FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

Xoom WiFi (MZ604) Root!!

192 posts
Thanks Meter: 59
 
By Xaositek, Senior Member on 27th March 2011, 05:31 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
28th March 2011, 07:43 AM |#71  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angdroid

Not sure if this is still needed...

www.teamdefuse.com/xoom/WiFiZoombcm4329.zip

www.teamdefuse.com/xoom/WiFiZoomvold.zip

Just got xoom wifi, if any help is needed with anything going feel free to contact me.

Working on complete system dump now

What are those files that you posted. It looks like one of them is the wifi driver but I am not sure what the other file is? Are these the stock wifi drivers pulled from the system?
 
 
28th March 2011, 12:53 PM |#72  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jefferson City, MO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angdroid

Not sure if this is still needed...

www.teamdefuse.com/xoom/WiFiZoombcm4329.zip

www.teamdefuse.com/xoom/WiFiZoomvold.zip

Just got xoom wifi, if any help is needed with anything going feel free to contact me.

Working on complete system dump now

Actually we were able to snag those from the Tiamat kernel. We have an updated vold.fstab that allows for USB mounting providing you add the scsi_scan_wait.ko module. (The instructions include both)
vizir
28th March 2011, 07:53 PM |#73  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
the root worked great. but i am not seeing the linpack/quadrant improvements. is it that this is purely a root and that this process doesn't install tiamat kernel?
28th March 2011, 09:37 PM |#74  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jefferson City, MO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
It does install the Tiamat kernel. Might need SetCPU and bump up the clock speed.
28th March 2011, 09:43 PM |#75  
sleeplessninja's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amherst
Thanks Meter: 146
 
Donate to Me
More
I made a video for the WiFi version that follows the steps laid out by this thread as of March 28th. I captured both the Computer and Xoom screen simultaneously. There is a glare on my Computer side, I apologize for that, but none the less everything I type in is overlaid on top of the video and I dictate it as well. This is also performed on a Macbook Pro Leopard OS X. But besides the fastboot command which is fastboot-mac instead of fastboot for PC, there is no difference. I try to go over common hiccups that I have seen some users have come across as well in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zC6J-hV6SM4
Last edited by sleeplessninja; 28th March 2011 at 09:54 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sleeplessninja For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2011, 10:19 PM |#76  
Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I am new at this.....What is worst case scenario? Would it brick my xoom?

How can I backup before I start? "To ensure I am in the safe side"
If I get stock in the middle can I exit the rooting process or I have to continue
28th March 2011, 10:33 PM |#77  
Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleeplessninja

I made a video for the WiFi version that follows the steps laid out by this thread as of March 28th. I captured both the Computer and Xoom screen simultaneously. There is a glare on my Computer side, I apologize for that, but none the less everything I type in is overlaid on top of the video and I dictate it as well. This is also performed on a Macbook Pro Leopard OS X. But besides the fastboot command which is fastboot-mac instead of fastboot for PC, there is no difference. I try to go over common hiccups that I have seen some users have come across as well in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zC6J-hV6SM4


Thank you so much for the Video...it really help to understand.

Are you yousing MAC? is there is a diffrent in commands used in the video for the mac or Window? "in the start you wrote [fastboot-mac oem unlock] is there is a simmler command for windows?
28th March 2011, 11:15 PM |#78  
sleeplessninja's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amherst
Thanks Meter: 146
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1b

Thank you so much for the Video...it really help to understand.

Are you yousing MAC? is there is a diffrent in commands used in the video for the mac or Window? "in the start you wrote [fastboot-mac oem unlock] is there is a simmler command for windows?

Yes the windows version is only different when it comes to the commands in the fact that fastboot-mac is just fastboot. You do need to download fastboot and a couple other things not described in my video, all of these instructions are found on the first post to this thread by the OP.

If you do find it helpful I'd be more than happy to take a 'thanks' , but whether you do or not make sure above all you 'thank' the person who made this thread
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sleeplessninja For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2011, 12:06 AM |#79  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jefferson City, MO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleeplessninja

I made a video for the WiFi version that follows the steps laid out by this thread as of March 28th. I captured both the Computer and Xoom screen simultaneously. There is a glare on my Computer side, I apologize for that, but none the less everything I type in is overlaid on top of the video and I dictate it as well. This is also performed on a Macbook Pro Leopard OS X. But besides the fastboot command which is fastboot-mac instead of fastboot for PC, there is no difference. I try to go over common hiccups that I have seen some users have come across as well in the video.

Added your video to the OP - great job

Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1b

I am new at this.....What is worst case scenario? Would it brick my xoom?

How can I backup before I start? "To ensure I am in the safe side"
If I get stock in the middle can I exit the rooting process or I have to continue

Worst case is a $600 brick that you can't return. There is nothing to back up. Basically the difference between "root" and "stock" is lost once you do the flash the bootloader, just continue and enjoy
The Following User Says Thank You to Xaositek For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2011, 03:35 AM |#80  
Gwartan's Avatar
Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I have to report as well +1 to successful WiFi Xoom root and tiamat kernel upgrade. Got a little confusing when it did not seem that i could get SU in place properly but i got it.
29th March 2011, 03:58 AM |#81  
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
I followed the instructions, and didn't get any errors but I lost my wifi...

any help?

If you could gtalk me that'll be cool

Rehtenk512@gmail.com

I reflashed boot

Thanks ALL!
Last edited by The_Tech_Ninja; 29th March 2011 at 04:08 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
root, we can haz root?, wifi, xoom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes