


SE Xperia X10a
Wolf's Gingerbread ROM


Thanks to all the X10 devs - jerpelea,Bin4ry,goroh_kun,biktor_gj,Wolfbreak, and Z!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes