FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[MOD] DL30 Data Throttle Remover

224 posts
Thanks Meter: 106
 
By drod2169, Senior Member on 1st February 2011, 11:26 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
3rd February 2011, 06:31 AM |#41  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,088
 
Donate to Me
More
Is my other post about the mod source and their conclusions on testing invisible?
 
 
3rd February 2011, 06:35 AM |#42  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,596
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imnuts

I believe I found the source, see here. Based on some of the posts that I read in that thread, this isn't going to do anything. The mod came from the Epic, and apparently only works on T-Mobile (USA) or Bell (Canada) and does nothing for anyone else. If you experience an increase in data speed, it's likely just a placebo. Will installing this hurt? Probably not, but not installing it doesn't look like it's going to do anything either.

EDIT: First post of that thread is almost verbatim what is in the first post here. Pages 11-13 seem to have most of the useful info on this working/not working.

Yeah this is an age old hack that honestly I've never seen help any female user. I went ahead and added it to superclean because people form their opinions regardless what facts show.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using XDA App
3rd February 2011, 06:36 AM |#43  
Member
Flag Boise
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by destroyerbmx

That sounds like america



Blue Super Froyo
3rd February 2011, 02:50 PM |#44  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
http://m.bgr.com/2011/02/03/verizon-...-starts-today/
3rd February 2011, 05:33 PM |#45  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOsquid

http://m.bgr.com/2011/02/03/verizon-...-starts-today/

Yeah, I was going to link this.

If VZ didn't throttle before, they do now.
3rd February 2011, 06:06 PM |#46  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Wow.....

Sent from my SCH-I500 using XDA App
3rd February 2011, 08:51 PM |#47  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,088
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s44

Yeah, I was going to link this.

If VZ didn't throttle before, they do now.

And this is going to be done entirely on the backend I'd imagine, so this mod would still be useless.
3rd February 2011, 11:18 PM |#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/03/v...dth-hogs-down/
4th February 2011, 12:59 AM |#49  
Senior Member
Flag Roseville
Thanks Meter: 15
 
Donate to Me
More
I think I'm being throttled. I'll check speeds again when I get home.



Sent from my Samsung Fascinate
4th February 2011, 01:12 AM |#50  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
The speedtest app sucks, honestly. Try using speedtest.net/speedtest in the browser instead.

The speedtest app can be returned to some semblance of normal operation by clearing the app's cache and data, or reinstalling.
4th February 2011, 01:38 AM |#51  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
If this uses the same trick modifying services.jar that the incredible data throttle remover uses, it may work.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using XDA App

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes