Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

UrukDroid 1.6 (Android) on ext4, full r/w access, su (root), SDE

OP $aur0n

5th January 2011, 10:58 AM   |  #101  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
@bthoven: Yes, that seems to be correct.

Using ext4 partitions greatly increases the speed of the device and the space you have for apps and data, so I recommend doing Step 3 too.
5th January 2011, 12:14 PM   |  #102  
$aur0n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 499
 
1,453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Hi!

I've updated release mod to 0.2 - anyone brave enough to try

Perhaps some future request? - I'm quite happy with this what I've made so far and have no real, big ideas for next releases (perhaps this adhoc and clean OC).
The Following User Says Thank You to $aur0n For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2011, 12:35 PM   |  #103  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by $aur0n

Hi!

I've updated release mod to 0.2 - anyone brave enough to try

Perhaps some future request? - I'm quite happy with this what I've made so far and have no real, big ideas for next releases (perhaps this adhoc and clean OC).

Ahm... yes, will do, but not before 5 hours from now. I need my linux vm to replace the files on the first ext4 partition, and I don't have access to it from here.

Are you sure about 50 MiByte swap? Seems akward low to me. Or did you just miss the second zero after the 50?

One thing I think would be very useful: IPtables support. Otherwhise adblock doesn't work.
5th January 2011, 12:36 PM   |  #104  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
711 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
More
so is it worthwhile upgrading my current class 4 microsd card to something better? given that the benchmarks i have run on the card (currently fat32) within my 101 are hideous compared to benchmarking the same card from a different device (desire/pc)
5th January 2011, 12:47 PM   |  #105  
nimrodity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,177
 
4,342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
i think i am gonna try getting root like bthoven explained,but it all sounds a bit hard for me,but I'll try my luck.

Sent from my A70S using the XDA mobile application powered by Tapatalk
5th January 2011, 12:47 PM   |  #106  
$aur0n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 499
 
1,453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kashban

Are you sure about 50 MiByte swap? Seems akward low to me. Or did you just miss the second zero after the 50?

Nope - it's not mistake. Since Android has autokiller for tasks, usually it will first kill then let it go swap. Like for now I've newer been able to use more then 50MiB of swap. Try it out - (free command in sh).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kashban

One thing I think would be very useful: IPtables support. Otherwhise adblock doesn't work.

It's already there in 0.2 (/usr/local/bin/iptables) - haven't mentioned it because I've disabled it in kernel (I had not idea it can be useful on Archos) - will put it back in next rel.
5th January 2011, 01:06 PM   |  #107  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by $aur0n

Nope - it's not mistake. Since Android has autokiller for tasks, usually it will first kill then let it go swap. Like for now I've newer been able to use more then 50MiB of swap. Try it out - (free command in sh).


It's already there in 0.2 (/usr/local/bin/iptables) - haven't mentioned it because I've disabled it in kernel (I had not idea it can be useful on Archos) - will put it back in next rel.

From what I experienced my swap was used for one or two MiBytes worth of bits, but I didn't measure it during heavy duty. Will see if I can crank it up by starting some games, the amiga emulator and a web browser with some complex pages opened. Anyhow, with at least 8 GiBytes flash memory onboard and even more on sd cards, I don't see the point in keeping it so low. Doesn't hurt to have more around like, say 256 MiByte.

iptables are essential for adblock and droidwall. Both are very useful to keep traffic low and apps away from the internet.
5th January 2011, 01:45 PM   |  #108  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,035 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by $aur0n

Hi!

I've updated release mod to 0.2 - anyone brave enough to try

Perhaps some future request? - I'm quite happy with this what I've made so far and have no real, big ideas for next releases (perhaps this adhoc and clean OC).

I should be getting my new Archos delivered today and will try. Thats as brave as you can get

Ideas for next release
1) Probably script some of the steps so that they are easier for folks like me. I am from IT but still a bit confused by what we are doing because I am not familiar with tablets or linux/android.
2) Start thinking of a custom ROM - Would that be possible?
5th January 2011, 01:53 PM   |  #109  
$aur0n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 499
 
1,453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kashban

iptables are essential for adblock and droidwall. Both are very useful to keep traffic low and apps away from the internet.

Have you tried this method (changing DNS address of some add servers in /etc/hosts - so system can't connect to them and get adds?) - since it's rooted it should work easily.

btw. I've recompiled and checked for adds - iptables works without a problem (ver 0.3)
5th January 2011, 02:12 PM   |  #110  
nimrodity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,177
 
4,342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
damn with no knowledge of linux its harder than i thought.
1st thing i dont know how how create the sd card(do i need linux for this,or is it possible with windows)
tried bthoven step but i think something wrong there.
He creates the card after getting root,but how can i start the rooted android without the sd card.
I followed his step till point 17,but other than the archos logo showing up nothing happens.
But till this point i didnt even use the rootfs.tar.gz so how should something boot up,just with flashing the kernel and initramfs.cpio.gz,because i believe i need the rootfs.tar.gz extracted on the created sd,or am i wrong?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
archos, ext4, gen8, root, urukdroid
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes