5,601,223 Members 53,836 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Use the Atrix without a SIM and no Motoblur account.

Tip us?
 
CyberPunk7t9
Old
(Last edited by CyberPunk7t9; 22nd April 2011 at 10:36 PM.)
#1  
CyberPunk7t9's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 340
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Default [HOW TO] Use the Atrix without a SIM and no Motoblur account.

I thought this might come handy to work on Atrix phones right out of the box with no SIM, Bypassing the Motoblur registration right to the home screen rather quickly.

Step1 (Bypassing the "No SIM card/Emergency calls only"
-Power up the phone while holding "Volume Down" until "fastboot" appears in top of the screen.
-Use the "volume down" button to navigate through booting options until you see "Boot Android (No BP) then press "Volume Up".
-The phone will skip the "No SIM card/Emergency calls only" right to the Motorblur account setup screen.

Step2 (Byapssing the Motorblur account setup)
-Bring up the virtual keyboard by holding the "Menu" key at the language selection screen of the Motorblur account setup.
-Press the "?123" key followed by ALT then "e" two times in a row, Then type "bluroff" (without the quotations).
Code:
the following keys exactly in this order..
-?123
-ALT
-ABC
-e
-?123
-ALT
-ABC
-e
-b
-l
-u
-r
-o
-f
-f
-Motorblur account setup will shutoff and you will be taken to home screen.

Note: Doing this just once will disable the Motorblur account login in all future boots.
The Following 47 Users Say Thank You to CyberPunk7t9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
benzersizadam
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 94
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reserved...........
 
Saschwatch
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 66
Join Date: Mar 2011
So how does skipping blur affect the phone?

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App
 
g1g
Old
#4  
g1g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 241
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FLA......
So if we disable moto blurr and leave the sim card in would this let us run stock android without blurr? Would the phone work proper?
]verizon note 3 best phone so far..[/COLOR]..[/COLOR]
Galaxy note 2 with meanbean
Gallaxy s3
galaxy nexus.
ROOTED infuse 4g with infused 2.0.5
32 gig gtab task650 custom
ATRIX 4G ROOTED AND unlocked BOOTLOADER 2.3.4 gb[
SAMSUNG VIBRANT
rooted and waiting for cm6
16gig class 4 sd
[/COLOR]

T-MOBILE G1
ROM
CM 6
Amon RA 1.7.0 RECOVERY
8 gig class 4 sd
 
lostsoulktash
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2007
No, what OP is trying to say is if you want to mess around with the phone without having to type in a moto blur account and putting in a sim card do the methods above.

Basically its to disable moto blur when you have no sim card and no wifi.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk
 
SN4K3B1T3
Old
#6  
SN4K3B1T3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 439
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver
doesnt disable motoblur at all, motoblur is baked in the software, you cant disable it without root, all this does is skip setup...nothing else
 
SpeeDemon
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 97
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Abbotsford
The Bell Atrix actually tells you how to skip Blur registration. It's on page 4 of the manual and doesn't require any fancy passcodes. Simply press Menu... Done.
 
CyberPunk7t9
Old
#8  
CyberPunk7t9's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 340
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by g1g View Post
So if we disable moto blurr and leave the sim card in would this let us run stock android without blurr? Would the phone work proper?
Of course not. Disabling the motoblur account registration is for quick-accessing the phone and/or not wanting motorola to have your personal data on their servers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lostsoulktash View Post
No, what OP is trying to say is if you want to mess around with the phone without having to type in a moto blur account and putting in a sim card do the methods above.

Basically its to disable moto blur when you have no sim card and no wifi.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk
EXACTLY!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SN4K3B1T3 View Post
doesnt disable motoblur at all, motoblur is baked in the software, you cant disable it without root, all this does is skip setup...nothing else
Where does it say "disable motoblur"?!! Title reads "no motoblur account" and descriptions says "bypassing".

In short, This is the fastest way to access a brand new motorola phone right after putting in the battery and powering it on.

Thanks and gold luck.
 
CyberPunk7t9
Old
#9  
CyberPunk7t9's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 340
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeeDemon View Post
The Bell Atrix actually tells you how to skip Blur registration. It's on page 4 of the manual and doesn't require any fancy passcodes. Simply press Menu... Done.
Good. I just checked the AT&T Atrix manual and there's nothing about skipping the motoblur account registration. I wish it was just the menu button, It took me a while to figure out how to enter the bluroff code.

Thanks
 
ytwytw
Old
#10  
ytwytw's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 442
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberPunk7t9 View Post
I thought this might come handy to work on Atrix phones right out of the box with no SIM, Bypassing the Motoblur registration right to the home screen rather quickly.

Step1 (Bypassing the "No SIM card/Emergency calls only"
-Power up the phone while holding "Volume Down" until "fastboot" appears in top of the screen.
-Use the "volume down" button to navigate through booting options until you see "Boot Android (No BP) then press "Volume Up".
-The phone will skip the "No SIM card/Emergency calls only" right to the Motorblur account setup screen.

Step2 (Byapssing the Motorblur account setup)
-Bring up the virtual keyboard by holding the "Menu" key at the language selection screen of the Motorblur account setup.
-Press the "?123" key followed by ALT two times in a row, Then type "bluroff" (without the quotations).
-Motorblur account setup will shutoff and you will be taken to home screen.

Note: Doing this just once will disable the Motorblur account login in all future boots.


Bell Atrix is easy to fix it

just click menu and skip setup

doesnt matter you have a sim or not
T-Mobile Dream DREA100 Brown (Sold Because no ATT 3G)
Rogers HTC Dream DREA210 White (Sold)
Telus HERO White (Returned Because it's deadly SLOW)
HTC Desire (Sold because no ATT 3G)
Bell Atrix Phone (Sold)
HTC Flyer 3G (Sold but still LOVE the pen )
Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Waiting for new housing)
Rogers HTC One X (No S-OFF, so Sold )

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes