Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,416 Members 39,780 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Custom scripts for Archangel root for firmware 2.0.71, 2.1.02, 2.1.03, 2.1.04, 2.1.08

Tip us?
 
wdl1908
Old
(Last edited by wdl1908; 17th February 2011 at 03:52 PM.) Reason: firmware 2.1.08 and attachements
#1  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 384
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Custom scripts for Archangel root for firmware 2.0.71, 2.1.02, 2.1.03, 2.1.04, 2.1.08

Finally we have a method to obtain root that does not involve installing the SDE and that works on at least three different firmware versions. 2.0.71, 2.1.02, 2.1.03, 2.1.08. For all the details see http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=928767
This program has the possibility to execute a script after root is acquired. See the readme.txt of Archangel v2.
Quote:
You can create a script in /sdcard/sdcard/extraroot.sh and this will be executed as root
whenever you reboot, so you can use this to do any additional root functions you want.
If you make an error with this script which causes you a problem then you can eject your
sd card and reboot and it then will not execute.
NOTE: For windows users. Please use Notepad++ to edit the extraroot.sh and convert the file to unix format. In the menu choose "Format" -> "Convert to UNIX Format". This option is available with version v5.1.4 of Notepad++ it has been reported that it's not available in other versions.

Please post the firmware version, your script and a little description here.

Firmware 2.1.02, 2.1.03, 2.1.04,2.1.08 - Disable Swap

Swap is automatically enabled in these firmware versions.
Code:
swapoff /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
To verify that swap is turned off go to the Terminal Emulator and type free
Code:
/ $ free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:       243824       230972        12852            0         4332
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:       243824       230972        12852
Another way to turn off swap permanently without using the a script is to disable the swap service. This can be done from within the Terminal Emulator with the following commands
Code:
$su
#setprop persist.sys.archos.swapctl.en 0
Then reboot the device.
This only needs to be done once.

Firmware 2.0.71, 2.1.02, 2.1.03, 2.1.04, 2.1.08 - Disable ads

Disable ads. This was posted by archaism1 here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post10941853
Code:
cat <<EOF >/tmp/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.0.1 pagead2.googlesyndication.com pagead.l.google.com googleads.g.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 api.admob.com mm.admob.com r.admob.com mob.adwhirl.com cus.adwhirl.com met.adwhirl.com
EOF
mount --bind /tmp/hosts /etc/hosts
I have not tested this myself because I think the devs of applications need the ads to make some money.

Firmware 2.1.02, 2.1.03, 2.1.04, 2.1.08 - Swap on sd-card

Disable swap on internal storage and create a swap file on sd-card. The swap is 256Mb big to change the size just adjust the 256 value in the script.

ATTENTION: it can take a few minutes the first time the script is executed.
Code:
swapoff /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
if [ ! -f /sdcard/sdcard/myswap ] 
  then
    echo "Creating swap file"
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/sdcard/sdcard/myswap bs=1M count=256
    mkswap /sdcard/sdcard/myswap
fi
swapon /sdcard/sdcard/myswap
And here the result of free
Code:
# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:       243824       241432         2392            0         6232
 Swap:       262136          320       261816
Total:       505960       241752       264208
WARNING: if you use a swapfile, which is described here, you can't use a usb connection to copy files without disabling the swap with the following command.
Code:
$su
#swapoff /sdcard/sdcard/myswap
Credit for this goes to http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=74&t=42718

Hondaracer posted some scripts I'll include them as attachments
Attached Files
File Type: rar Disable Ads and Enable Swap on SD.rar - [Click for QR Code] (334 Bytes, 150 views)
File Type: rar Disable Ads and Swap.rar - [Click for QR Code] (247 Bytes, 69 views)
File Type: rar Disable Ads.rar - [Click for QR Code] (225 Bytes, 119 views)
File Type: rar Disable Swap.rar - [Click for QR Code] (104 Bytes, 76 views)
File Type: rar Enable Swap on SD.rar - [Click for QR Code] (224 Bytes, 131 views)
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to wdl1908 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wdl1908
Old
(Last edited by wdl1908; 17th February 2011 at 07:02 PM.)
#2  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 384
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Advanced stuff.

Loading kernel modules.

There was a post in another thread about CifsManager here
chulri was so kind as to build the module. You can download it here.

Unzip the downloaded file and place it in a directory under /sdcard I suggest /sdcard/modules/

Add the following code to the extraroot.sh
Code:
insmod /sdcard/modules/cifs.ko
and reboot.
Now you can install CifsManager and start mapping drives.
The Following User Says Thank You to wdl1908 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wdl1908
Old
(Last edited by wdl1908; 3rd March 2011 at 09:14 PM.)
#3  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 384
Join Date: Dec 2010
Disable swap without using scripts
In Terminal Emulator execute following commands
Code:
$su
#setprop persist.sys.archos.swapctl.en 0
 
ben.daccache
Old
(Last edited by Mr. Clown; 29th January 2011 at 05:46 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2009
I have to create a file named extraroot.sh and and put it in /sdcard/sdcard ?
Do I need to make it executable ? (chmod +x)
Does it work only with permanent root ?
Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to ben.daccache For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wdl1908
Old
#5  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 384
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben.daccache View Post
I have to create a file named extraroot.sh and and put it in /sdcard/sdcard ?
Do I need to make it executable ? (chmod +x)
Does it work only with permanent root ?
Thanks
You don't need to make it executable it's executed with sh /sdcard/sdcard/extraroot.sh

And you don't need the permanent root option either. It is also executed when you push the button.
 
popy2006
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 459
Join Date: Mar 2007
Have tried your "Disable ads" script and it works perfect
No ads.

Why disable swap? Is there any reason?

cu
pOpY

PS: is there any way to increase the app storage size without using urkdroid?
 
wdl1908
Old
#7  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 384
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by popy2006 View Post
Have tried your "Disable ads" script and it works perfect
No ads.
Good to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by popy2006 View Post
Why disable swap? Is there any reason?
There is some concern that swap on internal flash may reduce the lifetime of the flash. i just posted a way to enable swap on the sd-card . This is safer as the sdcard can be replaced the internal flash can not be replaced.

Quote:
Originally Posted by popy2006 View Post
Is there any way to increase the app storage size without using urkdroid?
I'll look into it but i doubt it.
The Following User Says Thank You to wdl1908 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
popy2006
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 459
Join Date: Mar 2007
oh, thats a good reason to disable swap on the internal flash.
But i dont have an sdcard yet

Why then archos enables the swap default?

cu
pOpY
 
wdl1908
Old
#9  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 384
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by popy2006 View Post
oh, thats a good reason to disable swap on the internal flash.
But i dont have an sdcard yet

Why then archos enables the swap default?
I have no idea why this was enabled by default. You have to ask Archos.
 
Mod57
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 102
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Swap

Will Swapper for Root or Swapper 2 (for root user) do the same thing for us noob's?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes