Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help with S-Off

OP 777ace

29th April 2011, 04:09 PM   |  #1  
777ace's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairns
Thanks Meter: 75
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
OK, I know I am lining up for a flaming here, but I need some help. I have done as much searching and reading as I can handle and am even more confused.

I have dl'd and burnt alpharev.iso to disc and booted from it. I connect phone when I read "Waiting for your device" and then proceed.

Step 1 of pushing necessary files completes, then I get "waiting for bootloader...OK!". Once phone has booted (twice...??), I get the following-

hub2-0:0-1 unable to enumerate device on port(x)

Then "preparing for H-Boot flash...Done!" and back to bootloader. Then step 3, and reboot (twice) followed by same error report as above.

Finally, I see lines of

/home/htc/alpharev.sh:line331:[:-enq:unary operator expected

Then phone reboots into ROM.

Looking at HBoot, I still see S-On and clearly the phone is not bricked...thankfully. I think I am getting an error thru my USB port, but changing to different ports just gives me a different number at (x) in the error report, with the same end result...

Any help would be great. Cheers.
29th April 2011, 04:16 PM   |  #2  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,217
 
7,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Sometimes, when you try S-Off.... you will always see S-on in the menu. Sometimes it doesn't mean anything. Alpha Rev, if I remember from the old days, only changes the Bootloader.

But, if you saw the Heath Ledger Joker when you boot after Alpha Rev, you are S-Off.

With other programs, you need to try and replace the spash1 for example, through adb, to know if you have S-Off.

Ohhhhh somebody correct me if I'm wrong...
30th April 2011, 12:36 AM   |  #3  
777ace's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairns
Thanks Meter: 75
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thanks for the reply... I got no Joker at the end, which is why I was pretty sure the process hadn't worked...

Will try again today. Maybe with a different method...
30th April 2011, 01:42 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag London / Essex
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I had exactly the same issue (I had SuperNova rom installed with Data2SD) i had then installed the new Oxygen 2.1 (no Apps2SD/Data2SD this time though) and gave it a try again on the off chance.

This time it worked a treat

(might be a conincidence, but it worked for me )
1st May 2011, 11:01 PM   |  #5  
status_six's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemonic79

I had exactly the same issue (I had SuperNova rom installed with Data2SD) i had then installed the new Oxygen 2.1 (no Apps2SD/Data2SD this time though) and gave it a try again on the off chance.

This time it worked a treat

(might be a conincidence, but it worked for me )

I had a different issue when trying to s-off - the utility wouldn't recognise my device on rooted stock rom after I created a goldcard - I too flashed oxygen and it worked first time!!
Maybe a thought. You can switch back to whatever other rom after you s-off.
2nd May 2011, 02:47 PM   |  #6  
jimmytheflea's Avatar
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 7
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemonic79

I had exactly the same issue (I had SuperNova rom installed with Data2SD) i had then installed the new Oxygen 2.1 (no Apps2SD/Data2SD this time though) and gave it a try again on the off chance.

This time it worked a treat

(might be a conincidence, but it worked for me )

No coincidence. You will always have trouble on a Sense based ROM using AlphaRev. I think it has something to do with the relationship between the stock HBOOT and the boot.img on the \boot partition of the phone (but I am not sure about that)

One thing I can tell you for sure is that if you flash to any AOSP ROM (CyanogenMod, Oxygen etc) then do the AlphaRev S-OFF process and you will have success.

Happy S-OFFING!
2nd May 2011, 06:35 PM   |  #7  
Droidzone's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Kerala
Thanks Meter: 2,203
 
5,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemonic79

I had exactly the same issue (I had SuperNova rom installed with Data2SD) i had then installed the new Oxygen 2.1 (no Apps2SD/Data2SD this time though) and gave it a try again on the off chance.

This time it worked a treat

(might be a conincidence, but it worked for me )

It's not a coincidence.. It's mentioned on the supernova and starburst site on the list of faqs under ' how to s off while running data2sd'

It's also mentioned on the alpharev site

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmytheflea

No coincidence. You will always have trouble on a Sense based ROM using AlphaRev. I think it has something to do with the relationship between the stock HBOOT and the boot.img on the \boot partition of the phone (but I am not sure about that)

One thing I can tell you for sure is that if you flash to any AOSP ROM (CyanogenMod, Oxygen etc) then do the AlphaRev S-OFF process and you will have success.

Happy S-OFFING!

It's not a sense issue as such, but of those roms which use a2sd+/data2sd

Swyped with my Starburst based Desire. Please ignore any typos or grammos.

Swyped with my Starburst based Desire. Please ignore any typos or grammos.
2nd May 2011, 07:23 PM   |  #8  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,270
 
13,939 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
droidzone is right. Just flash stock rooted rom and then try to s-off. I bet it'll work. Had same problem as you.
3rd May 2011, 04:53 PM   |  #9  
herb1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Town
Thanks Meter: 10
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
gonna try a stock ROM or Cyanogen before trying S-off again...thanks guys
4th May 2011, 02:36 PM   |  #10  
777ace's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairns
Thanks Meter: 75
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Awesome, thanks for contributions folks!

My PC is in for repair atm, but will try flash one of the AOSP ROMs soon and have another go.

Cheers

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes