FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Evo Shift 4g 01/09/2011 + Video Review

n/a posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By sirmx, Guest on 4th January 2011, 03:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
9th January 2011, 08:18 PM |#41  
BrandoKC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 287
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaqkAudio

How can the Sabor be vaporware if it was never announced in the first place? It was a rumor and is still a rumor.

Second, Qualcomm has 2 dual-core chips, one for HSPA+ (MSM8260) and one for HSPA+/EV-DO Rev B (MSM8660). They announced them back in June.

What I'm saying is that the Sabor does not exist. Otherwise there would be something to substantiate it by now.
I agree that there will be dual core devices, but it looks like they aren't currently as far along as the competitors.

Thank you for pointing out that they have dual core processors. I think a lot of us were under the assumption that they didn't, but you are correct. So hopefully we can dispel that myth.

With all the dual core devices that were unveiled this week I would assume that HTC would have shown something if they had it.
Again, I'm not saying that they won't have something by the end of Q2 or by Q3, but they definitely appear to be behind the curve.
 
 
9th January 2011, 08:36 PM |#42  
BrandoKC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 287
 
Donate to Me
More
I've created three new threads in the XDA general section in an attempt to streamline all Evo Shift discussions.

Root and Development
Issues
General Discussion
9th January 2011, 09:07 PM |#43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandoKC

What I'm saying is that the Sabor does not exist. Otherwise there would be something to substantiate it by now.
I agree that there will be dual core devices, but it looks like they aren't currently as far along as the competitors.

Thank you for pointing out that they have dual core processors. I think a lot of us were under the assumption that they didn't, but you are correct. So hopefully we can dispel that myth.

With all the dual core devices that were unveiled this week I would assume that HTC would have shown something if they had it.
Again, I'm not saying that they won't have something by the end of Q2 or by Q3, but they definitely appear to be behind the curve.

I have a feeling that no one has used Qualcomm's dual-cores because of the Tegra 2. Also, it could be that HTC is waiting for Qualcomm's newer dual-core Snapdragons which will have Adreno 3xx.
10th January 2011, 01:01 AM |#44  
FrozenRiff's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 4,697
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaqkAudio

I have a feeling that no one has used Qualcomm's dual-cores because of the Tegra 2. Also, it could be that HTC is waiting for Qualcomm's newer dual-core Snapdragons which will have Adreno 3xx.

I hope you're right! I read on another thread that Sprint usually announces its high end phones at CTIA in March. I really hope this happens!
10th January 2011, 04:11 AM |#45  
mrinehart93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 299
 
Donate to Me
More
I tried out the Shift today in a Sprint store, and surprisingly, I thought the Optimus S was a lot quicker and snappier than the Shift.
sirmx
10th January 2011, 01:37 PM |#46  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrinehart93

I tried out the Shift today in a Sprint store, and surprisingly, I thought the Optimus S was a lot quicker and snappier than the Shift.

You can blame HTC Sense for the bloated feeling
10th January 2011, 09:17 PM |#47  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I used the VISIONary app for root. Set it on temp root at boot and it works for root necessary apps such as wireless tether (little slower than at home wifi but a great backup if I have my computer away from a wireless source), shoot me, set cpu, even quick boot
10th January 2011, 09:39 PM |#48  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Anyones phone running a little funky sometimes messing with root? When the phone boots back up it is really laggy but smooths back out after a couple minutes
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes