FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

Samsung sidekick 4G

45 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By Wreximus, Member on 16th April 2011, 04:00 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Has anyone begun working on rooting and customizing roms yet? I know the device isn't out for a week or so but I would figure I would ask. My vibrant I so much better rooted and I wanted the same experience on this sidekick.

Sent from my SGH-T839 using XDA App
 
 
20th April 2011, 07:06 PM |#2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 321
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wreximus

Has anyone begun working on rooting and customizing roms yet? I know the device isn't out for a week or so but I would figure I would ask. My vibrant I so much better rooted and I wanted the same experience on this sidekick.

Sent from my SGH-T839 using XDA App

i wish i knew how to do this, but if i can't figure it out, i'm sure others will soon.
21st April 2011, 08:52 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Just got mine last night. The usual Samsung trick with rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin works great.
Last edited by abliss; 21st April 2011 at 08:58 PM. Reason: (I was just using it wrong)
21st April 2011, 09:31 PM |#4  
Account currently disabled
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 321
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abliss

Just got mine last night. The usual Samsung trick with rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin works great.

Oh really? Cool. So far all I've used is one-click root for the Samsung Epic.... is this similar? I'll check it out, thanks!
Last edited by yogi2010; 21st April 2011 at 10:01 PM.
22nd April 2011, 02:35 AM |#5  
brenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Has anyone tried using SuperOneClick yet?? I will probably try in a bit and post back with my results..
22nd April 2011, 03:57 AM |#6  
brenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Ok... well I didn't try SuperOneClick, but I did root it via the rageagainstthecage exploit...
22nd April 2011, 04:26 AM |#7  
Reviewers's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,694
 
Donate to Me
More
Want to help me do the exploit on my SK4G to root it man ?
Give me instructions ?!
22nd April 2011, 06:54 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I got it working on mine too. The basic steps were

1) enable debug USB mode on your phone

2) install Samsung drivers for the phone - right now Samsung's site seems to not have a choice for the Sidekick 4G's model (SGH-T839), but I grabbed the drivers for the Vibrant (at www .samsung.com/us/support/downloads/SGH-T959ZKDTMB) and they worked.

3) get adb shell working on your PC (Google it)

4) download the rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin and Superuser packages from the links in this page: wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.php?title=HTC_Hero_%28CDMA%29:_Full_Update_G uide (be sure to unzip the files into the directory where your adb.exe program is unless you've put it in your path)

5) reboot your phone and plug it in

6) adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp

7) adb shell

8) cd /data/local/tmp

9) chmod 755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

10) ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

11) wait until you get booted back out to your DOS command prompt

12) adb kill-server

13) adb start-server

14) adb shell

15) you should now be at a # prompt. The first few times I tried, I wasn't - I was at $. Doing this from a fresh boot seemed to be the trick. Reboot your phone and try again if you're getting a $.

16) mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system

17) exit

18) adb push su /system/xbin

19) adb shell chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su

20) adb push Superuser.apk /system/app

21) adb shell mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system

22) exit

23) reboot the phone then run an app that requests root, such as Root Explorer, to verify


(p.s. sorry for having to mangle the URL's above, XDA won't let me include links since I haven't posted 8 times yet)
Last edited by josby; 22nd April 2011 at 02:18 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to josby For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2011, 07:29 AM |#9  
brenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by josby

16) mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/st19 /system

18) adb push su /system/xbin

19) adb shell chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su

20) adb push Superuser.apk /system/app

21) adb shell mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/st19 /system

Just to note, on step 16 and 21... it is /dev/block/stl9 rather than st19

Also, after step 20, I had to run the following commands for the superuser application to grant root privledges to applications..

adb shell echo "root::0:0:root:/data/local:/system/bin/sh" > /etc/passwd
adb shell echo "root::0:" > /etc/group
Last edited by brenix; 22nd April 2011 at 08:11 PM.
22nd April 2011, 11:06 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Awesome to see it being rooted so fast.

I'm really interesting in getting this phone but I'm not in the US. Does anyone know if the phone will work outside US?
Last edited by triplexpresso; 22nd April 2011 at 11:11 AM.
22nd April 2011, 02:24 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenix

Just to note, on step 16 and 21... it is /dev/block/stl9 rather than st19

Dang, good catch, thanks. That's what I get for not copying and pasting from my terminal window...stupid, since I was just chastising two people at work for making the same mistake yesterday. I've edited the original post to prevent problems for people who might start before reading the entire thread.

Interesting about having to create a passwd and group file...I've only run a few root apps so far, but they've worked without me doing this. I wonder if it's app-specific.

Now to start removing some of the damn bloatware this thing comes with!
Last edited by josby; 22nd April 2011 at 02:35 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes