Thread Closed

Xoom One-Click Root/Unroot (3g and Wifi) Temporarily Unavailable

OP jbrew78

4th April 2011, 04:15 AM   |  #271  
Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Talking WiFi Version
Worked amazingly!!! It did require one more reboot to get the market working tho.
4th April 2011, 04:36 AM   |  #272  
Senior Member
Flag Fishers, IN
Thanks Meter: 34
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
Yes, Unlock unlocks the bootloader to open the system. Unlocking is the step where you pres the volume buttons. So yes, one-click does unlock and then root your XOOM.
4th April 2011, 08:58 AM   |  #273  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Thanks guys it worked pretty smoothly the second time around I noticed that on the second boot my xoom wouldn't reconnect to my pc until I unplugged it and then replugged it back in then the whole process went as it was supposed too
4th April 2011, 05:37 PM   |  #274  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Thanks! I had to get the Motorola drivers, but after that, it was a snap! This is the Tiamet kernal, i realize, which is the version that included Roebeet's usb mod, correct? I know I can re-flash if necessary, but this is the only reason I rooted, want to make sure it's got the mod.

Much appreciated!
4th April 2011, 08:53 PM   |  #275  
Tesler32's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Ok I have wifi model and I get to step where the I am supposed to press up down up down but my device just sits on starting fastboot protocol support and I never see any dialog. Any Ideas on what is going on. I have win7 32bit no uac on have latest moto driver installed adb is working on pc for xoom and dx np.
Last edited by Tesler32; 4th April 2011 at 09:06 PM.
5th April 2011, 01:36 AM   |  #276  
Senior Member
Flag Fishers, IN
Thanks Meter: 34
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesler32

Ok I have wifi model and I get to step where the I am supposed to press up down up down but my device just sits on starting fastboot protocol support and I never see any dialog. Any Ideas on what is going on. I have win7 32bit no uac on have latest moto driver installed adb is working on pc for xoom and dx np.

make sure to hit ok on step 2 for it to progtess
5th April 2011, 05:24 AM   |  #277  
Senior Member
Flag Lakeland, FL
Thanks Meter: 4
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
took me a few tries but I finally got through it.

A gust of wind near my mouse and a command would miss the box and I'd have to start all over.

The Wi-fi "error" problem happens when the push for the wifi module fails
5th April 2011, 02:59 PM   |  #278  
Tesler32's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenege

make sure to hit ok on step 2 for it to progtess

I did press ok on step 2 and then the cmd runs

C:\Xoom>fastboot oem unlock
< waiting for device >

Popup is to the next step of wait for the reboot. When the Xoom is rebooted, tap the Start button on scree. Tap Next on Location Services Scree. Tap Skip on Sign in with your Google Account Screen.

The whole time the Xoom is at Dual Core Screen with Starting Fastboot protocol support on top. Ideas?

NVM: I think I got it when it was waiting for device the PC didnt see the Mot Single ADB Interface. I had to clean the moto drivers up. I think it will work now.
Last edited by Tesler32; 5th April 2011 at 03:10 PM.
5th April 2011, 03:30 PM   |  #279  
Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
I am hoping to be able to go to the more reliable command mode for the wifi version. Now that it seems to be nominally functional. I am teaching application infrastructure this week guys so bear with me. I wont be coding till the weekend.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA App
5th April 2011, 03:35 PM   |  #280  
Tesler32's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Alright guys I got a little further then stuck again. I got back unlocking the device on step two. I get though the reboot and back into the OS re-enable debug then back into fastboot protocol support cmd sending boot img and nothing I dont see anything on my device like the prompt says too. I checked the driver and the device showed up and everything should be working correctly. Ideas?

PS thanks for the help I am just glad it didnt get bricked. I have rooted close to 20 phones and never fup one yet.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xoom Android Development by ThreadRank