Thread Closed

[Android 2.2-3+] Killswitch for tablets and phones with cases [12 May]]

OP ftgg99

10th March 2011, 05:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
MOD EDIT: links removed

Killswitch for tablets and phones


Fahrbot Mobile presents Killswitch, a utility made specifically for devices with cases.


What does Killswitch do?

The app uses a combination of sensors to control the sleep state and screen lock of any device.

At the moment, it uses the proximity sensor, light sensor and accelerometer.

Killswitch now has a night mode for weak sensors - if you find there are errors working in low light conditions on your device, simply set up a schedule!

Killswitch has the added advantage of removing your lockscreen via two different methods if you so wish. If you have a case, it really isn't necessary and can be annoying.


Why use Killswitch?

Killswitch will save you battery - putting your device to sleep is as intuitive as shutting your case or turning your phone face down.

And, of course, Killswitch will show all your ipad and iphone loving mates why android is just that much more awesome

After upgrading to a newer version, please go into the settings dialog and enable Killswitch again. This is not optimal, but it saves battery and cpu time by removing the necessity for a constantly running service!

In order to uninstall the app, untick "Admin privileges" in Killswitch or via the Accessibility page of your device's settings.


sleeplessninja video review:

Thanks bud.




Android Market link:
The app is available right now on the Android Market.

Screens:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	config-1.jpg
Views:	679
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	538856   Click image for larger version

Name:	config-2.jpg
Views:	572
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	538858   Click image for larger version

Name:	configspng.jpg
Views:	550
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	538859   Click image for larger version

Name:	switchoff-confirm-1.jpg
Views:	536
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	538860   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen-20110404-1327.jpg
Views:	325
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	560098  
Last edited by Diamondback; 19th February 2013 at 11:31 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ftgg99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th March 2011, 10:32 PM   |  #2  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Killswitch 1.0.5

+ Added scheduling
+ Added night mode
+ Fixed bugs on many devices

Killswitch 1.0.4

+ Verbose debugging mode added

Killswitch 1.0.3

+ Bigger buttons
+ Sensitivity tweaks for Samsung 2.2 devices
+ Bug logging

Killswitch 1.0.2

+ Minor layout tweaks
+ Added new icons

Killswitch 1.0.1

+ Fixed orientation-related problems
+ Tweaked default activation delay value
+ Cleaned up Help and Tips dialog
+ Added license check delay to fix caching problems on Google's end

Killswitch 1.0.0 RC

+ Added license check, nag screen, functionality restrictions for unlicensed copies
+ Alternative no-lock mechanism reintegrated
+ About page added
+ Issues related to ProGuard fixed
Last edited by ftgg99; 12th May 2011 at 02:34 PM.
10th March 2011, 10:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
reserved for suggestion list
14th March 2011, 11:56 AM   |  #4  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Just a heads-up for those who have not managed to work out how to use Killswitch - despite very clear instructions in the Help and Tips dialog.

On a tablet with case the settings should look like this:

Enable Killswitch: tick
Admin Permissions: tick

Confirmation time: 10sec
Activation delay: 6sec

No-lock: Disable screen lock

Use proximity: no tick
Use light sensor: tick
Sensitivity: 10%
Use accelerometer: no tick

For a phone the settings should be exactly the same, except with "Use proximity sensor: tick". These are the settings Im using right now and they work perfectly.

The point of the app is also to avoid accidental sleep mode in a dark room through the popup dialog. Do not choose "Use accelerometer" unless you plan on using both light sensor and facedown at the same time. Instead, choose "Enable facedown mode only" if you see the popup dialog while using the tab in a dark room - this will disable the light sensor but enable facedown until you next swich on/ off.

Please read the Help and Tips section before giving up!
Last edited by ftgg99; 14th March 2011 at 11:59 AM.
14th March 2011, 03:06 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Kidderminster
Thanks Meter: 7
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I've bought and installed Kill Switch for my galaxy tab, used the exact same settings shown above but it doesn't appear to be doing anything on my tab. I'm on overcome 1.2.3 and have the fugutweaks applied
14th March 2011, 03:16 PM   |  #6  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
After upgrading to a newer version, please go into the settings dialog and enable Killswitch again. This is not optimal, but it saves battery and cpu time by removing the necessity for a constantly running service!

Im using overcome 1.2 and its working just fine... also, its tested to work on JK5 and up stock roms.

Decrease activation delay in settings to 2 seconds, then try putting your finger over the light sensor to check whether its working - its just to the right of the front facing camera.

If not this is a kernel-related problem, so please send logcat!
Last edited by ftgg99; 14th March 2011 at 03:29 PM.
14th March 2011, 03:43 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Kidderminster
Thanks Meter: 7
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Hmm...I appear to be having a problem with the light sensor. I can get the accelerometer to switch it off. I think I'm going to undo the fugutweaks, see if that's the problem.
14th March 2011, 03:57 PM   |  #8  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Could you please post a logcat? This would be the easiest way to check what the problem is.

You can get the app aLogcat for free from the market. Use it after youve turned on killswitch and just post the resulting text here.
14th March 2011, 04:05 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Kidderminster
Thanks Meter: 7
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Sorry, I undid the fugutweaks before I read your reply and this appears to have cured the problem
14th March 2011, 04:12 PM   |  #10  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
OK, no problem! I hope you find the functionality useful!

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Paid Software Announcement and Discussion by ThreadRank