FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

TS Translator [Lite] [FREE]

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By lwjkkk, Junior Member on 1st February 2011, 07:13 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
TS Translator [Lite] [FREE]

What is the most necessary thing for a trip in abroad or learning languages?

★TS Translator supports 2 languages (two of Korean,English,Japanese,Chinese,French,German,Span ish,Thai,Indonesian,Vietnamese), so

you can communicate with foreigners.

★60,000+ expressions in native voices

★Today's talk widget

★Replacable words

★Major Features
*2-way translation in 2 languages with voice
*60,000+ expressions in 12 categories
*Replacable words in expressions
*Today's talk widget
*Listen all
*Ask&reply
*Favorite&recent list
*Flip to listen
*Send translation by email or SMS



The Following User Says Thank You to lwjkkk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
1st February 2011, 07:16 AM |#2  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,054
 
Donate to Me
More
Super!
This will become handy when traveling
Thanks
10th February 2011, 02:32 PM |#3  
Crussader's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,610
 
Donate to Me
More
does it require a data connection?
10th February 2011, 02:54 PM |#4  
GchildT's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 81
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crussader

does it require a data connection?

In the permissions, It states "Full Internet Access" as one of the requirments. So I'm sure it needs a constant data connection while you're using it.
10th February 2011, 05:47 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 32
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm more than happy to try this out and see if I can help, but would you mind talking about what translation engine is powering this? Are you aware of it's accuracy? Some of these type of apps suck and will lead people astray.

TIA.
10th February 2011, 06:07 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
It looks really nice, but isn't this basically the same as Google Translate?
10th February 2011, 08:38 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
tried it without data connection and it still works.
10th February 2011, 11:35 PM |#8  
Archpope's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OC, CA
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Thumbs down Uninstalled it after 5 minutes.
I understand that the point of a "Lite" version is that it doesn't come with a complete feature set compared to the version that's for sale. That's fair enough.

However, the way to find out what it will translate and what it won't is not trial and error. The Lite version should indicate clearly what it's prepared to translate, either by graying out the unavailable choices or not displaying them at all. Had I tried to use this in an actual translation situation instead of at home, it could have caused a lot of embarrassment at the very least.

Also, if it had a way to use your voice to input phrases instead of digging through a situational dictionary, it was not apparent how to activate it.
11th February 2011, 01:49 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This would be even better if it had Spanish.
11th February 2011, 02:39 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
works like charm on desire Z
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes