5,596,235 Members 36,006 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TIPS] Save RAM with HTC Sense UPDATE 6/3/11

Tip us?
 
olyloh6696
Old
(Last edited by olyloh6696; 6th March 2011 at 05:17 PM.) Reason: Update! 6/3/11
#1  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,561
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Exclamation [TIPS] Save RAM with HTC Sense UPDATE 6/3/11

Hi,
I am going to make a big thread for tips and tricks on saving RAM on HTC Sense/TouchFlo3D. Unless you have a HD2; you will experience a low amount of RAM when running Sense. It simply uses alot of resources. Here I have compiled my own list of tweaks I have found! If you have any, please add them to this thread!

1) Deactivate Unnecessary Tabs - Each Tab takes up it's own amount of RAM. I find deactivating them makes sense faster, and uses less RAM

Disable the Settings tab:
\HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\Manila\Configuration\*
Search for the folder with the number that's the settings page (PageName = Manila:/settings.page).
Change Enable from 1 to 0

Disable the unused services:
\\HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\Manila\Services\*
- AppointmentService
- AudioManagerService
- CameraAlbumService
- Contacts
- HomeService
- LauncherService
- Messaging
- SettingService (be sure to first disable the tab)
- TwitterService
- WeatherService
- WorldClockService
- YgosrvService (Stock tab)

Change the service.dll to something like serviceXXX.XXX

How To use them:
Try them not all at once, disable a service and test Sense (restart/disable, enable on homescreen)
Example: For some reason if you rename AudioManagerService the homescreen doesn't work and sense won't start.

2) Deactivate HTC Volume Control - Saves you 2mb of RAM, Added at end of post

3) Deactivate Manilla Dialer - Saves 10mb RAM,
Delete this two RegKeys
REG KEY Registry\HKLM\SECURITY\PHONE\SKIN\
REG KEY Registry\HKLM\SECURITY\PHONE\SmartDial\
You will have the default WM dialer!
Warning: Back up your Reg keys if you want to get it back!

4) Kill AlbumSearcher.exe and AudioSearcher.exe - Saves up to 6mb RAM
After using Music/Photo Tabs, use MMTaskmanager (attached to end of post) and kill these .exes. Don't worry, they won't cause any damage to your phone.

5) Don't Use Landscape Mode - using Landscape mode has to load up all the individual tabs again and takes more RAM up. [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HTC\Manila]
"EnableLandscape"="true" - Change ''true'' to ''false''

6) Try not to use Manilla Mods! - a pretty self-explanatory one, but i tend not to use these as they make the device unusable for me and freeze my phone up alot. They are great apps though!(e.g - Co0kie's Home Tab) They were built in mind for the HD2 with 576mb RAM. They are nice UI's but would you rather have more RAM to run more apps?

9) Disable Start-Menu in WM6.5.x - Saves 10-25mb RAM
Disable it but install Miro's startmenu replacement OR Kenia1234 Start-Menu Replacement which uses no RAM!

10) Disable WM6.5.x Lock Screen - Saves 5mb RAM
Uses the default WM6.1 lock screen which uses no RAM. Start > Settings > Lock > Windows Classic

11) Disable HTC Notification Manager - Saves 4mb RAM:
HKLM\Services\NotificationManager\Flags = 4

12) Disable HTC Notifications Enhancer :
HKLM\System\Shell\Notification\OEM\UseDefaultUI = 1
or
Remove HKLM\System\Shell\Notification\OEM

13) Disable HTC Menu :
HKLM\System\GWE\Menu\CUIHandler = 0

14) Disable HTC Date Picker :
Remove the key : HKLM\System\GWE\Commctrl\CustomDateTimeCtrl

15) Disable HTC Task Icons (battery, signal level...) & Pin Dialer :
Remove the key : HKLM\Security\ResOver\Bitmaps

16) Use 'lighter' ROMs - Using WM6.1 uses less resources than WM6.5. I find using WM6.1 I have more RAM, speed and better benchmark performances than WM6.5. I use this on my TG01. (used to on Touch HD)

17) Close programs when not in use! :P - Cannot believe I left this out in the other updates, but this is the most obvious one! Close apps when you really don't need them.

18) Use Standard WM Taskbars. i was using some custom Taskbars a few months back. Although they look great, I foud out they take up RAM. I decided to go back to the standard WM taskbar. 2mb RAM saved.

19) Disable Sense Temporarily When Running Heavy Apps - I found out that Opera Mobile 10 takes up a whooping 50mb RAM in use! With Sense + Opera running I have a mere 9Mb RAM to play with. So a simple tip, disable Sense in the today settings or 'mskips Today Screen Switcher' when using opera. When you finish browsing, simply enable it again. This also increases battery performance.

More to come... If you have any, please post in this thread!
NB: These could also potentially increase battery performance! Feel free to share your experiences in the thread

Check out post 2 for the warnings and problems... If in doubt, don't use them! :P

P.S- If you use these, please hit the Thanks Button, it will be much appreciated!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
The Following 91 Users Say Thank You to olyloh6696 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olyloh6696
Old
(Last edited by olyloh6696; 8th February 2011 at 10:11 PM.)
#2  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,561
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Exclamation Credits And Reference

Credits
First Of all, I would like to thank all the devs who made/discovered these tweaks. (however I found a few too! :P) I have simply compiled them.

Thanks to contributors: bigchrizzieboy, cjbarth

Thanks to the devs: Kenia1234, Mirolg, Matt Armstrong, HallengreeN, maximusmobile, meltwater Also to orb3000 for putting this on the XDA portal to let users know! (you can also feature this update if you wish!)

Any others I have forgot, please let me know!

References
Thanks to Joe Bleau for the idea of posting links to the original threads, for extra support for individual encounters.

[MOD][Kenia Sense StartMenu][WVGA Only]

[miROM_APP] StartMenuReplacement (full Prog + Settingsmenu) + 10 MB free RAM back

[APP] MMTaskManager 2.3 - Full task manager (WM 6.5, 6.5.x)

Also feel free to use these and report them back in the thread; but I take no responsibility if you end up spoiling your phone! (most unlikely though - can be easily rectified worst case scenario is a hard reset - but just in case :P)
Removing the startmenu will mean you can't access your programs.. make sure you have sense enabled and know what you are doing! Always have a backup
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to olyloh6696 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olyloh6696
Old
#3  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,561
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Reserved again!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to olyloh6696 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bigchrizzieboy
Old
(Last edited by bigchrizzieboy; 24th January 2011 at 08:12 AM.) Reason: more tips added
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 439
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Amsterdam
Thumbs up I like this post, what I also do

First off all, thanks
Didn't know all of them.
Hope to see all the REG-tweaks to be complete so I can speed up my "old" Touch Pro 2

Disable the setting tab:
\\HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\Manila\Configuration\*
search for the folder with the number that's the settings page (PageName = Manila:/settings.page).
Change Enable from 1 to 0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Disable the unused services:
\\HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\Manila\Services\*
- AppointmentService
- AudioManagerService
- CameraAlbumService
- contacts
- HomeService
- LauncherService
- messaging
- SettingService (be sure to first disable the tab)
- TwitterService
- WeatherService
- WorldClockService
- YgosrvService (Stock tab)

Change the service.dll to something like serviceXXX.XXX

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HOW TO use them:
Try them not all at once, disable an service and test Sense (restart/disable, enable on homescreen)
example: For some reason if you rename AudioManagerService the homescreen doesn't work and sense won't start.
I only rename the YgosrvService and SettingService (don't use them).
got a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 [N8000]
Samsung Galaxy S3 - with a CM11 - 4.4.2 ROM (flashing "daily")
Desire HD <-- broken
Loved and flashed my TP2 for years...
Sorry for the bad english, I'm from the Netherlands
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to bigchrizzieboy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olyloh6696
Old
#5  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,561
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigchrizzieboy View Post
First off all, thanks
Didn't know all of them.
Hope to see all the REG-tweaks to be complete so I can speed up my "old" Touch Pro 2

Disable the setting tab:
\\HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\Manila\Configuration\*
search for the folder with the number that's the settings page (PageName = Manila:/settings.page).
Change Enable from 1 to 0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Disable the unused services:
\\HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\Manila\Services\*
- AppointmentService
- AudioManagerService
- CameraAlbumService
- contacts
- HomeService
- LauncherService
- messaging
- SettingService (be sure to first disable the tab)
- TwitterService
- WeatherService
- WorldClockService
- YgosrvService (Stock tab)

Change the service.dll to something like serviceXXX.XXX

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HOW TO use them:
Try them not all at once, disable an service and test Sense (restart/disable, enable on homescreen)
example: For some reason if you rename AudioManagerService the homescreen doesn't work and sense won't start.
I only rename the YgosrvService and SettingService (don't use them).
Thanks mate! I will add them to the original post when i get home later today (thanks for the thanks too!)
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to olyloh6696 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olyloh6696
Old
#6  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,561
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Forgot to say, those using Kenia1234 Startmenu will find no RAM gain. you have to disable wm start menu first! there is a cab called Arto Start Menu disabler, search for that, instsll (make sure sense is enabled or you cant get to your phone upon reboot!) install Kenias mod, reboot. And you should have 10Mb+ Extra RAM! Will add Artos mod soon, along woth other tweaks
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
 
Blauvster
Old
#7  
Blauvster's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2008
I had no idea Windows Start Menu ate up so much RAM... Looks like I will be using this tip. I recommend MMAppLaunch. It is currently taking up 3.42MBs of RAM on my Touch Pro 2.
 
MNr2064
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2010
link not work
 
bigchrizzieboy
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 439
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Amsterdam
Default please update this great thread

Hi,

Please try to update the REG tweaks as I want to use them
Some usefull Manila Stuff

DIRECT LINKS TO TABS:
\windows\manila.exe --switchtopage home.page
Instead of "home.page" you can use:
•messaging.page
•weather.page
•people.page
•email.page
•album.page
•music.page
•internet.page
•settings.page
•programs.page
•callhistory.page

REMAP MANILA SOFTKEYS:
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKPath
which is the left softkey
And
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeRSKPath, which is the right softkey.
If you change these with the location of the programs you want to link to, and simultaneous change the names:
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKText = Left softkey text
And
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeRSKText = Right softkey text.

Example:
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKPath: "\windows\manila.exe"
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKText: "E-Mail"
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKArguments: "--switchtopage email.page"

You can use any other program (I've mapped a taskmanager to the Left Softkey)
got a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 [N8000]
Samsung Galaxy S3 - with a CM11 - 4.4.2 ROM (flashing "daily")
Desire HD <-- broken
Loved and flashed my TP2 for years...
Sorry for the bad english, I'm from the Netherlands
The Following User Says Thank You to bigchrizzieboy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olyloh6696
Old
#10  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,561
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigchrizzieboy View Post
Hi,

Please try to update the REG tweaks as I want to use them
Some usefull Manila Stuff

DIRECT LINKS TO TABS:
\windows\manila.exe --switchtopage home.page
Instead of "home.page" you can use:
•messaging.page
•weather.page
•people.page
•email.page
•album.page
•music.page
•internet.page
•settings.page
•programs.page
•callhistory.page

REMAP MANILA SOFTKEYS:
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKPath
which is the left softkey
And
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeRSKPath, which is the right softkey.
If you change these with the location of the programs you want to link to, and simultaneous change the names:
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKText = Left softkey text
And
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeRSKText = Right softkey text.

Example:
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKPath: "\windows\manila.exe"
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKText: "E-Mail"
HKLM/Software/HTC/manila/HomeLSKArguments: "--switchtopage email.page"

You can use any other program (I've mapped a taskmanager to the Left Softkey)
yes, sorry about that mate, i will update this weekend or tommorow when i get my pc back, thanks for you contribution guys, that Home Softkey assignment - thanks i forgot about that,
i have more to add soon aswell,!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!

The Following User Says Thank You to olyloh6696 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
blackstone, hd2, htc, ram, sense, tg01, tweak
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes