Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[UPDATED-06-APR-2011] New XAP installer, in-place app update, no dev tool and more...

OP kuerbis2

31st March 2011, 06:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Please download XAPDeployX-V0.9.zip, it is the latest and greatest version

If you have any of the 0x89xxxx errors, please download the attached "vs_sdeprolightup-enu.zip" file and run it.

Hi,

attached you'll find a new XAP installer which has quite a few unique selling points.

- In-place update on the phone: In-place update on the phone, e.g. if you already have Version 1.0.0.0 of an app installed on the phone and install 1.0.2.0 an in-place update will performed. No more full "uninstall-new install" cycle required. Your settings, custom files etc. won't be removed (same as marketplace update)

- CoreCon2 based, e.g. Phone Dev Tools are no longer required for application deployment!

- Deploy from file or URL: You can either specify a file or an URL. If you enter an URL the installer will automatically download the xap.

- Own protocol "wphome": Zune's one-click download for homebrew apps. Automatically install homebrew XAPs with a click on a hyperlink. If you want, you can register the application for the wphome protocol. The application will then be allowed to handle urls like wphome:www.test.com/test.xap and will automatically start as soon as you click on such a link.



To be able to use "wphome" hyperlinks, you have to click on "Register protocol..." once.

wphome Testlink: wphome:http://www.nextbestgeek.com/w...helloworld.xap (for testing after you've installed the tool and registered it for the protocol)


After you've opened a XAP file, details will be shown in the top bar.

This is the first step in my plan to provide a homebrew marketplace.

Updated V0.6 - 1-APR-2011

+ Full Log
+ Multiple tweaks, bugfixes



Updated V0.7 - 2-APR-2011

+ CoreCon2 based, e.g. Phone Dev Tools are no longer required for application deployment![*]
+ Drag'n'Drop support. Just drag and drop any xap from explorer to the tool.
[*] You need a working CoreCon2 installation. If CoreCon2 is not installed on your pc (normally only installed with the Phone Dev Tool) the tool will detect it and download a small installer.

Updated V0.8 - 2-APR-2011

+ Fixed "No addional data: Could not extract XAP file" Bug
+ XAP-Information is show much faster now
+ CoreCon2 Installer now online. You won't need the full Phone Dev Tools for this XAP Deployer



Updated V0.9 - 6-APR-2011

+ Selected Target will now be automatically saved
+ Deploy-Menu for XAP files. Registers a file handler for *.xap and provides a "Deploy" menu entry in file's context menu.



General Prerequisits
- Phone has to be unlocked (either dev, chevron or any other method)
- Zune has to be running and has to be connected to the phone
- Windows Vista or Windows 7, according to users: Windows XP

Regards,
-k
Attached Files
File Type: zip XAPDeployX_V0.6.zip - [Click for QR Code] (101.4 KB, 9945 views)
File Type: zip XAPDeployX-V0.7.zip - [Click for QR Code] (105.9 KB, 2661 views)
File Type: zip XAPDeployX-V0.8.zip - [Click for QR Code] (106.1 KB, 4568 views)
File Type: zip vs_sdeprolightup-enu.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.68 MB, 44184 views)
File Type: zip XAPDeployX-V0.9.zip - [Click for QR Code] (112.5 KB, 59490 views)
Last edited by kuerbis2; 6th April 2011 at 01:28 PM. Reason: Update V0.9 & additional download
The Following 45 Users Say Thank You to kuerbis2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st March 2011, 06:23 PM   |  #2  
diboze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
nice

+1 for this step into homebrew marketplace creating ;D

edit: some xaps show info, others dont show info and just say "done" when trying to deploy.
Last edited by diboze; 31st March 2011 at 06:29 PM.
31st March 2011, 07:14 PM   |  #3  
TOA Duck's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 135
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
awsome job.

+1 as well
31st March 2011, 07:29 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
@diboze: Can you provide a xap which doesn't show info? (XNA Apps might not show an image but name, description, version & author should always be shown)

"Done" means -> Deployment finished

The app does currently not check if the Max Apps limit is reached. Therefore done means either "deployment finished" or "could not deploy because max apps is reached".

UPDATE V06 - 1-APR-2011:
- There is no "Done" anymore. You have a full-fledged activity log now.
- Max App error is now reported in log

-k
Last edited by kuerbis2; 1st April 2011 at 08:42 AM.
1st April 2011, 04:28 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Cool
Thanks for your time.. hopefully this develops further. Your most recent was done on April 1, 2011 right? and not 2010..
1st April 2011, 08:37 AM   |  #6  
eternalemb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pasadena, CA
Thanks Meter: 40
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Awesome stuff man!
1st April 2011, 08:41 AM   |  #7  
prjkthack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 125
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I'm going to assume that in order to successfully deploy, you still need the Windows Phone Dev Tools installed, right?

Otherwise, it's a really great looking and convenient app. I look forward to more updates.
1st April 2011, 10:54 AM   |  #8  
hskeik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gaza-Palestine
Thanks Meter: 18
 
827 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Fantastic... thanks, gonna try it
1st April 2011, 11:13 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Zurich
Thanks Meter: 7
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
:(
It shows "Done" but there's no App installed
1st April 2011, 02:48 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by clicheboy

It shows "Done" but there's no App installed

Can you send me the log (as seen in the third screen shot) or copy&paste it here?

-k

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes