Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[App] GMapPro -[R] 7th Apr 2011 -[v] 2.3

OP vrassouli

29th March 2011, 09:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Urmia
Thanks Meter: 16
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Name: GMapPro Veriosn 2.3

In this version, some of the bugs and performance issues are fixed and also it has some new features which are going to be extended in the next version of GMapPro...

Features:
1. Use Google Maps which is the most complete mapping solution available in the world
2. Download the maps of desired area, and use them while you are offline
3. Provide a list of downloads so you can delete them in future (if you don't wish to keep them anymore)
4. Use the phones internal GPS, to find you on the map
5. Markers:
5.1 Tap and hold a location to put a new marker.
5.2 View the list of markers and easily jump to the marked location.
5.3 Shows your location with a different marker.
6. Addresses: (Requires Internet Connection)
6.1 Shows the address of your location.
6.2 Jump to a desired address.
7. Preferred zoom level for "My Location" feature. Now, if you tap on My Location button, it will show the map whit the pre-configured settings.
8. Track me! by selecting this option from menu, GMapPro will show your location and track your movement on the map! It also shows your movement speed! (currently a very simple speedometer!)
9. Calculate the direct distance between to points in km or miles.




Installing GMapPro

1. You need to have a developer unlocked WP7 device for side-loading, or you can install it to the emulator.
2. Installing WP7 app is easy using Tom's XAP Installer.
3. Download the App from the attachment, unzip and then install

Please feel free to let me know about how it works, and what features you need...
Attached Files
File Type: rar GMapPro V2.2.rar - [Click for QR Code] (242.2 KB, 1176 views)
File Type: rar GMapPro V2.3.rar - [Click for QR Code] (242.3 KB, 12537 views)
Last edited by vrassouli; 7th April 2011 at 12:18 PM. Reason: Updating to version 2.3
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to vrassouli For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2011, 11:28 AM   |  #2  
ricky119's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 3
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
nice,let me have the first try
29th March 2011, 06:18 PM   |  #3  
malatesta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Geoloaction doesn't work.

Sprint Arrive, NoDo
AT&T Focus, NoDo
29th March 2011, 07:12 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Urmia
Thanks Meter: 16
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hi alatesta, thanks for your intrest and your reply.
Geaolocation uses the internal GPS device in your phone.
please make sure you have enabled the location service (Settings->Location), and your device also should have access to GPS satelites (this means, sometimes gps doesn't work becouse of a cloudy sky or inside of the buildings!)
30th March 2011, 01:13 PM   |  #5  
~~Tito~~'s Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 80
 
2,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Cool
Hey can you take a look at the guidelines sticky and change your OP accordingly?

~~Tito~~
2nd April 2011, 11:08 AM   |  #6  
malatesta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by vrassouli

Hi alatesta, thanks for your intrest and your reply.
Geaolocation uses the internal GPS device in your phone.
please make sure you have enabled the location service (Settings->Location), and your device also should have access to GPS satelites (this means, sometimes gps doesn't work becouse of a cloudy sky or inside of the buildings!)

I'm aware of how GPS works...I have five Windows Phones, 3 which are developer unlocked ;)

Version 2.0 now pulls down my address but the map itself does not change, meaning my map stays a global map instead of zooming into my location.

No offense, but your app is kind of useless at this point.

Update: so you have to manually zoom in, by pinching? Why doesn't it just auto-zoom into your location instead of showing the world map?
Last edited by malatesta; 2nd April 2011 at 11:34 AM.
2nd April 2011, 05:20 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Urmia
Thanks Meter: 16
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Yes, you are right. current version just saves the last zoom level which you have browsed manually and whenever you tap to get in your location, it just uses the current zoom level.
I'll add an option in next version, so you can define the zoom level by which you wish to view your location on map.
Thanks for your reply
3rd April 2011, 05:09 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Feels like a good start. It still has serious performance issues and, from a usability perspective, it's not obvious how to search for an address.

The green arrow (location marker) points to another location when you double tap to zoom in.

Keep up!
3rd April 2011, 08:28 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Urmia
Thanks Meter: 16
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hi ertz, thanks for your reply
The green arrow, just shows your location which is retrived from internal GPS, not the location which you double tap.
And about the performance issues, would you provide some detailed information about these issues so I can handle them properly?
By the way, to search for an address, simply select the "jump to address" from the menu.
4th April 2011, 01:36 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Smile
Quote:

Hi ertz, thanks for your reply

You're welcome, thank you for the application!

Quote:

The green arrow, just shows your location which is retrived from internal GPS, not the location which you double tap.

Yes, I understood what the green arrow meant as it pointed to my house. I just found that when I double tap the map to zoon in, the arrow moved to another location. Must be a random bug because I couldn't reproduce it every time.

Quote:

And about the performance issues, would you provide some detailed information about these issues so I can handle them properly?

Well, it feels like a performance issue, but it might actually be how the zoom function is handled. When I pinch to zoom in/out it takes a little while for the app to actually zoom in. And when I change the zoom, the previous zoom level disappears and shows a "Loading" text. It just feels a little unresponsive.

You could probably change the approach to how the zoom works. Take the built-in Bing maps as an example: when you zoom in/out, the previous zoom level is still visible and you can actually see the map getting bigger/smaller while you do the pinch gesture.

Quote:

By the way, to search for an address, simply select the "jump to address" from the menu.

Yep, I did find the "Jump to Address" function. I'm a graphics designer and I have some experience with UX/UI Design as well. What I meant in my previous reply is that "Jump to Address" isn't as obvious as saying "Search for address". Also, it would be much better if you add an icon to the app bar; the search function is used very often by people, so making it visible at all times is a good idea.

I hope I made myself clear. English isn't my primary language


EDIT:
I forgot to mention that when I move around, the parts of the map that are no longer visible are "discarded"... When I move back to the place I was a second ago, the map has to be reloaded. Depending on how you coded this, it might have a negative impact on the user's wallet. It costs money to download the maps.
Last edited by ertz; 4th April 2011 at 01:47 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
google, map, offline, windows phone, wp7
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes