Post Reply

Motorola Xoom Overclocked: 1.5GHz Dual Core Honeycomb! [v2 2/28]

OP coolbho3000

27th February 2011, 06:33 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 764
 
886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Please do not flash this on the WiFi only Xoom yet. An update will be coming. In the meantime, you can just recompile the source from my github and it should work on the WiFi only Xoom.

I have successfully brought the Tegra 2 in the Xoom to 1.5GHz. A few kernel modifications make the dual core chip in the Xoom even more powerful than the recently announced Tegra 2 3D! 1.5GHz through two Cortex A9 cores is truly a force to be reckoned with.

2/28: Applied L2 prefetching patch. This increases Linpack to about 63 MFLOPS @ 1.5GHz. Flash the kernel and push the wifi module again: http://www.setcpu.com/files/xoom_ocboot_v2.zip (thanks ccfries for the heads up!!!)

Instructions:
1. Make sure you've unlocked your Xoom's bootloader for flashing first, then root it.
2. Grab this zip and extract it. It includes a boot.img with the overclocked kernel and a corresponding wifi module: http://www.setcpu.com/files/xoom_ocboot_v2.zip. Thanks to Koush for the rooted ramdisk in this boot.img!
3. Reboot into the bootloader by running:
adb reboot bootloader
4. Flash the boot image to your boot partition, then boot back into Android by running:
fastboot flash boot xoom_ocboot.img
fastboot reboot
5. Push the bcm4329.ko to your /system/lib/modules folder and reboot to re-enable wifi:
adb remount
adb push bcm4329.ko /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko
adb reboot


The usual disclaimers apply here. Only do this if you know what you're doing. Though the long term stability/reliability of similar overclocks on other Android based ARM devices is known, this software is provided with no warranty, and I can't be held responsible if you fry your Xoom or anything.

The kernel defaults to 1GHz max for safety, and also includes 1.2GHz and 1.4GHz steps in addition to the 1.504GHz step. I've also updated SetCPU to support the Xoom, so grab that (I know the interface currently looks bad on the Xoom; a tablet optimized interface is coming soon!). SetCPU versions prior to 2.1.1 will not work for setting speeds on the Xoom.

Source code: Based on Google's android-tegra-2.6.36-honeycomb with some overclock specific modifications by me.

Video:

Screenshots:


I get ~47 MFLOPS in Linpack for Android, 35 MFLOPS stock. Linpack seems to hit a wall somewhere and isn't really accurate for the Xoom:


I get ~355ms in SetCPU's native bench (C only, the Tegra 2 sadly doesn't support NEON), ~534ms stock. This scaled almost precisely with clock speed, but the native bench isn't multithreaded:


3105 in Quadrant at 1.5GHz, compared to 2226 stock (though Quadrant tests more than just the CPU):


Keep in mind that the benchmarks I tested often aren't multithreaded enough to show a large difference between the Xoom's Tegra 2 and a similarly clocked single core Cortex A8. Some operations benefit more from the Cortex A9's improved architecture and/or the two cores more than others.

Enjoy your even faster Xoom!
Last edited by coolbho3000; 27th March 2011 at 11:03 PM.
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to coolbho3000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2011, 07:07 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Niiiiiceeee work! How about stabilty? is it stable at that speed? good for everyday work?
27th February 2011, 07:17 PM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 13
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Holy sheep ****! A 50% overclock is very impressive. Nice job, here's to hoping overclocking eventually makes it's way to the Atrix.
27th February 2011, 07:19 PM   |  #4  
Account currently disabled
Southern California
Thanks Meter: 42
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Just awesome!
The Following User Says Thank You to Aaron636r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2011, 07:21 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
amazing work. I flashed it, and it's working great!
Last edited by whiteblazer00; 27th February 2011 at 07:35 PM.
27th February 2011, 07:25 PM   |  #6  
nice work! Going to give this a shot now
27th February 2011, 07:38 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
I get to step 5:

5. Push the bcm4329.ko to your /system/lib/modules folder and reboot to re-enable wifi:
adb remount
adb push bcm4329.ko /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko
adb reboot

and get error: device not found. isn't bcm4329.ko suppose to be in tools folder?
27th February 2011, 07:39 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
actually how do I push the bcm4329.ko to /system/lib/modules folder
27th February 2011, 07:41 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 764
 
886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bishop72

I get to step 5:

5. Push the bcm4329.ko to your /system/lib/modules folder and reboot to re-enable wifi:
adb remount
adb push bcm4329.ko /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko
adb reboot

and get error: device not found. isn't bcm4329.ko suppose to be in tools folder?

ADB doesn't seem to be able to find your Xoom. Sometimes you can just unplug it and plug it back in and run adb kill-server to get it to detect again, and/or re-enable USB debugging.

As for stability, I did not have crashes at 1.5GHz on my Xoom.
The Following User Says Thank You to coolbho3000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2011, 07:43 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
how do you run adb kill server

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xoom Android Development by ThreadRank