Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,734 Members 40,438 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[UPDATED-06-APR-2011] New XAP installer, in-place app update, no dev tool and more...

Tip us?
 
kuerbis2
Old
(Last edited by kuerbis2; 6th April 2011 at 12:28 PM.) Reason: Update V0.9 & additional download
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2009
Thumbs up [UPDATED-06-APR-2011] New XAP installer, in-place app update, no dev tool and more...

Please download XAPDeployX-V0.9.zip, it is the latest and greatest version

If you have any of the 0x89xxxx errors, please download the attached "vs_sdeprolightup-enu.zip" file and run it.

Hi,

attached you'll find a new XAP installer which has quite a few unique selling points.

- In-place update on the phone: In-place update on the phone, e.g. if you already have Version 1.0.0.0 of an app installed on the phone and install 1.0.2.0 an in-place update will performed. No more full "uninstall-new install" cycle required. Your settings, custom files etc. won't be removed (same as marketplace update)

- CoreCon2 based, e.g. Phone Dev Tools are no longer required for application deployment!

- Deploy from file or URL: You can either specify a file or an URL. If you enter an URL the installer will automatically download the xap.

- Own protocol "wphome": Zune's one-click download for homebrew apps. Automatically install homebrew XAPs with a click on a hyperlink. If you want, you can register the application for the wphome protocol. The application will then be allowed to handle urls like wphome:www.test.com/test.xap and will automatically start as soon as you click on such a link.



To be able to use "wphome" hyperlinks, you have to click on "Register protocol..." once.

wphome Testlink: wphome:http://www.nextbestgeek.com/w...helloworld.xap (for testing after you've installed the tool and registered it for the protocol)


After you've opened a XAP file, details will be shown in the top bar.

This is the first step in my plan to provide a homebrew marketplace.

Updated V0.6 - 1-APR-2011

+ Full Log
+ Multiple tweaks, bugfixes



Updated V0.7 - 2-APR-2011

+ CoreCon2 based, e.g. Phone Dev Tools are no longer required for application deployment![*]
+ Drag'n'Drop support. Just drag and drop any xap from explorer to the tool.
[*] You need a working CoreCon2 installation. If CoreCon2 is not installed on your pc (normally only installed with the Phone Dev Tool) the tool will detect it and download a small installer.

Updated V0.8 - 2-APR-2011

+ Fixed "No addional data: Could not extract XAP file" Bug
+ XAP-Information is show much faster now
+ CoreCon2 Installer now online. You won't need the full Phone Dev Tools for this XAP Deployer



Updated V0.9 - 6-APR-2011

+ Selected Target will now be automatically saved
+ Deploy-Menu for XAP files. Registers a file handler for *.xap and provides a "Deploy" menu entry in file's context menu.



General Prerequisits
- Phone has to be unlocked (either dev, chevron or any other method)
- Zune has to be running and has to be connected to the phone
- Windows Vista or Windows 7, according to users: Windows XP

Regards,
-k
Attached Files
File Type: zip XAPDeployX_V0.6.zip - [Click for QR Code] (101.4 KB, 9311 views)
File Type: zip XAPDeployX-V0.7.zip - [Click for QR Code] (105.9 KB, 2549 views)
File Type: zip XAPDeployX-V0.8.zip - [Click for QR Code] (106.1 KB, 4425 views)
File Type: zip vs_sdeprolightup-enu.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.68 MB, 43654 views)
File Type: zip XAPDeployX-V0.9.zip - [Click for QR Code] (112.5 KB, 58073 views)
The Following 45 Users Say Thank You to kuerbis2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
diboze
Old
(Last edited by diboze; 31st March 2011 at 05:29 PM.)
#2  
diboze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jun 2009
nice

+1 for this step into homebrew marketplace creating ;D

edit: some xaps show info, others dont show info and just say "done" when trying to deploy.
 
TOA Duck
Old
#3  
TOA Duck's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 756
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mississippi
awsome job.

+1 as well
 
kuerbis2
Old
(Last edited by kuerbis2; 1st April 2011 at 07:42 AM.)
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2009
@diboze: Can you provide a xap which doesn't show info? (XNA Apps might not show an image but name, description, version & author should always be shown)

"Done" means -> Deployment finished

The app does currently not check if the Max Apps limit is reached. Therefore done means either "deployment finished" or "could not deploy because max apps is reached".

UPDATE V06 - 1-APR-2011:
- There is no "Done" anymore. You have a full-fledged activity log now.
- Max App error is now reported in log

-k
 
xirsteon
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 39
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for your time.. hopefully this develops further. Your most recent was done on April 1, 2011 right? and not 2010..
 
eternalemb
Old
#6  
eternalemb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 271
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Awesome stuff man!
Phones:
HTC HD7 16GB (Personal) Running NextGen+ 2.6 ROM
Samsung Omnia II (overclocked business phone) running thekevster's CF03 6.5 FloTanium ROM and owning Androids in every department
Blackberry Torch 9850 running Lyricidal's latest hybrid (wife's) and also owning Androids.



Tethering on my HD7 is nice
 
prjkthack
Old
#7  
prjkthack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 889
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City
I'm going to assume that in order to successfully deploy, you still need the Windows Phone Dev Tools installed, right?

Otherwise, it's a really great looking and convenient app. I look forward to more updates.
prjkthack
Nokia Lumia 1520, Nokia Lumia 1020, Nokia Lumia 928, iPhone 5s
Microsoft Surface Pro 128GB
Retired: Helio Ocean, HTC Touch Pro, HTC HD2, HTC EVO 4G, HTC HD7, HTC Touch Pro2, HTC HD7S, HTC One X, HP Veer 4G, HTC TITAN, HTC Thunderbolt, HTC One, Nokia Lumia 800, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia Lumia 920, HTC Droid DNA

Windows Phone Expert / Development
 
hskeik
Old
#8  
hskeik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 819
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gaza-Palestine
Fantastic... thanks, gonna try it
in your language
 
clicheboy
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zurich
Default :(

It shows "Done" but there's no App installed
 
kuerbis2
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by clicheboy View Post
It shows "Done" but there's no App installed
Can you send me the log (as seen in the third screen shot) or copy&paste it here?

-k

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes